Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,922 classificações
606 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 595 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por ANONYMOUS A

11 de Ago de 2021

It is a very nice and informative course which uses scenes of movies very nicely to explain topics that are difficult as well as important.

por Grace N

18 de Out de 2020

I've learned so much from this short course. And I loved all the movies, I am looking for copies to watch later. Thank you so much! <3

por Sonja B

25 de Ago de 2020

This course is superb. The presenter is so engaging that I could listen to him every day. And since I work in academia, that says a lot! :)

por Karina

14 de Abr de 2018

excellent course! well-explained, briliant movie - examples and an outstanding narration! I ´ve learned a lot about how our memories work!

por Luis p

25 de Jun de 2019

Very Good course. I liked learning using movies as examples. It made the material easier to grasp and retain. It also made it memorable.

por Eduardo C H H

24 de Jul de 2020

Simple explanations and film-based analogies make the course an excellent introduction and summary of what awaits us as we enter old age.

por Zhiying W

27 de Set de 2017

This course is very good, learning a lot of memory knowledge, especially through the way the film about memory, very novel, very fond of!

por AKHILA A

28 de Jul de 2020

Truly amazing course with very relevant examples. This is the best way I would have ever learnt memories thank you, sir, for the course.

por Avril

25 de Mai de 2016

This is one of the few MOOCs I completed! I enjoyed the presentation of psychology mixed with movie excerpts. A great way to illustrate.

por José M B G

13 de Jan de 2018

Un curso fantástico, muy ameno y recomendable. Con rigor científico y la relación que hacen con el cine me parece completamente genial.

por Kaitlin H

7 de Jul de 2016

The professor was very knowledgeable and clearly has a passion for the topic. I enjoyed the course and learned quite a few new things.

por PJ R

13 de Jun de 2016

Excellent course based in the science of psychology and memory with great examples from movies. Accessible to all levels of learning.

por Grizel P

7 de Set de 2020

Es mi primer curso y fue el mejor que he tomado. Ha dicho lo basico pero lo ha definidio super bien. Excelente, lo voy a recomendar.

por Teresa c

19 de Jun de 2020

I loved this course, and reading the book while doing the class online. It was challenging, but a little hard work never scared me!

por DIANA V E

29 de Jan de 2017

Curso excelente, con información clara y apropiada, con mucha ayuda visual que permite la concentración y mayor comprensión del tema

por ANGELA C

14 de Set de 2020

A very nice opportunity to review the concepts about memory, a subject very important through all the stages of the life. Thank you

por Darlene d V

29 de Ago de 2020

This is an excellent course, I would take another course from this professor. Thank you, I learn much and have much to think about.

por veronica g

15 de Jul de 2020

It's a wonderful course!!! I really loved it!!! And Professor Seamon was very helpful and made very interesting the course. Thanks.

por Yenai J

13 de Ago de 2017

I have fully enjoyed this course. I have learned a lot and the movies were great examples for the topics that were being discussed!

por Carole C

2 de Dez de 2016

I loved everything in the course: the structure, going in depth in the concepts, the little quizzes and the movie clips. Thank you!

por Prabhleen A

3 de Ago de 2020

It was an interesting course. I loved the peculiar movie selection and the way various aspects of memory is described through them

por POTHURI S V

7 de Jul de 2020

It was a breezy course. My interest was kept intact throughout because of the the wonderful explanations of Professor John Seamon.

por Thomas d S

9 de Abr de 2018

Came for Memento, stayed for the soothing, sexy voice.

This course is a perfect example of how to use entertainment for education.

por Siew L T

6 de Jul de 2020

Interesting approach in the use of films to teach such a topic. It helps me to learn both visually and auditorily . Thank you.

por Nurtan T

10 de Mar de 2021

I really loved it. Especially as the movies made the course more alive and I will remember the material better! Thanks so much.