Chevron Left
Voltar para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus da instituição Imperial College London

4.7
estrelas
4,874 classificações
870 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Melhores avaliações

DP
25 de Nov de 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

SS
3 de Ago de 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filtrar por:

726 — 750 de 873 Avaliações para o Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por Satpal S R

30 de Jan de 2019

This was a great course for learning multivariate calculus required for Machine Learning. I am thankful to the creators of this awesome course.

por Angelo S d O

5 de Dez de 2018

Nice refresher! Excellent instructors! Not recommended as a first Multivariate Calculus course though. I would go for MIT OpenCourseware first.

por Viacheslav P

23 de Ago de 2019

Good course, but some things seem to be not well discussed and explained, I had to refer to another resources to understand what's going on.

por Patrick F

1 de Fev de 2019

Really good course, would recommend! 4 Stars, because there is no written transcript with the Formula and examples in the videos available.

por Valentinos P

25 de Ago de 2019

A very nice course that builds your intuition in Multivariate Calculus and also introduces you to some basic consepts in machine learning.

por Aman A

12 de Out de 2019

This was a very succinct and comprehensive course and at times I felt a bit fast paced and consequently the assignments harder to solve

por Vikram N

13 de Mai de 2020

Good course. Clarity of content in the last two weeks (i.e. weeks 5 and 6) can be improved. Overall a fantastic learning experience.

por Rachel Z

6 de Mar de 2021

Excellent course overall. I really enjoyed the sessions taught by Sam Cooper. He explains concepts very clearly...great teacher.

por Prashant D

16 de Fev de 2019

Good course. The lecturer uses a number of illustrations and has a nice easy style to explain the key ideas. Overall enjoyable

por Mason C

21 de Set de 2021

Great overall, but some of the teaching falls short of clarity, too much hand waving, and programming exercises can be obtuse.

por Kailash Y

1 de Jul de 2020

This is a nice course for beginners, as it relies on intuition for the explanation. Also, this has very interesting exercises.

por Leong H

13 de Mai de 2020

it is pretty good for week1 to week4, but week5 and week6 are too complicated, I think the course should explain more details.

por Sachitha V S

28 de Out de 2020

course was great and interesting however some topics were need to explain more thoroughly little bit difficult to understand

por Stanislav B

21 de Abr de 2021

Can be hard in some parts. But it's not instructors fault as they had to put a lot of material into relatively short course

por Daniel P

22 de Ago de 2018

Interestin to refresh notions you already learned. Probably a bit difficult if you're totally new to multivariate calculus

por Wendy N

13 de Mai de 2020

Sometimes I need more explanation, I needed to find another resources to clarify what I haven't understood at that time.

por Chika

9 de Jul de 2019

Feedback on assessment could be improved, and there could be more practice questions relevant to the final assessments

por Jose V R

4 de Jun de 2018

I think I've improve my understanding of mathematics for ML, mainly, I've understand much better the concepts involved

por thedoctor

4 de Mai de 2021

More focus on concrete data centric machine learning instead of abstract function definitions would have been helpful

por Arun I

2 de Mar de 2019

Good course to understand the basic mathematics terms and a refresher for high school math with some technical terms.

por ADITYA K

12 de Mai de 2020

It is a beautifully designed course to get knowledge of how to apply various types of calculus to machine learning.

por Adam N

12 de Nov de 2018

Very nice and concise, definitely review normal calculus and look up materials to get the most out of this course.

por Mohammad A K

6 de Jul de 2020

good math course for learning derivatives, there could have been a better way to summarize and explain the course

por Rachel P

28 de Mai de 2020

An amazing course for beginners in Machine learning and brushing up your Mathematics skills at the same time.

por Manan S

29 de Mai de 2021

more on optimization techniques like in-depth concepts of gradient descent would have helped, rest was great