Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
1,576 classificações
318 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Bhupendra S R

Mar 14, 2019

good course

por Gabriella F

Mar 18, 2019

This is such an interesting and useful course! It presents many possible paths to explore political philosophy and increase knowledge in the field. I am glad I had the chance to take it.

por shri r

Mar 07, 2019

Good

por Dante E L V

Mar 18, 2019

Good

por Petra P

Dec 16, 2018

An excellent course. The lecturer was engaging, the course was well-paced and well-structured. Excellent readings, and useful revision quizzes. Highly recommended.

por Jose C

Mar 22, 2019

Preeeeeetty good

por Jeffrey H

Aug 03, 2018

Great and challenging course. Will provide you an introduction to the tools to analyze political systems.

por Medha S

Aug 10, 2018

Dr. Shapiro offers a bright clarity and a sobering view of the world, and its conundrums. I'm well into Week 2 so far, but going through the readings, the arrangement and structure of texts, the promise of enlarging our philosophical knowledge, has brought an intensity and energy into this course, and is thrilling to say the least.

por Arnaldo M

Aug 15, 2018

the clarity with which the teacher explains the topics makes the course engaging and very interesting!

por Cynthia M

Sep 08, 2018

Helpful grounding in politics and philosophy, especially relevant in these chaotic times.

por Yash A P

Oct 15, 2018

An excellent course which enthralled me to say the least .

por Gustavo C

Sep 17, 2018

Curso impartido por Coursera conjuntamente con una de las casas de estudio más reconocidas del mundo: Yale University. Excelente oportunidad introductoria para conocer y aprender sobre los principales exponentes de la teoría política occidental (Ilustración: Utilitarismo, Marxismo y el Contrato social/ Anti-ilustración/ Democracia), desde el renacimiento hasta la actualidad. En un formato accesible, amigable y de suma flexibilidad, profesor Ian Shapiro nos enseña a través de material audiovisual y diversas lecturas los alcances teóricos, así como las implicancias actuales de estas corrientes políticas sobre algunos de los principales desafíos que deben enfrentar las sociedades contemporáneas.

por Rodrigo O

Sep 18, 2018

impressive

por Nuurrianti J

Sep 17, 2018

Learned a lot from Prof Shapiro. Thanks for the lectures!

por David E M

Sep 23, 2018

Excelente curso, muy completo

por Shah F

Sep 27, 2018

The introduction was great! His pronunciation and method of teaching is matchless. I hope to learn a lot in the coming weeks

por Sachin K

Oct 05, 2018

Good for people who want to under stand about various theory around human rights since the time we were born. Are we really independent? The only independence with us is our life. We cannot control our birth but death is always in our hand. Explore many theories about human independence, french revolution, marxism, democracy, etc.

por Melissa P

Aug 15, 2018

Loved this course. A great introduction to philosophy of politics.

por Dominique D

Jul 12, 2018

This course was the most challenging and rewarding course that I have taken on the Coursera platform!

por Miroslav P C

Jan 25, 2017

Es un curso excelente para familiarizarse con distintos temas concernientes a la teoría política y sus fundamentos filosóficos. Entregan contenido con el que uno puede tener las bases para entender distintos debates o asuntos de interés.

por Diane N

Oct 01, 2015

So far this is a fascinating subject. I know nothing about politics and only have undergraduate work and I love this class. Anyone interested in politics, even with the lack of knowledge I had should take this course. Thank you Yale University and Coursera

por Choi J

Apr 23, 2016

perfect lectures of Politics ^^

por Julia C

Oct 16, 2015

Just great.

por Ronnie P

Jan 24, 2016

Very interesting, clearly presented, a definite eye opener.

por Qianhui S

Mar 06, 2016

My favourite course ever!