Chevron Left
Voltar para Ecosystems of California

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ecosystems of California da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
31 classificações
11 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course surveys the diversity, structure and functioning of California’s ecosystems through time and the ways they have influenced and responded to human activities and stewardship. Topics include ecosystem drivers such as climate, soils, and land use history; human and ecological prehistory of the state; comparative marine, freshwater, and terrestrial ecosystem dynamics; and managed ecosystems such as range, fisheries and agriculture in California. The course also emphasizes important skills to understand as a scientist or consumer of scientific information, including data collection, natural history, and writing....

Melhores avaliações

L

Jun 01, 2020

I learned so much in this class! Erika Zavaleta's video field trips and lectures taught me so much about the place I live in, and it's amazing that it can all be accessed for free!

JS

Apr 02, 2018

This shows California outdoors from top to bottom. Really good info on all the plants, animals and outdoor environments. Especially enjoyed week 3 on lakes and deserts

Filtrar por:

1 — 11 de 11 Avaliações para o Ecosystems of California

por Joy S

Apr 02, 2018

This shows California outdoors from top to bottom. Really good info on all the plants, animals and outdoor environments. Especially enjoyed week 3 on lakes and deserts

por JOHN Q

Oct 18, 2017

INTERESTING AND ENJOYABLE COURSE. TIMELY, TOO, AS I PLAN ON DOING THE PACIFIC COAST TRAIL THIS SPRING. THANKS SO MUCH!

por Matthew W

Jan 19, 2018

Wonderful course. I grew up in California, and I have spent a lot of time in many of the ecosystems covered in this class. It is always enjoyable for me to deepen my knowledge of the natural world, as well as the effects humanity has on it. Thank you to Erika Zavaleta for taking us through all of this in the field. I think it is very helpful when the lectures are conducted in the actual ecosystems they address.

por Begum O

Apr 11, 2020

The course was great, however, if you are taking it for a certificate, be aware that there aren't always a lot of people taking the course and your peer reviewed assignment may not get reviewed, thereby not allowing you to finish. If you need the certificate I would opt to purchase it at the end.

por Lucy I b

Jun 01, 2020

I learned so much in this class! Erika Zavaleta's video field trips and lectures taught me so much about the place I live in, and it's amazing that it can all be accessed for free!

por Alice P

Apr 03, 2020

Really interesting and easy to apply to your natural surroundings if you live in California. I really enjoyed the videos, and learned a ton!

por Chantel W

May 04, 2020

Great information in this class! I love that we are able to save notes and refer back to them later. I thought there were a wide and interesting range of topics. I wish the quizzes would have had a little more info before taking them, such as some questions may have 2 or 3 correct answers. That was unclear to me, so I had to retake them several times before figuring that out. I also would have liked more help on the final exam project. I asked a question but there wasn't anyone in the discussion to answer before the submission deadline, so I am still unsure if I completed it correctly. Other than that, the course was a lot of fun and I enjoyed it.

por Francine

Feb 08, 2018

An interesting course with beautiful videos, well-presented, however, no reaction whatsoever from the Staff. A pity!

por LUIS F L G

Feb 28, 2018

muy bueno

por Anna S T

Jul 09, 2019

Unfortuntaley, I had difficulty with keeping my mind on the lectures. it was not that they weren't fact filled and had lots of important information,but the speaker was not always excellent at keeping my attention like in other courses which I have taken.

por roger a

Dec 17, 2018

Audiobooks are more engaging than the readings in some of the videos.