Chevron Left
Voltar para International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes

Comentários e feedback de alunos de International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.8
estrelas
874 classificações
152 avaliações

Sobre o curso

‘The Arbitration of International Disputes’ is the third course of Leiden University’s series on International Law in Action. The first course covered generalities on the international courts and tribunals in The Hague, while the second course provided an insider's perspective into the work of international criminal courts and tribunals. This third course explores the major aspects of international arbitration as one of the most common method of international dispute settlement . Through this course you will gain an in-depth understanding of the various facets of international arbitration through the analysis of its role as a mechanism of dispute settlement, its institutions, the fields of law it is applicable to, and, of course, its most famous awards. The main question we will answer together during this course is "Can international arbitration contribute to the creation of a peaceful world through the settlement of disputes between States and between States and non-State actors?" In order to do so, we will learn the basic historical concepts or arbitration, as well as everything there is to know about the Permanent Court of Arbitration, based in The Hague. We will then dive into the role of international arbitration in settling disputes relating to the Law of the Sea, with a particular insight into the landmark South China Sea Arbitration. For an entire module, we will focus on investment arbitration, its principles and the procedure of the ICSID, the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes. We will conclude the course with a module on the interplay between state immunity and enforcement of arbitral awards. This is brought to light through the Yukos Arbitration which is a perfect illustration of the topic. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into international arbitration, its role and the current issues relating to it. You will gain in-depth knowledge of the principles and rules of arbitration. You will explore the topic through concrete examples and the most prominent arbitrations. You will also grasp the notion of international arbitration navigating between law and politics. International arbitration and The Hague go hand in hand: several key arbitration institutes are located in The Hague and important disputes were settled here through arbitration. The Hague is, so to speak, ‘the place to be for international arbitration’, especially when we are dealing with arbitration between States, or arbitration of investment disputes between foreign investors and States. Join us for the course and become an expert on international arbitration! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Melhores avaliações

LM

7 de mai de 2020

Great course to provide an overview of international arbitration. The last exercise needs to be updated with the latest info on the Yukos case, the Appels Court (18/02/2020) reinstated the PCA award.

NK

8 de ago de 2020

Excellent course with an adequate introduction to International Arbitration, including Investment Arbitration. I highly recommend this course to anyone venturing into this field of law.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 156 Avaliações para o International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes

por simson s

11 de mai de 2020

EXCELLENT

por Andrey K

7 de mai de 2020

Amazing!

por Laxsana S

4 de mai de 2022

useful

por MURTAZA M

18 de mai de 2019

Great

por Zahra

27 de fev de 2020

非常棒

por Victor P

19 de jul de 2021

por NAVEED A

7 de nov de 2020

It was great experience as first time online course has been completed. I got not only knowledge about arbitration internationally from this course but also get exposure with other students which i think would enhance my learning skills. I would like to continue more courses in order to get more knowledge about my area of subject.

por Aditi R T

16 de ago de 2020

The course is comprehensive enough to provide an insight to international arbitration. It covers significant provisions of the governing statutes, substantiated by case laws. The faculty for the course has worked well in terms of articulation and quality of course material. A highly recommended course.

por Oluwatomiwa O

26 de fev de 2018

First time taking and completing an online course. Surprisingly, it was very engaging and educative. I took the course to get a better understanding on International investment arbitration and an I got that and more! Brilliant!

por S M S H

7 de jun de 2022

This is very useful course for international law students. Though it is only 4 weeks course but it has covered almost everything. It would better if the course material is easy to get and cover more details of the said topic.

por Miguel A O C

27 de abr de 2020

For those who are thinking of starting the course be aware that this is not a light course. It is heavy but it will give you a great satsifaction in the end. Takes a lot of time and effort and it's worth it.

por Chujing C

7 de fev de 2020

This course includes short videos that allow me to have a general understanding of international arbitration in 4 weeks. The content is concise, well structured and easy to understand.

por ARCHIT R

5 de mai de 2020

Although I have learnt arbitration from a very different and wide purview, I wished it was a bit more interactive. Overall I am deeply elated to have opted for this course. Thank you!

por Nyamat S

9 de ago de 2020

Just a few of the facts concerning the case studies need to be updated according to the latest happenings. But otherwise a well constructed and interesting course.

por SUBEESH K K

24 de abr de 2020

It was a wonderfully crafted course on International arbitration, but i had to gone through some difficulties to access forum and assignments via mobile phone.

por Melike N B

28 de out de 2020

In general, I enjoyed this course. However, the next attempts should not be in the next 672 hours.

por OSCAR W A

19 de mai de 2019

It has been really useful as an introductory course to my next Master's Degree.

por Ssewava B

1 de mar de 2022

It was a good experience and i learnt alot.

so how do i get the certificate?

por lina B

16 de fev de 2022

It was a great experience I learned a lot in a short amount of time

por Ehsan T

28 de nov de 2021

That was good, but I was expecting a more technical course legally.

por 朱匡胤

20 de mai de 2018

是一门不错的课程,但是还是希望能够提供诸如PCA,ICSID等更多的细节内容以及参考网址文件等

por Joshua A

11 de out de 2021

e​xciting course....full of knowledge......

por Vesna S

19 de mar de 2018

The course was fairly good and informative.

por Than Z

12 de out de 2021

I​t is good for lawyers.

por ALAA A B

9 de mai de 2020

I enjoyed it very much