Chevron Left
Voltar para Particle Physics: an Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Particle Physics: an Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.4
estrelas
719 classificações
217 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Melhores avaliações

VL
26 de Mar de 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
4 de Ago de 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 216 Avaliações para o Particle Physics: an Introduction

por Muhammad N M

9 de Mai de 2020

I really enjoyed every video along the way, and really thankful for all who contributed to create this magnificent course, which is obvious the amount of effort, time and dedication to make it wonderful like that.

Thank you all

por p v k

3 de Abr de 2019

extremely difficult subject to explain and put across, but the professors have done remarkably well in making the course concise, effective and interesting.

Heartfelt thanks to the team at University of Geneva.

por Cristian S

14 de Out de 2019

Muy buen material, se ha de reforzar las presentaciones con material externo ya que algunas preguntas de los quizzes son bastante puntuales o especificas.

No estaría mal incluir mayor cantidad de ejercicios.

por Shibaji M

27 de Out de 2017

Excellent course for an advanced undergraduate level introduction to particle physics phenomenology. This course can be supplemented with a standard text to get a good understanding of particle physics.

por Viduranga L

27 de Mar de 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.

Thank you for the great course!

por João M C d A

29 de Ago de 2020

Great course overall. The professors give very precious insight into the world of particle physics. The level of mathematics involved is quite high, but also managable with some effort.

por Michael C

12 de Abr de 2020

It is an extremely informative and enjoyable way to pass my time during the quarantine. I highly recommend it, even to those, who had a similar course in the university like me.

por Rachid M

24 de Jun de 2020

Great course to understand how subatomic particles works. There is a bit of maths, but you do not need to understand every equation to grasp the key message. Thanks a lot !

por radha k m v

26 de Mai de 2020

I have learned a lot of knowledge about elementary particles. Thank you very much to team of professors, university of Geneva and Coursera.

VELURI NV RADHA KRISHNA MURTY

por Alex G

30 de Mai de 2019

This was a very fun and interesting course. This course can be very confusing at times but the instructors do explain things very well and in an easy to understand way.

por 李宁

22 de Out de 2017

这是一个非常好的课程,使我对于粒子物理有了更加深刻的认识,Thank you, greeting from China, I very want to visit CERN, but I do not have enough money and time, I can not reach but I wish,虽不能至,心向往之

por Daniel N G

26 de Mai de 2019

I loved it. High level and very well explained.

Nevertheless, two weeks are hihgly charged compared with others, I think spreading some of the content would be great.

por Vishesh V

16 de Jun de 2020

Being my first course on the domain of prime interest to me, I enjoyed each module as they were both diverse and still play a unique part of the subject as a whole.

por James H

8 de Mai de 2020

Extremely interesting course, but you will need to be ready to persevere with the mathematics if you do not at least have an A level understanding of physics/maths

por Mohamed S A

14 de Jul de 2020

This course, in general, it might be considered as a very useful preliminary step to know the basic notions of both theoretical and experimental particle physics.

por Carlos I S

21 de Jan de 2020

Is an absolute great course if you love physics and want to know more about relativity, some quantum basic and advanced stuff, also the teachers are very nice.

por SAI P

28 de Mai de 2020

The course provided me a great oppurtunity to learn many aspects about Physics laws. Thanks for the instructors for providing me this valuable oppurtunity.

por Andres G P T

28 de Mar de 2021

It was a great course I have learned many things about particles physics, I hope to used these concept in my field, thank you so much dear professors !

por E.V.Phaninder

13 de Ago de 2017

excellent course i foresee further courses regarding this subject in coursera and i really like doing successive courses from university of the Geneva

por narasimha s a

14 de Jul de 2020

My conceptual understanding has improved a lot after taking this wonderful introductory course. I recommend my students to take this course.

por Shankaranarayanan G

5 de Set de 2017

Gave a good outline of particle physics. I am still fuzzy about many aspects and would like to redo the course. How do I restart a course?

por Kumaresh A

31 de Mai de 2020

It's really upgrade my knowledge on Particle Physics.

The way of teaching was excellent. My hearty thanks to both the professor's.

por Sarojchoudhary

14 de Jun de 2020

a very good platform for making a good intrest in this field and also gainig good knowledge.

thank you so much to all team.

por Girinath

27 de Ago de 2020

Amazing Course even for an Undergraduate only you would have to use a textbook and know quantum mechanics and reativity .

por Pawan B

18 de Mar de 2021

I feel the course is fundamental part of Particle Physics. Very happily and wisely invested time and worth of learning.