Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à Programação com Swift

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à Programação com Swift da instituição Universidade de Toronto

3.9
estrelas
1,410 classificações

Sobre o curso

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Melhores avaliações

SI

13 de jan de 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

30 de jan de 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filtrar por:

301 — 325 de 377 Avaliações para o Introdução à Programação com Swift

por Jennifer Y

17 de nov de 2015

Unfortunately the course is not very well thought out. The lecture videos are poorly organized, concepts are not presented in the proper context and lack sufficient detail/depth, little thought or effort was put into designing the examples in the videos, there are no actual coding exercises until the last week, there are no examples of elegant code, nor thoughtful examples of good vs. bad code, the quizzes contain questions that are poorly worded and ambiguous (and I think some actually have the wrong answers and are contradicted by other online resources). It's very high level, and they hand-wave important concepts. I really don't see how this class can actually teach you to build a robust high-quality app. You're probably better off just reading some of the official documentation online.

por Patrick F

28 de ago de 2016

Course content: some Swift specific topics are shortly covered in the videos. Overall, the teaching material is very short. In the first week, students basically learn how to start Xcode. Week four contains a 15 minutes video on image processing, that's basically it for the week.

Follow-up readings for week two just provide a link to Apple's iOS Developer site. That's clearly not enough for a course. Students can google for tutorials by themselves.

Project: The projects mentions classes, which are not covered in the course. It was then also my impression from the peer reviews, that some students without prior knowledge were just lost.

There are many great tutorials on the web which offer more insights and give students a much more fundamental knowledge than this course.

por Rustam

21 de set de 2015

First of all I expected something deeper. First of all this courser is less understandable than "The Swift Programming Language" free book from Apple. Before I join the course I have read a few chapters and from my point of view book explains material much much better. The second point – it looks like tutors invent examples during the lesson (on the fly), this is bring a mess. And last thing about this course that tutors commit an gross error during lecture. Please have a look at "Advanced Swift" lecture, I am talking about closures. The teacher said that closure captures the copy of outside variable, but this is completely wrong! Closures capture the variable itself, not the variable value

por Paul P

6 de ago de 2019

I'm a professional iOS developer now but I remember a few years ago taking this as my first iOS course and it was a TERRIBLE experience. These clowns literally did not teach a single thing other than messing around with image customization in playground. They will not teach you any basic Swift fundamentals (which they tried to do in 1 video in like 10 minutes which was also terrible). They should be ashamed because the material is very weak and the instructors are not even remotely motivated based on their monotonous tone. Don't waste your time and go to Udemy and take Angela Yu's course instead of this nonsense.

por Tante K

8 de jan de 2017

It is a very small introduction to swift, while the last assignment expects you to be rather fluent in programming using swift. A lot of self study using the guides provided by apple and other sources is needed to successfully complete this course.

Furthermore the video's indicate a lack of preparedness on part of the instructors as a lot of sentences are cut of halfway , then started a new with a new goal. All of which makes this course very hard to understand. For free it is passable, but had I payed I would sincerely regret it

Part 2 is better, but still changing thoughts midway in a sentence

por John G T

3 de mar de 2016

This course is a waste of time and money. I'm an experienced programmer, and I thought this would be a good introduction to Swift; it wasn't. The first two weeks were short, introductory programming lessons. Week 3, "Advanced Swift," consisted of one 12-minute video that barely scratches the surface of three separate topics.

Many things that I would consider fundamentals for this type of programming course (classes, for example) were rarely even mentioned, much less taught and demonstrated.

If you want to learn Swift, look elsewhere. Don't waste your time and money on this course.

por Raul G N

22 de out de 2017

It is not basic at all, if you are a beginner in programming language, you are not going to get anything but the installation video. It is good for someone who knows at least another programming language, but for somebody who is starting, not at all. They explain in a 6mins video 3 topics which they should explain in 3 separate and dedicated videos, and then they say go for apple developer website and continue learning, so you feel like you learn everything there and not with the course, Thanks! and I hope you guys improve the course in the future and update it to swift 4.

por Javier F

21 de out de 2015

No stars for this course, 3 modules I did, and I think is not a valuable course, gives a bad introduction to the language, there are inconsistencies in the theory and knowledge of the language. The preparation of the course is poor, there is no direction, a lot of errors using playground and the instructors hesitate and doubt all the time during the recording of the screen. That's not good point for the prestigious University of Toronto and Coursera. One star for the review is too much, no preparation, lack of security, bad quality.

por Trent V B

16 de mar de 2016

The weekly lectures/assignments did little to prepare for the final assignment. They were short and high level without any coding to back them up.

It is possible to blaze through the first four weeks in a couple hours.....and then spend weeks on the final assignment because you will need to learn most of it on your own by looking through api documentation.

To the instructors: If you want to see what a good "intro to language" course looks like, checkout:

https://www.coursera.org/course/programming1

por Ann W

20 de mar de 2016

Certainly not a beginners course. You needed to have a good programming knowledge to make any sense of this course. The final assignment asked you to do things you hadn't been taught. As I hadn't done any programming for 20 years, I certainly found this difficult. Fell behind and there isn't really anyone there to help. Almost asked for a refund but decided to try to continue. I'm struggling to motivate myself into the second course. I really hope it's better than the first one.

por Anton A

5 de jun de 2016

this was thefirst course i payed for and unfortunately the worst expierience.

lack of content beyond the stuff in the available simple swift tutorials and

from an eduucational pint of view afwully if at all prepared

its as shame that i cannot give this "course" ZERO stars which it deserves!

i should have checked the very negative feedback of the former participants before bying it

i will be much MUCH more alert regarding content on coursera from now on

por Kevin K

11 de mai de 2016

Although Parham Aarabi is listed as the professor throughout this specialization, it's a bit of a bait-and-switch. Prof Aarabi is an award-winning professor at U of Toronto, but it turns out he knows little about iOS and has Jack Wu teach most of the material. Jack Wu is probably a heck of a developer but he's a terrible instructor.

I previously took the Android Specialization, which was excellent, so I was shocked at how bad this course was.

por Alex B

10 de out de 2015

Sadly, this course is NOT an Introduction to Swift Programming. As a beginner I found this course was not structured and I was confused about the correct steps to take in order to start programming in Swift. No doubt that these guys are knowledgable but they do not plan the course or teach in a linear fashion. Furthermore the sound and video quality is poor and I have decided to quit this course after the first week and a half.

por Joy H

17 de jun de 2021

t​his course was a complete waste of time. I have completed a number of coursera courses and am a very keen learner. however this course content is extremely outdated to the point where the version of Software that the course uses v7 cannot be uploaded on my Mac with Catalina OS because it is so old. at the time of writing the software is already on version 13. a waste of time and a disappointment.

por Saeed K A

31 de mai de 2020

This course is old enough to be removed from the internet! it's required Xcode 7.3.1!!! now we are in 2020 and using Xcode 11.5!

The Peer-graded Assignment evaluation is a very bad way to marks a project that takes the most time and very hard work to accomplish, which required some decent review!

if (these reviews were clear before I enrolled) { I'll never do it!

I'll return something else! }

por Manfred W

14 de mai de 2016

Worst course I took on Coursera so far! It was my first course I actually paid for and it turned out to be the least useful one. The small number of exercises and videos does not justify the high price of the course. It might have been ok if they had included the iOS parts also, but charging 70 EUR for the first part alone is grossly overpriced.

por Michael H

19 de out de 2015

Basically a couple of guys have an unorganized discussion about swift. Little to no organization with poor coordination between lectures and quizzes.. Appears that there is no TA or course staff monitoring discussion boards... I am glad I didn't pay for the class... Disappointed though because I really wanted to learn Swift.

por Stephan H

8 de mar de 2016

At first the presentations are really on a semi professional level (copy & paste codes, making errors without knowing the cause). They show a lot what can be done with swift but the never show/mention what it's really usefull for (no "real life" usage just snippets after snippets).

To few practical doings (mostly only quiz stuff)

por Fabrizio F

13 de out de 2019

Very old, I don't get why still is on Coursera...impossible to find people reviewing your assignment...this will lead to a not completion of the course. Material not sufficiently explained and poor.

What you will learn out of this course is a copy paste of exercises you will do during the weeks...very unsatisfying.

por Francisco J M

6 de out de 2015

Very disorganized. More than a course, it seems more like 2 students learning along with you. The lessons have 0 preparation and they come up with examples that do not work half of the time during the video itself. I do not recommend this course (and as a matter of fact, the entire specialization) to anyone.

por Deleted A

8 de nov de 2015

After 97% of the work completed, I have to admit that this course is NOT GOOD. The instructor is not actually the professor himself, and they do lots of mistakes in the videos. You do not learn anything that helpful, and perhaps the actual Swift documentation is way more clearer than this course is.

por Pavel L

27 de jan de 2016

Thank you for this course. It was interesting and helpful. Before.

But I failed. I got bad mark and I don't know why.

I have only one good comment. But I have 3 bad marks and only 2 good. I am a looser, i guess.

So I hate this course, this website, this review system and this world.

Thank you again.

por Michalina S

14 de mar de 2016

It's not a university standard course. It's more like introduction to introduction DIY Swift. The videos are chaotic and lack explications, examples, exercises and practical assignments. Much better intro to Swift can be found on many youtube channels or just on swift documentation website.

por Jeff R

12 de out de 2015

I'm giving just a single star. I started this course with high hopes, bailed after the third quiz as I wasn't learning anything except how to pass the quiz. Sorry, but this was a major letdown to myself and two other colleagues who all signed up to take it together. We all bailed.

por Parag T

21 de set de 2015

I am dropping the course.

Suggestions

1) One person talk to the audience...rather than 2 or 3 talking to each other

2) Volume and pic quality poor

3) Its going too slowly.....just not enough "meat" to get me engaged...esp if u compare to the course by Paul Hegarty Stanford