Chevron Left
Voltar para Dominando a análise de dados em Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Dominando a análise de dados em Excel da instituição Universidade Duke

4.2
3,011 classificações
673 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Melhores avaliações

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Dominando a análise de dados em Excel

por Aditya Y

Aug 14, 2016

This is not a basic excel training. The title is appropriately set as "Mastering" Data Analysis in Excel...

por Brett R

Jan 17, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course. I've been able to apply some of the strategies I learned in the specialization and I look forward to using it as a resource moving forward.

por balaji p

Jan 19, 2016

Good content and practical examples.

por rohit v

Feb 06, 2016

its very helpful

por Philip L

Sep 24, 2016

Very practical course! Learned a lot.

por Javier L

Nov 28, 2017

A very challenging course with lots of Information that will help you excel in statistics or at least gain a profound knowledge in this field.

por Peter M

Feb 23, 2016

Great course for learning some data analysis with excel that is also accessible even if you have had little experience in excel before.

por Paul J H L

Feb 24, 2016

This is my first Coursera course and I wasn't sure what to expect. I was hoping for a good experience but preparing myself for mediocrity.

I finished the course at 2am on Monday morning and I've been really impressed, both with the Coursera "infrastructure" and with the quality of the teaching from Daniel Egger and his team. I live in South Africa where tertiary educational standards vary widely, and appear to be on the decline. More and more, we are going to need MOOCs like this from the best universities in the world.

More specifically, relating to this course, I found the video lectures well presented and the quizzes thoughtfully prepared. The Excel models really helped with grasping the concepts and practice.

A couple of suggestions:

a) The course FAQ makes light of the background knowledge necessary to cope with the course. It needs to be more honest about the need for mathematics and statistics. Linear regression is not for sissies, in my opinion.

b) Please tell us at the START of the course that we should attack the project week by week. This advice isn't (unless I missed something) given until you open the week 6 project. Ahem... it's too late by then! I spent a very frantic 4 nights last week crunching the project work, 4 quizzes and the assignment. I got to bed at 2.30am, and i'm not a night owl.

Overwhelmingly though, a really interesting course. I'm already starting the next one.

por Zhou J

Feb 07, 2016

很棒的组织

数学与Excel结合的非常密切

por LE Z

Apr 17, 2016

I hope the video could show me more about how to do these entropy calculations in Excel

por Benjamin L

Dec 22, 2015

patctical and useful course,is better for your creer life. Thanks for sharing the knowledge.

por Vladimir P

Aug 17, 2016

Indeed a Mastering course for Data Analysis!

por huijuan z

Feb 07, 2016

A great course!!

por Phoebe K

Jul 02, 2018

very insightful!!!

por Ian J

Feb 02, 2016

Excellent instruction/instructor and great templates.

por Francisco D

Mar 26, 2016

Excellent content, learned many new things. Mainly new tools in Excel with the Solver.

por Nicolas E

Jun 10, 2016

Very important course if you want to know more about data analysis. Fascinating materials (Markowitz optimisation, linear regression, information gain, binary classification...) with both theoretical and practical aspects! In spite the fact you won't learn much about VBA skills, this course will definitely give you a very good basis for addressing any data analysis problem with Excel.

por kwangje.baeg

Jul 25, 2016

swollen with pride that I could be a great biz analyst

ofcourse, with Great professors ^~^

por Xue L

Oct 23, 2017

The course is very helpful. The final project is a very good practice and it summarized most of the knowledge in this class.

por 何欣

Jan 15, 2016

Very useful!!!

por Sirsendu S

Jul 30, 2017

loved it

por Tewende J E K

Aug 03, 2016

We learn a lot in this course

por Sanni f O

Jul 28, 2017

Great course. Can't wait to complete the whole specialization

por Amrisha

Jun 04, 2017

The instructor has taken every possible care to present the content in a very lucid manner, decked with illustrative examples and case analytics.

por charu

Jul 15, 2016

very nice stuff.