Chevron Left
Voltar para The Unix Workbench

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Unix Workbench da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
655 classificações
192 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Melhores avaliações

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

SL

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Unix Workbench

por Fazeel G

May 08, 2018

It was a very educational course, and I would recommend it for beginners.

por Peddi A

Jun 21, 2018

It's vrey good for Git

por Bruno C

Sep 03, 2018

It was a great introductory course, which has helped me in my current work environment. That being said i felt that the last part regarding cloud computing was a bit rushed (from learning to sue a API to suddenly being asked to create a bot)

Overall i recommend the course to any colleague

por Jorge L R Z

Sep 11, 2018

Amazing course!

por Vladimir M

Sep 12, 2018

It's a great course!

por Leo

Oct 23, 2018

very clear and useful course. Thank!

por Jorge N

Aug 27, 2018

Very good!

por Vattumilli K V

Oct 28, 2018

Thanks for your course

por hurui

Nov 06, 2018

Great!

por Zhengguan L

Nov 20, 2018

Very good overall, I will give it 5 starts!!!

But small advice, since it is written in markdown, I hope we can use code blocks to make the keywords like unix command stand out which can help us easier to find it and give more clear context structure.

por Zhizhong D

Oct 01, 2018

Very useful course, I am using lots of remote high performance computers. This class definitely improves my understanding on Unix Shell and working efficiency.

por JIANG X

Jun 30, 2019

Very useful content and clear explanations!

por Ajay G

Jul 04, 2019

Quite good in what this course plans to teach you. Lightweight and a very good starters package to get started with linux.

por Tomislav P

May 16, 2019

Very well done course. One of the best ones I did.

por Benjamin B

May 27, 2019

Excellent! Peer review was a great first experience, but very worthwhile to look at other's work after thinking hard about the problem myself. Very well structured - and I now feel confident on cloud computers, bash, and UNIX/GitHub.

por Ivan S

May 27, 2019

Excellent material!!!! More practical exercises please will do...

por Darius T

May 30, 2019

Really useful course for learning the basics of Unix

por Ayush M

May 31, 2019

amazing course

por Luis A A C

Jun 06, 2019

Tremendously useful course.

por Palatip J

Jul 20, 2019

Great epaination course

por Adonis J C G

Aug 15, 2019

It's very intuitive, but you need some experience from another language or, at least, pseudocode.

por Sunil S

Apr 24, 2019

Overall, the course was well structured and easy to understand. The mentors reply regularly to any questions posted in the discussion forums. A wonderful learning experience that introduces you to the command-line interface.

por Asheesh K

Nov 20, 2019

Great course for the lovers of UNIX

por Amber K

Nov 19, 2019

Great certification. Would of liked following along vm experience.

por PATEL H K

Oct 20, 2019

Good one