Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à sustentabilidade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à sustentabilidade da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.8
estrelas
2,180 classificações
706 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Melhores avaliações

KF
18 de Dez de 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

MT
23 de Set de 2020

This course helps me to learn many things about sustainability. By this course, I am more interested in sustainable developments. I expect to learn more about this provided by Dr Johnathan Tomkin.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 703 Avaliações para o Introdução à sustentabilidade

por 2K20_EE_140 K J

18 de Set de 2021

An excellent course. This course should be enrolled into by every student, esp. engineers, because the world is taking a sly turn towards sustainable methods. This course helps relate us the present and the upcoming future with the past. I want to thank Dr. Jonathan Tomkin to put so much efforts to provide us such an analytical data and stats. Also, I want to thank Coursera to involve such a wonderful course into the catalogue.

por Eduardo F

14 de Jun de 2021

I fully agree with the main message of the course:  climate change is real.; it is a worldwide problem that is affecting our wellbeing as well as future generations’   that needs to be faced. Fortunately, we humanity have the technical and economic means to face and manage it. Still, we have to build up the political consensus and tools to do so.

Many thanks for your efforts hope there is a follow up in the near future

por Karen M

10 de Set de 2017

This was an amazing course. I learned so much about sustainability and feel that I now have the tools to be critical about media news pieces about the environment. Prof. Tomkin explains his topics clearly and concisely. I found his lectures easy to follow without being "dumbed down". I highly recommend taking this course if you want to learn more about the issues affecting the environment and sustainable development.

por Fatimaalowais

24 de Mai de 2018

Great course. I learned so much and the course was the right place to start to learn about environmental policy and sustainability. It explains population, consumption, energy, water, touching on many inaccurate assumptions about the environment and sustainability. most of all, I enjoyed the sections that focused on policy options, which is the main reason I have been looking for that kind of courses.

por Monica

26 de Out de 2015

I've been a supporter of environmental sustainability efforts for a long time, however, I lacked training/knowledge (as my undergraduate studies are in Business). Passion is great, but in the real world, you need skills to back up that passion. I am proud to say that can now engage in active conversations with people who are working in sustainability related fields! This is a very empowering course!

por Shruti B

13 de Out de 2020

I loved how the course progresses while explaining the most important issues in sustainability.

The course curriculum is really insightful and helps in building a strong foundation in the field of sustainable development.

I will highly recommend the course to people looking forward to build their knowledge base in the field of sustainability and environmental sciences.

I loved every bit of the course!

por Muhammad H

6 de Mai de 2020

This course is a very beginning of an important concept of sustainability. The videos are just more than excellent at communicating useful knowledge to the seeker. The quizzes are designed to take full advantage of one's abilities. The most interesting work in this course is Peer graded assignments. I have learned and enjoyed this course. Hope everyone else who opt it will likewise too. Thumbs up!

por Deborah L

17 de Mai de 2020

I really enjoyed the instructor and the class. I am taking Intro to Sustainability at another university and it is completely different than what we learned here. I am not saying it is better or worse but it is interesting the amount of diversity that an intro class can have. I would be very interested to see/hear what Professor Tomkins would have to say about the current pandemic crisis.

por Paul A

18 de Mai de 2020

Bast online course I have ever taken. Professor Tomkins did a fantastic job giving a broad and comprehensive overview on sustainability. The reading were excellent, the supplementary videos and case studies were enlightening, and he pushed a little bit with the quizzes, enough to make you feel like your earned the certificate. A great entry point to the entire field of sustainability.

por Ramanan S

7 de Fev de 2016

Really awesome course! Especially the peer review assignments. They give an overall view of what are the problems being faced by everyone around the world! The course structure is really good and is optimal for learning. After the course, one really has a changed perspective towards the earth and you would be inspired with purpose! A purpose to work for the betterment of humankind!

por EVA C A

28 de Set de 2020

This is a very serious course of high academic quality. It takes time to follow the lectures, read additional material, make homework and tests, but it is worth it.

The instructor makes the lessons easy to understand, although it sometimes deals with quite complicated topics.

It would be great to hear about an updated course (this is a few years old) or a continuation of this one.

por Ethan C

11 de Set de 2021

I​ throughouly enjoyed this course as it was very relevant and had exteremely interesting assignments to do and topics to learn about. Jonathan Tomkin was also a brilliant narrator, and the videos were great quality. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in the environment, sustainability or just if they would like to find out something new. Thank you very much!

por David M

28 de Mai de 2020

I have both my B.S and J.D. , but it has been years since I have taken a college level course. This was one of the most interesting and engaging I have ever taken. Dr. Tomkins presents the content in a relatable manner that is easy to understand. The information provided has ignited my interest to learn more and continue my education on Sustainability. Highly reccomend!

por Camelia K

2 de Jul de 2020

A great introductory course about sustainability that is informative and not too basic that is worthwhile your time if you are interested to more about the statistics, proper concepts and terminology in this field. The information is well-packed and not to difficult to understand but still requires some effort to properly digest the knowledge. Thanks Dr. Jonathan Tomkins!

por Kathleen Y

30 de Dez de 2020

Very insightful! Though I have taken AP environmental science course and it has some overlap with this course, I still learned a lot! For me the exam is a little bit difficult, and the video quality is high. I highly recommend everyone to take this course, and I really found myself broadening my horizen and learning to argue from different perspectives. Thank you UIUC!

por Taina S M

13 de Abr de 2021

I am so impressed about the quality of this course, the readings and lectures are super interesting and exciting you want to learn all the time. The Instructor Dr. Tomkin is great, the way he speaks and the data he presents make everything easier to understand the topics. My understanding on sustainability completely changed during the course. Thank you very much.

por Chukwunonso O

14 de Mai de 2021

This course introduced me to a refined way of thinking about sustainability. Sustainability is not limited to just green movements (i.e. propaganda) but actually analysing the lifecycle of so-called sustainable technology, environmental laws, preventive measures to ascertain that they create a net benefit on the grand scale. I highly recommend it!!!!

por Eleftherios K

21 de Mai de 2020

An exceptional course that introduces an abundance of new concepts and points of view. It's engaging and thought-provoking, with very interesting assignments. The workload is considerable but at the end it's worthwhile. I totally feel that I've gained a sense of the current global situation on sustainability for the 21st century! Thank you very much!

por Luis G

29 de Mar de 2021

The course is to recommend to everyone as this is very interesting, well structured, well prepared, well explained and also demanding. I not just learned but I did enjoy it a lot. The course helped me a lot to a better understanding of my day to day work with Funding Agencies like World Bank and its expectations for sustainable development issues.

por Arav D

14 de Ago de 2020

I really liked learning the course material. As an aspiring environmental engineer, I wanted to explore more environmental concepts before applying to colleges, and this course allowed me to decide that I enjoyed learning about environmental concepts, especially sustainability, and made me excited to take more sustainability classes in the future.

por Thuan n

8 de Jun de 2020

This course provides very comprehensive set of information about sustainability from beginning to the end. Its content is really broad. To learn well, it requires learners to think and to read a lot. I like the fact that it provides many interesting talks from Ted and other sources. I would really like to see more recent statistics to be included.

por Franklin B

31 de Ago de 2020

Sustainability is one of the most important topics for the future of our own species and for the world in general. This course gives you a point of view strongly supported by science, data and teaches the importance of recognition and exploring the different methods to get involved and visualize the consequences of climate change.

por Dipesh T

5 de Nov de 2020

Teaching of professor Tomkin was very much interesting that i have got so interest in this course and enjoyed a lot learning this course which makes us familiar with the things and facts that are happening in our environment and how they are going to affect our real world in the current and upcoming future situation of our world.

por Christian P H

22 de Mar de 2020

I took this course to learn. Now, I did not just learned, I understood things deeper about the environment. Now I'm conscious about embedded water, embodied energy, food miles and many more. These are important things that we often take for granted. Thanks to Coursera, Dr. Tomkin and the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign!

por Raquel O G

31 de Jul de 2020

Very interesting and useful. The videos, reading, and homework were very easy but I learned a lot. I recommend this course. You won't regret it. Investing time in knowing more about our planet situation and the sustainability path that we are following, is very important. Pd. The English used in this course is very easy.