Chevron Left
Voltar para Modelos Regressivos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Modelos Regressivos da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.4
estrelas
2,989 classificações
502 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Linear models, as their name implies, relates an outcome to a set of predictors of interest using linear assumptions. Regression models, a subset of linear models, are the most important statistical analysis tool in a data scientist’s toolkit. This course covers regression analysis, least squares and inference using regression models. Special cases of the regression model, ANOVA and ANCOVA will be covered as well. Analysis of residuals and variability will be investigated. The course will cover modern thinking on model selection and novel uses of regression models including scatterplot smoothing....

Melhores avaliações

KA

Dec 17, 2017

Excellent course that is jam-packed with useful material! It is quite challenging and gives a thorough grounding in how to approach the process of selecting a linear regression model for a data set.

BA

Feb 01, 2017

It really helped me to have a better understanding of these Regression Models. However, I've noticed that there is a video recording repeated: Week 3, Model Selection. Part 3 is included in Part 2.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 483 Avaliações para o Modelos Regressivos

por Samuel Q

May 28, 2018

Excellent course. The instructor is very knowledgeable and covers the most important aspects of regression models. I found myself relying a lot on the text book; unfortunately it contains a lot of typos but its short and easy to follow. The final course project is very open-ended in the sense that its up to the student to make his/her own analysis of the data. A lot of students complain about it but i thought this was great, as it allowed me to push myself to understand the subject better.

por Do H L

Jun 17, 2016

This course gives a very thorough and rigorous treatment to the topic of regression models.

It teaches you how to derive from the ground, how regression models are made and how to interpret every information available through regression models.

Although the lectures are very lengthy and dry, the course offers a very rich well of information that is not readily available else where.

Thanks to Brian Caffo for the wealth of information about regression models taught through this course!

por Mohammad A

Nov 06, 2018

This course was a great as an intro to regression models, material was good but needs some update on the links, for the structure of topics it would be better if it was more coherent as many topics were covered randomly in different weeks like residuals.

Thanks for the instructor Brian Caffo for the good material and and clarification of concepts for a better understanding for students.

por Jose A R N

Nov 06, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Data Science and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors

por Carlos

Feb 25, 2016

This class, along with "Statistical Inference" and "Machine Language" , are the meat and potato's for data science. I had taken most, if not all of these classes as an undergrad many years ago . The tools for stats have changed significantly and these classes being taught with the open source R language, really put you at the forefront of this new field.

por Roel P

Aug 17, 2016

The level of this course is a lot higher than the other courses. The course contains a lot of material and exercises which makes it hard to finish the course within the time period of one month. Nevertheless did I like Brian's way of teaching. He's a perfectionist and takes his time to explain everything in detail. I really liked the challenge, 5 stars.

por Dale H

May 24, 2018

I felt I had to do a lot of investigation and research into the course topics on my own.... the material is not fed to you spoonful by spoonful. But coming at it this way, I learned a lot. The more effort you invest in this course, the bigger the payoff. The knowledge gained in this course has tremendous value in the data science workplace.

por Kpakpo S M

Jul 26, 2017

Perfect course toward the data science specialization. It gives good understanding and improve my knowledge of inference statistic. I have the opportunity to explore all the plotting concept and apply them in regression models arena.Good to take this course to step in the concept of machine learning.

por Patrick S

May 11, 2020

I definitely had to go beyond the lectures to be able to understand the quiz questions, but that is what I expected. Being 50 years out of school, this has been a great experience for me. I do recommend two books that helped me a lot: The Book of R, and R In Action. Filled in a lot of gaps.

por Eduardo v

Apr 04, 2018

Fantastic course. Brian Caffo is an excellent professor. During my professional life i have worked a lot with regressions, but this course open my mind and gave lots of ideas and different perspectives about that matter. I truly recommend other people to take this course.

por ARVIND K S

May 21, 2020

It was a wonderful course for regression models, the full import of which I realized when I took up the next course on machine learning. The concepts learned here enhanced by confidence to venture into more advanced machine learning. A highly recommended specialization.

por Nirav D

Mar 05, 2016

I loved studying Regression Models taught by Prof. Brian Caffo. I think these are very important techniques that I will be able to use for my research and analysis.

I found the teaching to be very in depth in explaining various aspects of regression model development.

por Sadika H

Jan 15, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I think the toughest for a newbie like me was the second course R programming. But the following courses including this one flow very well and are easy to follow with real life examples. It does get easier after the second course

por Jan K

Aug 02, 2017

As good as it could be given the limited amount of time. I have done some coursework on regression models before, but in my opinion the course could not have shown anything more without delving into technicalities. I would recommend it to anyone interested!

por Francisco J D d S F G

Nov 03, 2016

Love the whole course approach on the importance of linear models and how one should interpret them to get a better grasp of the data one possesses - one should definitely take the statistical inference course before attempting this course beforehand.

por Anuj P

May 23, 2017

Awesome course. Handling a complex topic in a very lucid manner. However, be prepared of finishing in more than 1 class because it will really take time to grasp the concepts especially if you are not from statistical background. Great job Brian.

por Andrew K

Mar 13, 2017

Good foundation in the Data Science Certification for Practical Machine Learning. There are 3 areas that I would like to dig deeper so far: Statistical Inference, Regression Models and Practical Machine Learning (perhaps + Deep Learning).

por Lakshman Y

Jul 18, 2017

This is a fantastic course for new learners of regression models. I have seen so many courses which charges more money but the content and rich knowledge JHU has shared here is great. I highly recommend new people for this course

por Charles W

Nov 27, 2019

If this was an on-campus course, I would have been a little worried about the quiz grades on the 1st try. However, with the ability to re-take this quizzes, I think this was an Excellent and well thought-out course.

por Christian B

May 27, 2017

One of the better classes of the specialization. I found the quizzes quizzes (in particular week 3 and 4) quite challenging. I took the ML class before, which I do not recommend. Take this class before the ML class.

por João F

Feb 06, 2019

Excellent but difficult course. Complex concepts are well presented but it still requires many hours of studying. The topics taught are essential to anyone working or aspiring to work in the field of Data Science.

por Kevin

Jul 08, 2016

Very concise and good structured course. The new videos are much better than the old ones! Thank you Brian Caffo! However in the discussion forum you find less posts than in the previous format, which is a pitty.

por Sai S S

Jul 09, 2017

Thanks much. Good course. Would have loved a tougher final project (eg. using logistic regression). How about adding two variants for all final projects - 1. lots of things to do vs. 2. more technically complex ?

por Marco C

Apr 24, 2018

I studied Regression Models in other courses, but only now I feel I'm in the matter. Thanks to the Instructor for the really good explanation and especially for the ability to convey the passion for Statistics.

por Mikhail M

Sep 11, 2016

Extremely useful and exciting. Everything from previous modules fall in places and you may see some practical implementations from the course. By the way R is awesome!

Many thanks to faculty, you do a great job.