Chevron Left
Voltar para Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
1,820 classificações
496 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Melhores avaliações

YG

2 de jul de 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL

9 de fev de 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 489 Avaliações para o Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

por Karin A Q

12 de abr de 2022

The videos were amazing and the text book was a good resource. The professor explains the problems well.

por Max C

31 de mar de 2020

Very good video lecture. Very good speech for not native english students. But little difficult for me.

por mike

18 de jun de 2021

T​his course was well done and highly recommended secondary to the novel presentation of the material.

por Pavel K

15 de jun de 2019

Good explanation of quite complicated things. Bonus materials are especially useful for understanding.

por Florent C

15 de jun de 2020

Excellent course, although the wiki is currently broken and can only be accessed through archive.org.

por Xiaolin H

9 de fev de 2018

Wonderful lectures! Clear and succint! It would be greater if more application examples are involved.

por Dr. N D

24 de mai de 2022

Very good course to understand the basics of function, limit of function, Taylor series of function.

por Eva N

19 de nov de 2019

This was very useful. Explanations were (relatively) simple and the quiz commesurate to the teaching

por Omar J

29 de set de 2018

A very challenging course that makes the quizzes and challenges sweet and passing it even sweeter!

por Rep G

15 de fev de 2020

Growth of functions approach is somewhat more effective tool for reasoning than the normal stuff.

por John H

21 de dez de 2019

Great course. Really good videos and the exercises seem to be at a really good level. Thank you.

por Adam O

29 de mar de 2017

This was very explanatory and helpful. I would recommend it to many of my friends and colleagues.

por Adam J

22 de fev de 2017

Professor Ghrist is a badass. Re-ordering things to put Taylor series first is a brilliant idea!

por J a

16 de set de 2021

only complain would be that its not long enough! good revisit to calculus and quite enjoyable!

por Nesrine Z

10 de abr de 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it was very helpful to understand the Taylor series. Many thanks.

por Lijia L

26 de fev de 2017

I like this course very much. Prof. Robert Ghrist is humorous, and the mentor is very helpful!

por Rahul

14 de jun de 2021

Highly recommended to learners of all standards. The presentations are lucid and interactive.

por Jiaming L

26 de ago de 2019

The course is perfect and the professor put all his effort on the program. It did help a lot.

por faraz g

30 de abr de 2020

It was really useful. But, the tests were very hard. I did enjoy this course. Thank you all.

por Sabhrant S

7 de abr de 2020

I liked the difficulty of the questions. Very good course. Thank you sir for your hard work.

por CMC

26 de jun de 2018

The course is rigorous. I managed to learn something about Big-O that I did not know before.

por 黎健钊

1 de mai de 2017

learn a lot about calculus which is different from China Calculus Book, Thank you so much...

por Jerry M

26 de dez de 2016

This is an excellent course! I enjoyed the problem sets and the Bonus Lectures. Well Done!

por Yu S

18 de jun de 2021

Very clear explanation, except that part related to big-O, maybe more notes will be better.

por Ash K

22 de abr de 2021

Very beautifully taught by Robert Sir! The visualizations and bonus material were awesome!