Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à Oratória - Apresentação em Público

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à Oratória - Apresentação em Público da instituição Universidade de Washington

4.8
estrelas
1,599 classificações
535 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course gives you a reliable model for preparing and delivering effective presentations. In business, in school, and in public life, we are often called upon to “make a few comments.” Often, people tasked with such speeches become flummoxed. They might not know what to talk about, or ramble without making a point, or simply be confusing to listen to. This course is designed to help you shine where others falter. We’ll learn how organize talks clearly, write them memorably, and deliver them confidently. By the end of the course, you should be able to significantly reduce your fear of public speaking, use rehearsal techniques to develop a strong, vibrant speaking voice, and perform speeches with dynamic movement and gestures. The speech model that we’ll practice is useful for briefings, elevator talks, interviews, and even as a structure for hour-long presentations. If you’re a beginner, this course will help you quickly master the fundamentals of speaking. If you’re a seasoned speaker, this course will help you better understand public speaking and push you to the next level....

Melhores avaliações

E
27 de Fev de 2017

This course is great. You simply learn a lot in an easy way. The teacher is really good and knows how to teach and engage you in the lessons. I am looking forward to next courses in the specialization

AJ
5 de Jun de 2020

Excellent course for who are starting to speak in public or who are already a public speaker, no matter you join this course to get more tools & ideas to make your speech interesting to the audience.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 534 Avaliações para o Introdução à Oratória - Apresentação em Público

por Tejas N B

7 de Fev de 2020

good for learning

por SHARON C S

1 de Ago de 2020

g

o

o

d

por Brandon W

21 de Out de 2019

I was finished with assignments two weeks in advance with the belief that I could complete the course and receive the certificate early; that is not true. They make you wait until the end, which is very frustrating and inefficient.

por Mariem B

17 de Out de 2017

Hello professor Matt,

I've reviewed the course never really expecting a reply. so your comment really surprised me.

thank you so much for sharing your course online and for all the explanations you've been providing.

I really enjoy it a lot !

I feel that most of the reviews I've gotten weren't really helpful in targetting the problems or the points I need to work on.( just like my review on the course I have realised it following your reply ) . They are mostly just too vague. an example of this is someone rating a 3-4 and just saying you did a good job or evreything is ok. then I can't figure out really what they meant.

another thing that bothred me was someone saying you need to work more on tone. I just wish i could talk to the person a bit more and understand what they mean because i ve watched the video again and again and I can't pinpoint if my tone was too monotoneous or was it because of my high pitched voice ( i m sorry i didn't know how to reply to your comment)

por Meng W

8 de Mai de 2021

It would be better if this course has more assignments and speaking practices.

por Daniel M A

7 de Mar de 2021

The content is very good. I was very satisfied with the material. However, the peer-reviewing experience is not quite good yet. Overall, I had only one nice review, in the sense that the reviewer took time to read/watch my work and give me suggestions to improve. Most of my reviewers were shallow, giving superficial comments that did not add anything. That is very frustrating because I dedicate myself to do a complete review of all works I evaluated. Additionally, it seems that the system is very vulnerable to bots. I had reviews that made no sense at all. I really like the idea of peer-reviewing, and I really believe that it works when it is done right. But for the current state of the Coursera system, it undermined my experience with the course.

por BHOSLE R D

24 de Jan de 2020

good

por Zachary A

15 de Dez de 2019

A bit boring

por hussain a

8 de Mai de 2018

so bad

por Oluwakayode O

25 de Jul de 2020

I didn't know what to expect going into this course but taking a look through the overview made me take a punt. It was great, enjoyable and very insightful and covered a lot of ground for an introduction course. The timings were manageable and focused.

The teachings were clear and concise which made it much easier to learn and complete the assignments. The course had many positives but one of my many takeaways would be that It not only teaches you how to think about (and deliver) your speech, it also touches on how to listen, break-down and decode other speeches from a listeners perspective.

I fully recommend to anyone who is thinking of taking this course to do it, I found it very useful and it's a skill I'll be practicing and fine-tuning for a long time. You won't be dissapointed!

por Diego M

12 de Fev de 2021

I loved the course. The content was high quality. The videos and materials were concise, clear, and effective. The assignments were similarly great with creative and analytical questions. The discussion forums available are good, but they can be improved. The only aspects that I didn't like were: There were no enough short quizzes to test yourself in the videos like other courses, some quizzes were too short, people did not give much valuable feedback in peer reviews, and the speech assignments were not very focused on the implementation of the knowledge (practicality) as I would have liked. Anyways, it was awesome; strongly recommended for developing communication skills.

por Jennifer D

10 de Ago de 2017

A really big thank you to Dr. Matt McGarrity! This was a very interesting, very informative and very enjoyable course. I wasn't sure what to expect so it was a pleasant surprise to find it so useful and at the same time fun. I have already recommended it to several people (likely many more). It is well worth the time and probably not just for public speaking; I think it is valuable on even a basic communication level. For me, I sought out this course to try to help myself tackle speaking apprehension and I think I struck gold in finding a course that did that and so much more. Do not hesitate to do this!!

por Jaya

26 de Mai de 2020

I am fortunate to get trained by excellent trainer Dr. Matt McGarrity. Earlier I was not able to follow his too fast speech but later on ai started enjoying his pace and intonation. His sense of humour made all the session so interesting that I watched many videos twice or thrice. I would love to join another cours under his mentorship. This is one of best courses I ever attended on public speaking. The quality of content and references are unparalleled. I will recommend everyone mu students, my colleagues and to my friends to join this course. Thank you excellent training session and course material.

por Akin A

14 de Mai de 2020

I really liked this course - this is one of the best that I have taken. The content and lectures were brilliant. The quizzes and assignments were also really well thought out too. Having to write, prepare and deliver speeches really pushed you to improve.

The only slightly disappointment was that some of the peer reviews are abit weak. I felt that in the first few weeks of the course I received good constructive feedback. Near the end of the course I would only get feedback like "good" or "adequate", which isn't very helpful.

Nonetheless, this is a fantastic course and one that I thoroughly recommend.

por Ginamarie Z C

21 de Dez de 2020

Professor McGarrity demonstrated great energy and I really enjoyed his use of humor throughout the course. The course materials are some of the best I have seen...easy to follow, comprehensive, smaller video segments to keep the viewer engaged. Summaries were helpful in preparing for the quizzes. Lots of optional pieces and definitely worth completing for the full experience. I look forward to putting into practice the skills I learned from this course. Definitely recommend this course if you are aspiring to be a better public speaker or just interested in public speaking.

por Oscar C

11 de Ago de 2017

Throughout all of high school, I attacked public speaking class as an unnecessary class, but I did so because I actually feared it a bit. However, this course, after being a bit hesitant to take it at first, was incredible. Although it was only an introduction to public speaking, it gave me valuable insight into what it really is and practical skills that I put to use immediately (I noticed results instantly in the way people listened to me). I plan on taking the rest of the courses that come after this one!

por GLADSON V C

27 de Ago de 2020

The course is very helpful for all of us that have no idea of how to speak in front of the public. Very useful technics and well taught by the professor in order to strategically speak and organize not only the speech itself but also other activities. My deep thankfulness to Professor Matt McGarrity, to the University of Washington and of course to Coursera for this MOOC and for allowing us to learn by this way. Now I'm engaged with the topic and I'm sure I'm going to take the other courses related to.

por BHANU S K

23 de Mai de 2020

A long hand salute to the Professor.Dr. Matt Mcgarrity for just training me in Public speaking and its essential canons like Invention, Arrangement, Style and Delivery .This course made me evaluate where i am doing wrong since years in most of my speeches and debates. Peer graded assignments were really helpful and hard to evaluate and mark some of the really good fellow orators around the world. Thank you University of Washington. Eternal Sagacious Learner - Bhanu Siva Krishna

por Padmeswar D

7 de Jul de 2020

To be very honest, my experience in this course was highly enriching. Professor Matt McGarrity is simply great to listen to. Looking forward to do few more courses in future for Public Speaking under him. The only thing I think I should reveal is that the feedback from the peers mayn't be that great; so, whoever joins this course need not feel disheartened on receiving an unanticipated feedback. Therefore,tiding over peer group reviews are exciting as well as challenging.

por Caroline N W

16 de Abr de 2021

This is a very informative and leadership role preparation Course. I am advantaged as a Trainer in my Profession to have had a chance to be in this class. Special thanks to Dr. Matt McGarrity for taking us through the Course. You are passionate and talented in your role and I have learned most of my Public Speaking Skills from your presentation and delivery style. I highly recommend this Course for personalities, who want to deliver their content with professionalism.

por Хегай М В

8 de Mar de 2021

Very nice course in order to get the basic knowledge of public speaking. There is the right amount of materials, presented by a quite knowlegeable lecturer, which make the course vibrant, possible to accomplish while working or studying at the same time. Besides that, you not only get theoretic knowledge on the topic but you can also see the example videos and grade them along with getting ready to present your own key point speech. Thank you!

por Juan D R G

9 de Jul de 2020

Very good course. In my case, I never took a course in PS before, neither in high school nor in university, so this was a great chance to learn about it. I learned very good things about the KeyPoint speech, that I consider very helpful when preparing a speech. The professor also provides us with tips on how to deliver the speech, how to use gestures, breath control, and so on. The peer-reviewed assignments are also helpful!

por KAVYA M

24 de Ago de 2020

A great great start for public speaking! I never thought public speaking has so many elements. Learning about each element really made me self-aware of how to avoid certain mistakes. Analyzing others speech also really gave great insights. And the professor Matt Sir, he is amazing! So lively and also sometimes funny. Overall a course you should definitely take if you want to do public speaking. Here, you learn by doing :)

por Himanshu S

26 de Mai de 2020

I would totally recommend this course to anyone who even slightly feel like he or she wants to public speak. I am glad I took this course and Professor Matt is just amazing , he has become my idol now in many ways and I would take more of his MOOCs which are offered on Coursera.Also the structure of this course is pretty nice and easy to follow along.I am anyone would enjoy this course and its assignments and quizzes.

por Ru A C

27 de Abr de 2020

The course provides basic tips on improving public speaking abilities. I think the best part of the course design was that it had the right amount of concepts and weekly syllable build up to actually make sure you remember and can apply the material practically (assuming you participate in the lessons and assignments). Instructor is great. Would recommend to anyone looking to improve their public speaking abilities.