Chevron Left
Voltar para Seeing Through Photographs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Seeing Through Photographs da instituição Museu de Arte ModernaMuseu de Arte Moderna

4.8
estrelas
2,331 classificações
575 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Melhores avaliações

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Seeing Through Photographs

por Francesca S

Dec 08, 2017

Thanks to a great institution like Moma, everyone in the world can have access at a wide range of material and contents about photography. This is a real museum for me: an institution that gives the possibility to everybody to have access to culture, using the most innovative ways to reach the biggest number of people which is possible and to create high quality contents.

THANK YOU MOMA!

por Suraya b M Y

Jun 04, 2017

I really learnt a lot from this course. They are so generous with the learning materials, it's impossible not to gain great insight into the history of photography. it is rather centred on Western and American photography, but this is from MoMA and they have their speciality. Would be great if they expanded to include the trajectory of photography in Asia and the Middle East.

por Тамеля М Ю

Sep 05, 2019

Отличный курс для расширения кругозора относительно фотографии. Я считаю такие общеобразовательные курсы весьма полезными, поскольку фотография не ограничивается объективом, фотоаппаратом и ракурсом, в фотографии большое значение имеет умение фотографа закладывать и передавать идеи своему зрителю. Поэтому всем людям, серьезно относящимся к фотографии, рекомендую данный курс.

por Steve M W

Aug 06, 2019

This is an amazing class that presents an excellent overview of photography and how it relates to the human condition. There are various photographers whose work is examined and critiqued.

As someone who has not done much photography lately, it has rekindled the photography spark within and I am looking forward to further improving my work as a photographer.

por Mike R

Apr 13, 2016

Very in depth, but accessible. Well put together. I learned a TON from this course, and have recommended it to anyone interested in photography. It doesn't deal much with the technical aspects of how to take great photos, but it puts photography into perspective, and relates it to its position in the world, culture, technology, history, and, of course, Art.

por Olesia V

Feb 12, 2018

It is a wonderful course for those who want to acquire or to deepen their knowledges in the field of photography, especially in the theoretical part of it, like the history of the art, different artists and their practices, some tendencies in photography from the time it was invented till our days and various ideas that emerge in the contemporary visual art.

por Hem P

Oct 01, 2017

A proper photographs has power to explain the time, emotions and it can touch lot of souls. I personally learned a lot of things about why humans started photography and how it has evolved over time, also about its importance in modern society. I am thankful for the team who developed this course. I believe it has changed the way I used to see photographs.

por Ángel M G

Jan 16, 2020

Muy interesante porque te hace reflexionar sobre la fotografía desde el punto de vista de una institución tan importante como es el MoMa. Lo recomiendo por la cantidad de información y material de consulta difícil de conseguir en otros países. Deseando volver a la ciudad e ir al museo para conocer en primera persona sobre lo aprendido en el curso.

por Michela M

Apr 11, 2017

magnificently detailed course, of great interest, with a vast archive and detailed and specific material for every section, with interesting interviews of experts. the course has widened my horizons and has enriched my knowledge with invaluable help thank to the great work of the curator too, for all this I'm very grateful both to Moma and Coursera

por Adrienna M O

Sep 05, 2018

Although I did not chose to purchase the course, and therefore did not do the peer review projects, I found this to be a very rewarding course. It is very informative and I find that it has changed my perspectives when viewing photography. I plan to take other courses from MoMa- either auditing or purchasing I think these courses are valuable.

por Mikhail E

Aug 20, 2018

It is a course about history of American photography. I really like the course structure and its content. Videos have subtitles in different languages. However, the biggest part of the course consists of multiple hard-to-read art criticism essays written in English, so international attendees could spend more time on this course than expected.

por Rita H

Feb 10, 2018

For a commercial not so young photographer, this course was so interesting, refreshing and the lectures provided me a wonderful structure. The content was just perfect to understand in a short time the most important perspectives, (historical and contemporary) about photography. Thanks MOMA what would photographers would be without you!.

por Maria I P

Sep 17, 2017

This is a seriously interesting course. It includes a wide range of perspectives and practices in photography with a manageable coursework, and at the same time gives a wealth of information to anyone interested to get to know more about a given module or artist. If MoMA decides to offer any other similar courses, please count me in!

por Matteo T

Apr 30, 2016

Great content and very useful material. Lessons are prepared in a very professional way. It probably misses some analysis of the preparation work the mentioned photographers did for their collections/books. It's more based on critics and MoMA history and connections with differents genres and movements within documentary photography.

por Monique W

Mar 20, 2017

This class was an excellent overview of photography. I also was able to learn about new photographers. I've taken a history of photography course before and other art courses where photography was reviewed so I was happy to see that the course still allowed me to learn something different. I highly recommend this course.

por André C

Feb 12, 2017

Ce cours est très complet, les supports sont variés et intéressants sans être trop lourds. L'organisation est bien pensée, avec quelques heures par semaine il est possible de le suivre sans trop de problèmes. J'ai beaucoup appris sur les débuts de la photographie et également sur le travail de divers photographes.

por Emilia

May 15, 2018

I've only done just 2 weeks of this course but I am totally falling in love with It.

I am not that photography master, it's just one random passion I have between many, but thanks to the pictures shown and the detailade but not hard to understand knowlege I am starting to be even more passionate about Photography.

por Elizabeth C

Feb 06, 2017

I developed a deeper understanding of the role of photography from this course. From the first lesson I was hooked. It has ample examples of all different types of photography and how they have influence society. I found the interviews with the photographers to be enlightening. Highly recommend this course.

por Mridul K G

Feb 27, 2016

I learned a lot from the course on how to make develop your idea & sense as an Artist/ Humanitarian. I can see the world through a viewfinder for the love of light! This course is ever well structured. Guys , 'Seeing Through Photographs' is great photographic course for Activist/Visual Art lover.

Thank You.

por Andy P

Apr 03, 2016

An extremely well organised, informative and educational course, with excellent materials including book extracts, web links and videos. A lot of time and effort has gone into making this course and it clearly shows. 'Seeing Through Photographs' is a must for anyone who is serious about photography.

por Emile C

Oct 18, 2018

This course is great if you interested in the history of photography. It looks at the past so you know why photography is the way it is today. Whether you enjoy taking pictures or just looking at photographs. This course breaks it down indepth so you can anaylize photographs on a day-to-day basis.

por Filipe C

Jun 01, 2017

Eu achei o curso super interessante. Há 10 anos já venho estudando fotografia, desde a técnica, como sua história. Fiz mestrado na área e mesmo assim havia muitas informações novas para mim. Recomendo muito este curso, principalmente para aqueles que tem a fotografia como meio de ganhar a vida.

por Ivone R d F

Jan 09, 2018

The course offers knowledge about photography and its history, classes are carefully prepared and in order to facilitate understanding. The questions were clear, instructive and of good quality.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this course, my expectation has been reached.

por Cíntia A

Nov 14, 2017

The course is great. I am not expert about photograph just a fan of it but with this course I learnt a lot about the history of photograph and about the artists as well. Deffinitily if I could have a chance to attend a second module of this course I would do it. Thanks MoMA and Coursera.

por Fernando A

Nov 03, 2019

Gran curso, el contenido es bastante moderno en su presentaciòn. Las referencias amplias con bastantes entrevistas personalizados de los artistas nombrados a traves de cada semana. El curso tambien ofrece la posibilidad de discutir en grupo y de dar su propio trabajo al final de este.