Chevron Left
Voltar para A História, Propósitos e Futuro Político da Bíblia

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A História, Propósitos e Futuro Político da Bíblia da instituição Universidade Emory

4.7
estrelas
257 classificações
89 avaliações

Sobre o curso

With its walls razed to ground by Babylon’s armies, Jerusalem joined a long line of ancient vanquished cities—from Ur and Nineveh and Persepolis to Babylon itself. While some recovered from the destruction, others did not. But none responded to political catastrophe by fashioning the kind of elaborate and enduring monument to their own downfall that we find in the Bible. Most conquered populations viewed their subjugation as a source of shame. They consigned it to oblivion, opting instead to extol the golden ages of the past. The biblical authors in contrast reacted to loss by composing extensive writings that acknowledge collective failure, reflect deeply upon its causes, and discover thereby a ground for collective hope. Working through colorful biblical and ancient Near Eastern texts, and drawing on an array of comparative examples, the course illustrates the thoroughgoing manner with which biblical authors responded to defeat by advancing a demotic agenda that places the community at the center. The aim of the biblical authors was to create a nation, and they sought to realize this goal via a shared text, which includes stories and songs, wisdom and laws. This corpus of writings belongs, without a doubt, to humanity’s greatest achievements. Whereas the great civilizations of the Near East invested their energies and resources into monuments of stone that could be destroyed by invading armies, the biblical authors left a literary legacy that has been intensively studied until the present day. More important, these authors’ visionary response to defeat brought to light a radical new wisdom: the notion that a people is greater than the state which governs it, and that a community can survive collapse when all of its members can claim a piece of the pie and therefore have a reason to take an active part in its collective life....

Melhores avaliações

MA
19 de Ago de 2020

The course develops ways of considering the Hebrew Bible that empowers a believer in another faith tradition with a greater scope to look beyond assumptions about literal truths and polemic tropes.

CS
11 de Out de 2016

It's a very good course if you want to know how the bible came into being, events that happened from the very beginning and how the bible continues to remain and be read even today. Wonderful!

Filtrar por:

76 — 88 de 88 Avaliações para o A História, Propósitos e Futuro Político da Bíblia

por Anette O

12 de Nov de 2020

Only suggestions are that due to many foreign words used by Prof Wright and his guests, I suggest the transcriptions should be updated to include the foreign words and correct spellings which unfortunately is not always up to standard.

Overall an interesting course which, despite having troubles with some of the foreign (Jewish words mainly) words, I can recommend the course. Personally I have learned a lot.

por Guido P

23 de Jul de 2020

Excellent course, the only comment I would like to add is just let the interviewed develop more deeply their comments. Nevertheless, it is a very touching and well-prepared course. Astonishing extra material to keep on studying.

Thanks and keep on going

por Mary R

30 de Abr de 2021

This is a fascinating course. I needed an approach to the Bible and this was key. Of all the interviews I like Prof. O'Connor's the best. She's a fabulous teacher.

por Robyn B

13 de Out de 2016

I found the background given for the writing of the bible very interesting and gave me a whole new perspective on Hebrew Scriptures.

por Patrice D

16 de Dez de 2021

Cours intéressant. Dommage que la traduction soit très approximative.

por Alice Z

21 de Jan de 2019

Well done basic history tweaked towards the Hebrew Bible veracity.

por CHAN W F P

9 de Jan de 2018

Good and cncise historical background for me,

por Joy S

7 de Jan de 2017

Very complex and tedious subject.

por Peter B

16 de Nov de 2021

Professor has approached the subject with an apparent preconception that the Bible writers are revisionist in their writings. When he states, "I and many other scholars believe" such and such claims, he is telling me I should take the word of people in academia that share his beliefs, and not listen to those who state the Biblical writings are inspired. I felt I was being talked down to, just like when a person says, "I don't vote for that political party, because everyone knows they lie, cheat, steal, eat donuts,..." Also, when the interviews are done, the professor seems far too concerned with talking over the invited guest in an effort to steer the conversation in one particular path. Asking questions and then trying to answer them himself, not showing respect to learned people in their fields of study, is rude and uninformative.

por Willem v D

2 de Jan de 2021

Text transcripts were not really optimized, and that was lacking some overall quality therefore.

por Jon J

24 de Nov de 2020

Very self serving course. Interesting subject matter, but have to pay in order to submit very basic questions. Lots of interviews with other academics and lots of name dropping.

Don’t waste your time.

por Maria I R

25 de Jan de 2021

I think the course is too technical and it does not match its purpose. We see professor knows a lot but it is not good for the understanding of the course. I am quiting right now.

por Leanne W

10 de Ago de 2016

Can't actually be done as a free course, like others on the site; you have to pay just to get a quiz grade.