Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
estrelas
9,360 classificações
2,719 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

EC

Aug 27, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

LV

May 01, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filtrar por:

2426 — 2450 de 2,704 Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por fabrizio f

Jul 26, 2017

The course is interesting, well organized and always clear both in the content and in how it is explained.

I found very interesting hints about career planning, and about emotional aspects in changing job/company/mansion.

In some part, in my opinion, there are some repetition of the "Learning how to learn" course.

por Wajeeh A

Dec 27, 2018

This was a very refreshing and innovative course. It opened parts of my mind which I didn't even know existed! I'm very fortunate that I could learn from Professor Barbara! The whole course in itself raised my optimism levels generally and I can't wait to start applying this newly gained knowledge in practical world!

por Yohannes R H

Jun 23, 2020

This is a good course. It gives you a lot of information about how you can change. One interesting point is that our "weakness" sometimes could be our assets we don't realize. There are many aspects you can try that you thing suit you best. Hopefully I could use one for myself as I just completed the course.

por Micheila

Dec 29, 2017

Nicely ties in with ideas, concepts, and lessons from Learning How to Learn. Frames the constantly changing world as a positive. Since change is the only constant, we might as well embrace it as an opportunity to broaden our passions, discover new skills, keep the brain young, and keep work life interesting.

por Margaux C

Sep 19, 2017

Loved this class. Some important things I learned were to broaden my passions instead of following only one, reading books outside of my field will enrich my main focus by giving me a new perspective in my field, and our minds will continue to be sharp and fresh as long as we learn something new everyday.

por RM

Jun 02, 2017

Great course. Lots of good ideas for overcoming obstacles to learning. Should be mandatory for college and graduate students, entry-level professionals and senior professionals. I enjoyed listening to and watch Barb. She does a great job of making seemingly unremarkable content interesting. Bravo!

por Jason K

May 09, 2020

I enjoyed doing this course and you can tell the improvement in the quality since LHTL, which I also enjoyed. Barb is always great and explains concepts clearly. I Think Terry has improved a lot since LHTL which is great to see. Content was good and everything connected together well. Thank you!

por Lucia J

Sep 03, 2020

In fact I have expected a bit more practical side of the mind shift and this was too theoretical. I knew about half of the presented material so not so mindshifting but I can see how it can help other people that are stuck in their lifes thinking it is too late to learn and achieve something new.

por Katarzyna L

Aug 10, 2020

Overall it was a fun course, I have learned some interesting facts and changed my view of life and my capabilities a little. Good teacher, ingaging videos and funny quizzes. I gave it 4 stars because I expected a little more knowledge, tips, advice, research that could show me really what to do.

por Patrick M G

Mar 07, 2018

I've kind of already had my "mindshift", but this information is great encouragement. I highly recommend this course for anyone who isn't sure what they might want to do with their life, or someone who feels like their life is in a rut. It will provide new ways for you to view your situation.

por Cristian B

Jun 21, 2020

I learned a lot in this MOOC mindshift. I confirms my style of learning that to easily learn we need to actively do it. Also to learn new things and prepare for a shift of career in the future. I am looking forward to enroll again in the future.

I will recommend this MOOC to my colleague.

por Carmen C

Mar 06, 2018

It kinda felt like a review of the first one, and while I learned some new things I did not feel like I learned anywhere close to the same amount as in 'Learning how to learn'.

It is however very motivating and you will certainly take something away from it, it's also very easy to follow.

por Fring F

Jun 05, 2020

Mindshift is a very productive course & I'll learn & enjoy this course & and this instructor explanation language is very simple and easy to understand to all the topics clearly .....So , thanks to Dear teacher to Design this outstanding course on Coursera .....& Thanks to Coursera

por Karen B

Apr 25, 2020

My first course that I have done through Coursera and it has encouraged me to learn more on Coursera. Thank you for letting me take this course as a free one. Very much appreciated . Have learnt ways to shift my mind that can only be positive for me in my life. Thank you.

por Maria R

Jun 11, 2020

The course is very inspirational and insightful, there is a place for further investigation. Probably, It could be slightly improved as now it is pretty simple - it would be nice to go deeper in neuroscience, the building of habits, learning techniques.

Thanks to everyone!

por Manali M

Apr 23, 2020

Thank you Barbara!! The course is very useful and made me understand the connection of brain/mind with the emotions in a more practical and scientific manner. Thus, we learned how to tune our brain to have a better mindshift whenever required at any stage of life .

por Claudio P S

Jun 21, 2020

Overall it was a great course with many hints regarding how to make a mind shift either on the personal side or on the professional side. There were many practical examples as well as real stories for a diverse spectrum of people. I really enjoyed. Thanks a lot

por Parvathy V

Jul 15, 2020

I felt that the ideas could have been better structured which could have minimised the number of videos. As there were many short videos, before I could get a sense of the concept itself, the video got over and that didn't leave a good learning effect for me.

por Bassant E R

May 06, 2020

barbara is very very good teacher i have learning more from here she is also creative to give information but i found that terrence use complicated words and speak very fast am not understand well but he talked little number of videos thanks for your effort

por Boying G

Jul 15, 2020

Before taking this course, I am lost in passion and reality, not sure which way shall I go. But now, I understand that we shall look at the big picture of society trends but not the current moment, also it is great to have passion even it is very mediocre.

por Christian M F

Apr 30, 2018

The course has allowed me to optimize my learning tools and motivate myself in the use of new technologies. It is the continuity of the saga of Learning how to learn with better audiovisual resources and the experience gained in the first developed course.

por Cheng R

Dec 09, 2019

The course gave me more guiding for learning experiences. As a love learner, I can participate learning even I have job and kids. I can review lesson as many times as I can and I can stop when I am busy at work then restart my class again. It is perfect.

por Alfred G

Jul 01, 2020

Visual effects and music need work on. Distracting. ie the staff having tools and don't know quite how to use them appropriately to move script forward. Trying out new toys. Too bad not up to extraordinary talent of the co-teachers. Please re-do.

por Pamela M

May 30, 2017

Loved the course. It was a great experience as my first completed MOOC. It was however, a little easier than I expected to complete. I absolutely loved the Memory Tip videos. Would have been great to have some take home articles, references, etc.

por Pavan K

Jun 21, 2020

Last week was a bit boring. I feel it talks a lot about MOOCs which is unnecessarily. The other weeks were amazing. Learning about Focused and diffused mode, how to approach learning new skills and what benefits they can give us was really good.