Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,890 classificações
595 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 584 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Bhawana B

17 de Jun de 2016

I am loving this course...It provides such a different perspective to memory. And explaining it with the movies makes it easy to relate and understand.

por Prompiriya P

29 de Ago de 2020

Highly recommended. Professor is very warm and overall provide positive lecture atmosphere. Every case studies are interesting and thoroughly analyzed.

por Teri F

28 de Jul de 2020

I learned a great deal about the psychology of memories through movies! The information provided and movie examples were very insightful. Thank you.

por Anuby B P

19 de Ago de 2020

It's really exciting and interesting to learn through coursera, l really liked learning about human memory through coursera, came to know many things

por Chryseis N

4 de Mai de 2020

One word: Memorable! Very professional, all informations nicely explained and good care of details was taken. Even the subtitles were well organized!

por Claudia F P

2 de Jun de 2020

Me gustó muchísimo el curso, aprendí cosas que no sabía, me dan muchas ganas de continuar aprendiendo sobre este tema. Muchas gracias y felicidades

por Eunice R

31 de Mar de 2020

I loved this course and the instructor. The presentation was as entertaining as it was informative. I would highly recommend this course to others.

por Rishi P

4 de Jul de 2018

Great and entertaining course! Helped me to understand memory and different phases of it through life. Broadened my vision and made me more humble.

por Lindsay C

11 de Jul de 2017

The way this course is presented makes the material meaningful and thus, easier to remember! Thank you for the wonderful course, Professor Seamon.

por Meet P

9 de Abr de 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on psychological system.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you Wesleyan University and Coursera.

por Pedro M

3 de Set de 2016

Really enjoyed this course. Funny way to learn a lot about memory through common known movies. Highly recommended. Good teacher, thanks for this :)

por Aleksandra N

16 de Jul de 2016

Awesome and interesting, gives you an insight into the area of memory and thanks to film clips, course content is entertaining and easy to remember

por Elshá A

13 de Ago de 2020

This course was very engaging, precise and most of all it answered most of my questions. I have enjoyed it well, I highly recommend it, thankyou!

por SOTIRIOS T

5 de Jan de 2021

Very exciting lesson and very useful to those who want to expand their knowledge status with this amazing combination of cinema and psychology!

por Hilary A

25 de Jul de 2017

A very, very useful course and I enjoyed the content and the way it was delivered. Thank you so much for offering this valuable life knowledge.

por Abhay K V

17 de Mai de 2021

It was a very informative and interesting course to learn about memory functions, its ability and the reasons for its deterioration as we age.

por Anudeep M

15 de Set de 2019

Its a very good course. This course showed that we can learn a lot from movies also. And the professor was very good at explaining the topics.

por K A E

20 de Fev de 2016

Fabulous course. Great techniques and impressive use of movies to illustrate memory principals. I would and will highly recommend this course.

por 성수민

9 de Jun de 2019

Thank you, professor! the way you teach us, using the movie clip, was beautiful and attractive. I won't forget you. Happy to toke your class!

por Dale G

19 de Jun de 2018

Very Informative I loved the use of movies as visual examples of different types of memory loss and issue's that come with aging individuals.

por Cassandra C Y M

6 de Abr de 2020

I really love that it is quick, concise, meaningful, and all of the materials are engaging! It makes me want to have more courses like this.

por Gerardo R G

9 de Jun de 2016

Excellent class, valuable information and emotional contents. Great teacher and great presentations. I would recommend this class to anyone.

por Grace N

18 de Out de 2020

I've learned so much from this short course. And I loved all the movies, I am looking for copies to watch later. Thank you so much! <3

por Sonja B

25 de Ago de 2020

This course is superb. The presenter is so engaging that I could listen to him every day. And since I work in academia, that says a lot! :)

por Karina

14 de Abr de 2018

excellent course! well-explained, briliant movie - examples and an outstanding narration! I ´ve learned a lot about how our memories work!