Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus da instituição Imperial College London

4.7
estrelas
4,029 classificações
715 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Melhores avaliações

DP

Nov 26, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

JT

Nov 13, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 715 Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por minsq n

Apr 10, 2020

Great course, and i'm able to use these concepts more intuitively and confidently. The last 2 weeks were not as clear and a bit of a rush, but the rest was great!!

por Fadillah A M

Aug 01, 2020

This is a great course! The materials covered in this course are explained very very simply and profoundly. However, several terms are not explained in detail.

por James D

May 16, 2020

A very fast-paced course that managed to make light work of some seriously heavy maths, although it was still very challenging. Overall, it was a lot of fun!

por Andi S R

Mar 01, 2020

It was a difficult topic, but it is satisfactory to understand the foundations behind the Gradient Descent algorithm. I am very satisfied with this course.

por Ashish P

Oct 15, 2020

Amazing course! I wonder how instructors can teach so much in a very short span of time. Concise and succinct! Thank you so much Coursera. I am so happy.

por 郝亚洲(Yazhou H

Jul 17, 2018

Nice course for those want to learn machine learning. I think if there is more rigorous content such as more advanced reading materials would be better!

por Cyprien P

Jul 08, 2020

Excellent walk-through, good pace and good content. I've particularly enjoyed the Python notebooks experience, it really helps developing the instinct.

por Khandakar A H

Jul 02, 2019

This course was amazing for me . I've learnt both the use of calculus and coding with it . now I can better understand mathematical tools and it's use.

por Tse-Yu L

Mar 12, 2018

Review course for multivariate calculus and basic optimization method used for curve fitting. Suggest to provide more hint for programming assignment.

por Arunish S

Jul 27, 2019

The best calculus lectures so far. It really helps you o dive into the concepts of calculus used in machine learning and covers every core concepts .

por Dr. S R J K

Jul 18, 2020

A very good course to understand the role of Calculus in various fields. Concepts were explained in a precise manner with interesting illustrations.

por Sailesh N

Oct 16, 2019

I had very good experience learning this course. I have learnt the real life application of calculus. The explanation of each videos was very good.

por Yana K

Apr 11, 2019

Great course, very good introduction into calculus for ML. Great explanation of neural networks and math used for them. A bit tricky last 2 weeks.

por Saurav B

Nov 25, 2018

An intuitive introduction to multivariate calculus and its applications in Machine Learning - the perfect course for a budding computer scientist.

por Max B

Apr 20, 2020

I benefitted a lot from this course. I liked the fast pace and feel that I understand the math behind the machine learning algorithms better now.

por Mohamed R

Sep 10, 2018

one of the best courses I have ever had.

thanks to instractors and Imperial College London

thanks so much for that specilization it helped me alot

por Aaron B

Jun 10, 2018

Excellent class! I feel like I finally understand calculus after all the rote memorization I had in my high school and college calculus courses.

por Shaiman S

Apr 28, 2020

Mr. Sam Cooer and Mr. David dye made things very simple to learn. However, inclusion of some more numerical methods can make this course ideal!

por BALAJI R

Jun 10, 2019

That's some excellent course to take for! Awesome explanations for the concepts and I strongly recommend khan academy for further explanations.

por Mark J T

Jan 25, 2020

The course is a very concise and excellent introduction to the calculus necessary. It answers a lot of questions with respect to optimization.

por Phạm N M H

May 23, 2019

This is one of three course in Mathematics for ML, it'll give you intuition for understand the true meaning of ML/DL/AI , it's all about math

por Amartya M

Aug 30, 2020

Quite a good overview int the concepts. Lucid explanation and good quizzes. Would recommend Khan Academy Multivariate calculus on top of it

por Julio G

Apr 13, 2020

Great introduction into optimisation. Looking forward to continuing with the 3rd course. Thanks Imperial College for having this available.

por Roshan B

Jul 23, 2019

An excellent review course for those who had not used calculus for a while. The derivation of the back propagation algorithm was excellent!

por Gopalan O

Aug 18, 2019

Excellent course on multivariate calculus and application of calculus in Machine Learning. Loved the assignments and the programming ones.