Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,395 classificações
870 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de 862 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Alan E

6 de Ago de 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.

por Kenroya C B

3 de Jan de 2021

With thanks and highest gratitude for the basic Moral understanding and foundations of decisions making.

por Bryan S Q M

12 de Nov de 2020

It was a great course. Recommended for people who are into political philosophy and politics in general.

por Ankita P

20 de Set de 2020

Totally loved the course. Thank you for this amazing 8 weeks. So grateful to have completed this course.

por Paul C

25 de Fev de 2021

A wonderful course, mainly because of the deep knowledge of Professor Shapiro that he wears so lightly!

por Apoorva S

24 de Fev de 2021

I found the course very interesting. The real life examples helped me understand the principles easily.

por Ilaha Y

27 de Jul de 2020

In addition to being instructive, the course was more effective with the materials it shared. Thank you

por Andres

8 de Jun de 2020

Amazing path that collects elements from different traditions and joining them to a wonderful final !!!

por Wong Z X

30 de Out de 2020

Rather content heavy yet enjoyable module. Learnt a lot of different perspective and argument pointers

por Regene L

16 de Jun de 2020

This course was detailed without being draggy and was easy to follow even for a politics noob like me.

por Arnaldo M

15 de Ago de 2018

the clarity with which the teacher explains the topics makes the course engaging and very interesting!

por Bruna C

6 de Dez de 2015

Lessons are very objective, while explanations are made clear by useful and easy to remember examples.

por Harry J

2 de Abr de 2021

An excellent review of the questions posed by society, and the proposed solutions over the centuries.

por Onyekwelu-Udoka T O

25 de Jun de 2020

I learnt soooo many things

The course was sooo interesting and less boring made me want to learn more

por Özgün K

3 de Mar de 2020

It was a course where I got new information. The course was helped to me for my educational in Turkey

por Dominique D

12 de Jul de 2018

This course was the most challenging and rewarding course that I have taken on the Coursera platform!

por Akash B

2 de Ago de 2020

Even being a graduate student in political science, this course has been so engaging and insightful.

por Carolina O G

6 de Jul de 2020

Really great course to get a better understanding of political/social/economical theories/doctrines.

por Julieta I O J

24 de Jul de 2020

Loved it, very interesting and it really gets you to think about society, past, present and future.

por Kayla S

14 de Jun de 2020

Amazing course. The lectures were so engaging and helped make connections with contemporary events.

por Lori C

7 de Set de 2016

Wonderfully structures course, questions pose critical thinking that applies outside of coursework.

por Melissa M Q

2 de Jul de 2020

Excelente. Lo super recomiendo. Muy buena traducción al español. El profesor es el mejor. Gracias.

por James M

6 de Jan de 2021

Supercritical it makes you think of the evolution of our modern politics from moral perspectives

por Adam B

7 de Mai de 2020

A great introduction to key political theories delivered in a relaxed and easy to follow manner.

por MUNYABUGINGO I

15 de Jul de 2020

Every country should found it politic on morality of its people in order to get a general will.