Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
2,931 classificações
762 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

31 de ago de 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 de out de 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrar por:

726 — 750 de 755 Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por A A

26 de nov de 2018

Would have liked more problem solving and real-world application examples.

por YIHONG J

15 de jun de 2020

The workload is manageable however the homework is somewhat challenging.

por Hassan A

11 de mai de 2020

Not well organized.

No sufficient materials, references, etc.

Very short.

por sokunsatya s

31 de mai de 2018

Overall, it's Ok. but the explanation is too short and incomplete.

por aref h

24 de ago de 2017

better to come up with more examples and more mathematical details

por Rajesh k

1 de jan de 2019

This course could be taught in better understanding way

por Tawan S

3 de jun de 2019

For some derivations, the explanations are too sparse.

por JiaxinYang

31 de mai de 2021

thank you my teacher

por Damir M

9 de abr de 2017

A bit too short.

por Marjan H

3 de jan de 2021

I expected better teaching quality. The instructor is undoubtedly one of the bests in his area, but I personally did not like his teaching in this course. I felt he knows a lot of interesting concepts but intentionally does not teach them. The whole course was like somebody was reading from a textbook without adding any comments for students to actually grasp the concepts. In general I liked the course but I expected to learn much more from it.

por Patrick K W

28 de jul de 2019

It's alright because it gives you an overview of what is covered in a Bayesian Stats class, but the material is presented quite poorly and I had to do a lot of second hand reading to answer the questions. It is not particularly enlightening even and the formulas are presented without proper grounding, context, and intuition. I can recommend this only for dedicated self-studiers who already have some sort of grounding in Bayesian reasoning.

por Vinod M

26 de abr de 2021

Week 4 explanations are just theoretical where professor is literally not giving any intuition and rushing through the concepts with equations which did not make any sense to me. Till week 3 I could kind follow. I did this course with the intend of giving a based for Machine Learning study and I am an thoroughly disappointed the way it ended up.

por Dennis R

31 de dez de 2020

Good content. However, way of presentation is not very engaging. Presenter's voice very monotonous and free of any engagement. In my opinion, scribbling formulas to the board does not make a helpful learning experience.

por Marshall

17 de jun de 2021

A pretty standard "college-like" course with many definitions and derivations that do not help with conceptual understanding of the material. There are better tutorial/explanation videos on YouTube.

por Deleted A

23 de jun de 2021

U​nsuficient explanation.

Lecturer just writes formulas without trying to explain background concepts. It is like reading a book of statistics. No way that most of the students will understand it.

por Jorge P

2 de fev de 2017

Some matters were just given formulas and there was a lack of practice. The course should cover less materials or be longer to be effective in teaching.

por Brett B

7 de set de 2020

Disappointing. Hard to follow, as concepts are not fully explained or linked. Steps in equations are often skipped without notice.

por Mehrdad P

3 de jul de 2019

it was an okay course, I liked that they used R occasionally in the course, but I did not like how the concepts were discussed

por Fabian K

1 de mai de 2017

Not very much in depth and does not offer complete lecture notes, which are necessary for answering the quizzes...

por HEMLATA J

29 de ago de 2020

Dear Sir, My assignment Quizzes are locked and i am not able to unlock that. Kindly unlock it and help me out.

por Mario R H

12 de jul de 2020

Materials could be more "worked". Blackboard Classes does not explain all what they should.

por Nick T

22 de jun de 2020

Ok overview, but not detailed enough to get a thorough understanding

por AliAkbar G

16 de ago de 2020

I don't learn new things. It wasn't as good as I expected.

por Sina A N

27 de nov de 2019

I would have given this course a zero rating if I could have. The worst online course I had so far. There is no intuition of the subject provided. The instructor just looks like reading from a text (like a robot) and write some equations without enough explanation. There are many Youtube videos available for free that explain concepts way much better than what is available here. Don't waste your time. Reading a book and watching those Youtube videos would help you more.

por Jakob V

29 de jan de 2017

I have studied some Bayesian Statistics before. I feel like the materials itself is not sufficient for entry level, and will actually confuse some of the learners. Anyway, this is just my two cents. :)