Chevron Left
Voltar para ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements

Comentários e feedback de alunos de ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
estrelas
108 classificações
29 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is for activists, artists, and thinkers who wish to better understand and participate in social change. We will focus on the prolific and exciting overlap between socially engaged art and cultural practices generated by recent social movements around the world. Rather than assess the political efficacy of activities like mourning, listening, organizing, dancing, or partying, the lectures examine such cultural activities next to, and within, contemporary art practice. Included in the course are guest presentations by key artists, activists, and scholars, like: Rebecca Gomperts, Chido Govera, Gulf Labor, Hans Haacke, Sharon Hayes, Jolene Rickard, Gregory Sholette, Joshua Wong, and many more. Designed by artist and Duke professor, Pedro Lasch and co-taught by Creative Time artistic director, Nato Thompson, the course challenges learners to treat the MOOC itself as a social and artistic form. This happens mostly through the practical components, local project productions, global exchanges, and critical feedback. While no prior art making or activist experience is required, projects also offer challenging options for advanced learners. For other course offerings or language versions in this series, just search 'ART of the MOOC' inside the Coursera course catalogue....

Melhores avaliações

IA
22 de Mai de 2018

This course was really helpful in understanding the significance of art in social activism, and the project was a lot of fun.

LM
29 de Jun de 2020

I plan to go back and rewatch some guest lessons and look at the materials in the future.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 31 Avaliações para o ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements

por Sara R

5 de Out de 2017

This course has been such a nourishing experience and such an exiting opportunity to learn about great artists and wonderful rebel souls of around the world. I thank you very deeply because this course has reinforced my motivation to create, to express my most deep thoughts and to take positive action for what I believe in as a person and as an artist. Special thanks to Pedro Lasch and Nato Thompson.

Regards,

Sara Rojas

saelrosa@gmail.com

por SNOW W

18 de Ago de 2017

I could not seem to follow this. I am taking HOW TO CHANGE THE WORLD, and I can totally follow the class. The way it is taught, having speakers. I am not sure what it is about this class, but.. it feels maybe not structured. Like I cannot follow where it is going? What is the point? You have people tell about their work and I could not get into that at all. I just cannot put my finger on it! I was hoping to walk away knowing the leaders (mentors) and how they do it. In a clear and concise method. I doubt I am going to finish this class. Watch HOW TO CHANGE THE WORLD. I think that is the skeleton for how to teach well.

por Katie J H

14 de Jun de 2020

it was too boring and not well structured for me

por Eliza M

1 de Mar de 2018

It is an extraordinary tool of learning about history of activism, contemporary artistic movements, exhibitions and civil society. At the same time it teaches you how these elements relate to our daily life, reveal controversial social problems, ignite creativity to create a plural discussion forum and eventually influence beneficial social change towards a more inclusive living environment.

por Lina C

5 de Jul de 2020

Fantastic overview. I was definitely broadened in my thinking and understanding. I also was exposed to a good spread of variation and artists to give breath to the concepts, and also introspection to who I may be, what my contributions, comforts, discomforts, and options are. What are the issues that embolden me? And more of a framework for enactments.

por Abraham L

5 de Dez de 2020

Este curso me ha parecido algo fantástico! como estudiante de Artes visuales, ha expandido un poco mi horizonte en cuanto a la función que tiene el activismo dentro del arte en general. Una de las principales funciones del arte, pienso yo, es herir de alguna manera las modernas sensibilidades de la sociedad, para generar así un cambio social.

por Wendy

6 de Ago de 2019

I am applying for grad schools for my Phd. I am reevaluating what direction I want to go in and this course was part of my decision to change direction. Where I am in my life right now, I am not relocating otherwise I would apply to Duke. One of my classmates did and we are in touch, I'm slightly envious.

por Stavroula

20 de Nov de 2020

The course was mind-teasing, educative, surprising, interesting, refreshing, unexpected, but it left me craving for more, I feel I wanted more context from Pedro Lasch.

Do you have any workshops?

I enjoyed it and will look for similar courses. Thank you Pedro Lasch and Duke University.

por Melissa S

4 de Jan de 2018

I have gained an appreciation for forms of social activism and the contributions of artists to social activism. This was a life changing course for me. I highly recommend it to others who are concerned about the trends towards authoritarianism and the stifling of the debate of ideas.

por Kristina S

20 de Fev de 2019

I was learning a lot from this course! getting familiar with activism history, concept, rethinking common things from another angle. watching videos is not enough, google all the concepts and art performances! all the best to professors!

por Laura P

19 de Out de 2019

A fantastic, inspiring course that has reconnected me to my creativity and introduced me to powerful artist activists who are effectively raising awareness about important social issues through art.

por sandra d

30 de Mai de 2020

Muchas gracias por los contenidos. Descubri nuevos artistas, temas y proyectos para trabajar en equipo con Arquitectos y Diseñadores.

Saludos cordiales,

Sandra Daza

Historiadora del Arte

por Ina A

23 de Mai de 2018

This course was really helpful in understanding the significance of art in social activism, and the project was a lot of fun.

por Daniela F

5 de Mai de 2020

So interested to have a everyday reflection about our context, to experience art in everyday life

por Lane M

30 de Jun de 2020

I plan to go back and rewatch some guest lessons and look at the materials in the future.

por Steve B

8 de Jul de 2018

Exciting, different & eye-opening. Innovative assessment strategy (once it opens)!

por Tabata C N

26 de Out de 2020

It is an excelent way to change your perspective about movements and art itself.

por Apryl-Annette C

15 de Nov de 2017

Wonderful Course, very enlightening and empowering. makes you think!!

por Ellen M

9 de Jun de 2018

Loved this! Thank you for collecting this info into s course.

por Doug M

14 de Mai de 2020

A great course to be part of. a good learning experience

por Jon

26 de Abr de 2018

This has been literally the best educational experience.

por Viktoryia

2 de Mar de 2017

Wow! It was such an inspiring journey!

por JOHN Q

1 de Jul de 2017

Interesting course. Thanks.

por Stavroula V

25 de Jan de 2021

excellent, most interesting

por Anna F P

22 de Dez de 2017

I love it. Thank you!