Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,878 classificações
591 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 577 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Hana B

9 de Abr de 2020

An excellent Professor, very nice personality, great choice of movies. One of the best courses I had.

Thank You, I will always remember this course :-) (I hope...)

por Sara M S

23 de Fev de 2018

It was a very dynamic course, I refreshed many subjects that I had forgotten, but this time I learned with more sense and emotion. Thank you very much, professor!

por Dany P

28 de Ago de 2017

It was super entertaining and cool but the best part is that I understood many things I didn't know and now I know some things that are helping me with my memory.

por Nicola D

2 de Jun de 2017

Excellent pacing on this course, with lots of movies to aid in understanding and remembering the basic principles. The lecturer was very responsive in the forums.

por Sandra L

2 de Mai de 2016

A traves de las peliculas sentimos empatia hacia ciertas circunstancias y aprendemos con el ejemplo de la experiencia de otros. Este curso ha sido muy instructivo

por STAUROFOROS

1 de Jan de 2021

Dear John, I would really like to thank you for creating this series of courses! it was both informative and enjoyable ... With kind regards, Stavos Baltiranis.

por WIJDAN A

3 de Jun de 2018

it is the first course I actually took...... your memory are you and I think every one have to take this course

thank u very much .... I can't thank you enough

por Mariya C

4 de Mar de 2021

Prof. Seamon is wonderful and I really enjoyed his course on memory! Thank you so much for all your effort and the time you took to prepare this course for us!

por Anna M D

2 de Jan de 2021

Excellent course, I really enjoyed every part of it! I've learnt very useful facts about how memory works, amnesia, dementia etc. Many thanks to the professor!

por Ellen P

29 de Jul de 2020

I enjoyed learning about how memory works through the movies. Having a 'picture' of each memory topic helped it come to life and made learning more enjoyable.

por Joan A

26 de Abr de 2020

This course was filled with functional information and informative facts. The course was entertaining and keeps the learner engaged throughout!!! Thank you!!

por Anahita I

30 de Jun de 2018

I really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot from it, as the concept of memory was presented and explained in a very interesting and unique manner. Thank you!

por Chris B

19 de Ago de 2020

It was a a great idea to illustrate the various concepts with movies. This made a more enjoyable exercise of what could be a fairly dry subject.

Thanks

Chris B

por Sam R

14 de Set de 2017

An eye opener to my ignorance about memory and how it functions. Using movies as a gateway to explain the intricacies of memory is a great idea.... Thank you!

por Gracie M

30 de Nov de 2020

First time taking a psychology course. Highly recommend this--especially for film majors looking for a fascinating course outside their preferred discipline.

por Prabodh K

13 de Ago de 2016

excellent and very interesting course. Loved the concept of understanding memory by watching movies. and the movie selections are fantastic. Great course.

por Angel J

2 de Jul de 2018

Very informative and easy to understand. I have enjoyed learning with Professor Seamon very much. I feel grateful to have studied the course. Thanks a lot!!

por Joann T

21 de Dez de 2017

Excellent course! Professor is soft spoken and his delivery is fantastic. Fascinating class that answers questions about memory in a clear concise manner.

por Kieron N

9 de Jul de 2020

Very informative course on memories, teaching the psychology and biology of memory, using a familiar media of movies to explain these more complex topics.

por Katherine Z

5 de Abr de 2020

Excelente curso!! Mucho aprendizaje!! Gracias por la oportunidad de brindarme este conocimiento! Me encantó el tema y todas las lecciones! Agradecida!

por Vivek S

30 de Jun de 2020

Lovely Course! I would recommend it to all, especially to those who are into Psychology, Neuroscience and Behavioural Studies with a touch of Philosophy!

por Chris N

23 de Jun de 2020

This course was so good! Now I have finished it I want to learn more about the subject, and I will also be buying the book accompanying the course. Would

por Shehariyar B P

9 de Jul de 2018

The most difficult part was remembering our Professor's surname, not a very intuitive one for a Memory Psychologist! Beautiful Course, thank's a ton Sir.

por Ganesh K

10 de Ago de 2020

Excellent presentation of concepts on Memory through appropriate movies. The usage of movies made the concepts very clear. Many thanks to the Professor.

por Bhawana B

17 de Jun de 2016

I am loving this course...It provides such a different perspective to memory. And explaining it with the movies makes it easy to relate and understand.