Chevron Left
Voltar para A publicidade e a sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A publicidade e a sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
317 classificações
69 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Melhores avaliações

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o A publicidade e a sociedade

por Hamza

Nov 04, 2016

This course looks at advertising from a different angle which is very interesting and inspiring.

you will learn a lot, i highly recommend it to everyone in the marketing realm.

por trinh t t t

Jul 24, 2017

This is a very useful course. Thanks

por Fraidoon S

Feb 15, 2017

it is a wonderful course!

por Giorgio G

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

por Alex I

Nov 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic course! Great insights and, of course, great teacher!

por Hazel M

Mar 12, 2017

It has been a very informative and interesting course.

por CHOW W

Apr 05, 2018

It is a remarkable course to know advertising nowadays with a more "scientific discussion" provided.

por Kariya

Dec 28, 2016

My first course about advertising ever, it was very interesting and the knowledge i learned, i'm sure gonna be useful! Thank you very much!

por LOHITH M C

Oct 26, 2017

That was good experience in learning many aspects of advertising from the history to future of advertising. Very useful course.

por Erik O

May 21, 2018

Great course if you're interested in advertising or work for a creative agency. Professor is very knowledgeable and he includes classic as well as modern examples of advertisements.

por Nguyễn T P L

Jul 24, 2017

This is a very useful course. Thanks

por Lưu Q D

Aug 31, 2017

very good

por Dado M

Apr 01, 2018

Congratulations Professor!

por Aurelija V

Nov 26, 2017

Very interesting and valuable! I have learned how to look at advertising from a more long-term focused perspective.

por Yana Y

Nov 20, 2016

Great course! It has helped me learn a lot and given me much more perspective on the world of advertising. I thoroughly enjoyed learning and discovering new things.

por Nguyễn T P L

Jul 25, 2017

The course is very helpful

por Kevin L D

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

por prashant t

May 02, 2017

very nice and very effective course :)

por Nino I

Nov 20, 2017

the best course

por carrie

Sep 02, 2017

This course is so informative and interesting, making me think about pursuing advertising so much! The professor is great with explaining complex ideas to simple ones. Love it!

por Saakshi N

Jul 19, 2017

It is a very broad course, which beautifully delves into the subject of advertising by using innumerable examples and references to make studying easier and more interesting.

por Jose R M J

Jun 25, 2017

Informative and thought-provoking, this course will equip you with the tools you need to look at advertising with a critical eye and to understand its relationship with our modern world beyond what meets the eye. Professor O'Barr is also an excellent teacher, and his passion for the material inspires you to continue learning, even beyond what's mentioned in the lectures.

por Saurabh M

Feb 26, 2018

It's a wonderful course which talks about the fundamentals of advertisement and links them to the practical scenario in history and recent times. Advertisement is a vast field, but this course certainly provides the required basis to further gain the expertise in the field.

por Amir H V

Nov 26, 2017

Thanks a lot for your effort and hardworking to deliver these course to us.

por rishika m

Jul 24, 2017

Great course. The faculty is really good. He explains everything patiently. The ads shown in between help you understand well. Would like more such courses.