Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,250 classificações
849 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 840 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Deleted A

1 de Out de 2019

Very interisting course to understand the roadmap of politics. This course can be taken by any person, even if you are not interested in politics.

por Konstantinos Z

11 de Dez de 2017

I have studied dozens of courses from engineering and physical sciences to economics and finance. This was one of the most interesting and insig

por Marllon S

18 de Out de 2015

Excellent course provided by Yale University. It helped me to better understand the foundations of our modern society. I definitely recommend it.

por Helen S

30 de Dez de 2020

Excellent course; professor adds to the material with insights that are making me reassess some long held prejudices. Thank you, Prof Shapiro.

por Sylvestre N

18 de Jan de 2020

This program frankly is great. It will allow me to understand how moral foundation of Politics works and will strengthen my politics knowledge.

por Karolina M d O

9 de Nov de 2020

um curso muito bom para quem tem interesse em política, saber a teoria e os clássicos é essencial para adentrar no ambiente de estudo político

por Juan P C S

8 de Set de 2019

me parecio exelente el curso debido a que pude obtener un enfoque mucho mas amplio sobre la filosofia politica de la que tenia. muchas gracias

por poka c

9 de Ago de 2017

has lots of interesting views and argument. He provided discussion and examples to demonstrate the intangible theory to be easily understood.

por Jessical C

5 de Jul de 2020

I think this Course is amazing, I have learnt so much and the Professor was very clear and interactive during the classes. very enjoyable.

por Sandini S

13 de Jul de 2017

I didn't really know what to expect, but this course has been very interesting and ideal for anyone considering studying PPE at university

por Abdul R s I S

4 de Set de 2020

It was an enjoyable learning experience. I have embraced new concepts and ideas which I can utilize to explain issues in politics better.

por Henry J A T

8 de Fev de 2016

What a wonderful teacher, and also a great performance from the students. Office Hours is one of the several highlights of this course.

por Hao Z

16 de Nov de 2015

This course is both rewarding and a bit challenging. Strongly recommended for anyone interested in political issues and moral philosophy.

por Emil K

27 de Jan de 2021

Useful course for political and economic thinking. Good supplement for Business Administration, Economics or Political Science students.

por MARELEN S P D L R

18 de Ago de 2020

A passionate presentation of the moral foundations of politics. Highly enjoyable and remarkably well presented by the professor Shapiro.

por Vilmos F

30 de Jun de 2020

This course made me understand the general political philosophies better. Prof. Shapiro explained all of the course's topics very well.

por Carlos F C J

12 de Fev de 2016

Ótimo curso, o melhor do tema que já tive conhecimento, vou tentar completá-lo pela segunda vez. Parabéns professor, e muito obrigado!

por NALIN M

30 de Set de 2020

The Professor, course content and course structure are all absolutely brilliant. I would highly recommend this to everyone out there!

por Timothy B

8 de Nov de 2020

Very engaging and entertaining professor. Reasonable and well-thought introductions to the various systems outlined in the syllabus.

por Neringa B

4 de Jun de 2017

Great course, lively presentation, interesting ideas and one afterthought of mine: " Existential knowledge cannot be monopolised ".

por daren a

27 de Nov de 2015

It is a wonderful course and the professor is excellent.

I really learn too much and I hope to take another course about this topic

por Leila A

16 de Out de 2016

A very systematic and comprehensive course. Thank you for the new insights into the moral underpinnings of contemporary politics.

por Skirmante Z

22 de Jan de 2020

Outstanding and very informative course, touching fundamental questions that every politician or research should ask. Well done!

por Felipe I C A

19 de Jun de 2020

Un muy buen curso, que me entregó herramientas y argumentos muy importantes en cuanto a los fundamentos morales de la política.

por Manuel V

21 de Fev de 2019

Excelente curso que analiza en profundidad grandes temas relacionadas con la política y el pensar filosófico de algunos autores