Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
2,545 classificações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

TL

14 de mar de 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC

25 de set de 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!

It was a very good learning experience!

Thank you!

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 747 Avaliações para o English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

por Bakhyt A

19 de mai de 2020

I very like it. And of coure, again and again I will be back and refresh my thought about this course.

por 陳禾森

16 de out de 2019

This is a very good course for an engineer who needs to improve the skill of listening and presenting.

por Aliosha G

19 de mai de 2017

Es un curso muy bueno para mejorar nuestras habilidades en inglés y conocer vocabulario especializado.

por Rodolfo G

23 de nov de 2022

Awesome course made for STEAM students who seeks to improve their English skills in academic writing.

por Nette

4 de mar de 2022

knowledgeable and refreshing course. I am learning insights on how to help lessen the global warming.

por AL-MUNTASER B A A N A

30 de jun de 2019

Thinks a lot for this coursera . It give me alot of Information and knowledge . I am grateful to you.

por Michel W N

2 de out de 2017

Excelente, extremamente instrutivo tanto no sentido técnico quanto no sentido informativo. Recomendo.

por José A

19 de mai de 2020

This is a great course. I learnt much in English, science, technology and environment. Thanks a lot.

por Meryem B

27 de fev de 2020

I enjoyed very much this course, the videos and lectures are clear and the exams are fair. Thank you

por Carol L

10 de jan de 2019

I really like how professionals were the instructors and the tematic addressed: the climate change!

por Chahira A

22 de set de 2022

excellent course and magnificent teachers. the courses are well presented and explained thank you

por Laís F M

11 de mai de 2020

Great course, I learned to use English on different topics !!! everyone should do it, I recommend.

por Osman M

3 de abr de 2020

Thanks to the most beautiful instructors for their clear explanation and easy English presentation

por Maria E M

16 de set de 2017

Es un curso muy agradable y amigable, nada aburrido, hay diferente tipo de actividades a realizar.

por Murat İ

6 de jun de 2020

Wonderful education system, active and focusing on improvement language skills and communication.

por Stephanie W

11 de fev de 2020

It's a truly step by step course. It gives me a lot of insights both as a student and a teacher.

por Jerome H

30 de ago de 2018

This is a very good course for STEM learners and those who are teaching English to STEM students.

por Rocio M V

10 de mar de 2021

Me ha encantado el curso, muy interactivo y con puntos clave para no perder ninguna información.

por MD A H M

2 de jun de 2020

Many thanks for joining me. I am so happy and have learned so many new things and learned a lot

por nanashinogonbei01

25 de mar de 2020

I learned a lot from this course. Nice teachers and contents about Global warming. Thanks a lot.

por Jan A R

26 de dez de 2020

The course is challenging and enriching. Thank you, Coursera for the great learning experience.

por José R I

13 de jul de 2019

Excellent course! Perfect for improving the English of those of us who are not English speakers

por Cindy J N

4 de mar de 2019

I would like to recommend this to my friends and relatives too. I learned a lot in this course.

por FRANCISCO B D Q

4 de jul de 2018

if you're looking for new vocabulary and ideas about our planet this is a good place to start.

por Elena K

28 de mai de 2020

Excellent course for beginner!

It is very interesting. I have known a lot of new information.