Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,665 classificações
530 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 517 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Karthigeyan

30 de Ago de 2017

The course was really entertaining. Came to know a lot of concepts related to memories and also some good movies. Thanks!

por Stegaru M P

9 de Mar de 2017

The idea of linking the concepts to movies is really good. I hope to see a course that continues what I've learned so far

por Emily Z

13 de Jul de 2020

A charming and very quick (can be done in about 5-6 hours) class but very interesting! The movie clips are fun to watch.

por Amy Y

10 de Mai de 2020

Amazing course. A very memorable and effective way of teaching using the movie as a guide and application for knowledge.

por Prateek R

19 de Mai de 2016

Really liked the idea of using movie clips.. -- gives audio/visual illustration/example to textual psychology topics..

por Raluca M

6 de Jul de 2017

This has been a very enjoyable course, well structured and entertaining. I have recommended it to some of my friends.

por Isha P D

10 de Abr de 2020

Very helpful and really very interesting, Sir has a really high knowledge and puts things up very clearly! Thankyou!

por Germán E C H

22 de Mai de 2018

i BEGAN TO STUDY PSYCHOLOGY IN MY CINEMA CHAIR.BY THAT PSYCHOLOGY AND MOVIES ARE MY BETTER WAYS TO STUDY HUMAN BEEN.

por RITESH G

31 de Ago de 2018

Love the innovative way of learning the concepts on Memory through some excellent collection of movies. Thank you.

por Ronald M

4 de Jul de 2017

This is great course about memory! I enjoyed all the movies that were used as examples in the course! Recommended.

por Christy L

27 de Jun de 2017

This course was easy to follow and entertaining and it was especially useful for learning about ageing and memory.

por Mary H

13 de Set de 2017

Relating the concepts to movies made them easy to learn and remember. Very comprehensible and pleasant lectures.

por Jean S

6 de Ago de 2017

Excellent course informative and entertaining. I especially enjoyed the film clips which illustrated the lectures

por Maria

31 de Mar de 2016

Great course, i really enjoyed it. The material is very interesting and very well presented. Great job Professor!

por Lisa M

26 de Jul de 2020

Very interesting course. I recommend it for an overall knowledge of the memory functioning. Thank you, Jackie ;)

por Janette F

6 de Out de 2017

This is an entertaining and challenging course. I learned a great deal about memory and enjoyed the movie clips.

por Angelina C

18 de Jul de 2020

It was fun to get a basic understanding of memory through movies, it made the lessons much more interesting.

por Kinga D

21 de Mar de 2019

The course was very informative. My only complaint is that the audio was very soft when the professor spoke.

por William A

26 de Ago de 2016

nice way of presenting materials. i enjoyed ever bit of them.

i will recommend this course to others for sure

por Alvaro P

13 de Jan de 2018

Great way to learn about memory and the brain. This approach should be an example to follow by other moocs.

por Kaori M

27 de Jul de 2016

Informative and entertaining! Yes, in this course you can learn about memory and have fun watching movies.

por ALEXI G M C

21 de Ago de 2020

BUENA EXPLICACION, LOS TEMAS SON GENIALES Y AYUDAN MUCHA A ENTENDER MEJOR LOS FUNDAMENTOS EN CIERTOS TEMAS

por Sara S X

13 de Jun de 2020

Learnt a lot, especially with the visual aids and good explanations of the movie. Thank you for your time!

por K. J R

16 de Mai de 2020

Excellent engaging presentation. Memory explained scientifically and interestingly. Thanks to Prof.Seamon.

por Malathi J

30 de Ago de 2017

An engaging, gentle course on a fascinating subject. Loved the treatment and the approach of Prof. Seamon.