Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,908 classificações
604 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
6 de Fev de 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 593 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Guilherme D

2 de Set de 2020

Great introductory course to many aspects and concepts of memory. The fact that they're illustrated with movie clips makes them even more undestandable and easier to grasp. The teacher is very calm and explains everything clearly.

por jane b

12 de Jul de 2017

This is a wonderful course. I really enjoyed the presenter and have purchased his book so I could continue learning. I love movies and I love to learn to it was a perfect combination. A very fun course with a wealth of knowledge.

por Marisol B M

28 de Mar de 2017

Buen curso, es exactamente como su nombre lo indica, a través de películas explica cómo funciona la memoria y también aclara que algunas películas no muestran lo que en realidad sucede en nuestro cerebro en casos como la amnesia.

por Ms. M Q

20 de Set de 2020

It was an exceptional course especially if you are fascinated with memory and how it actually works. The course was one of the bests here on coursers. Well put together content, easy to understand and never let's you get bored.

por Silvia I A

28 de Out de 2020

This was an excellent course! I learned a lot and I saw interesting parts of films that explain the topics of memory. The teacher has a wonderful teaching skills and has prepared excellent material for this course. Thank you!

por Sanjukta S

27 de Dez de 2019

Very well explained concepts which were easy to grasp as the movies helped understand each topic. An interesting course that I would definitely recommend to others. Thanks you Sir for sharing these excerpts from the book.

por Jarrent T

15 de Set de 2017

I learned a lot from this course. Indeed, the use of movies in studying and exploring the various concepts about memory is effective in contextualizing the ideas. Also, the lecturer is excellently discussing these concepts!

por Denis C

12 de Jan de 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was very captivating and explaining it through memories was entertaining and insightful. Huge thanks to the lecturer, John Seamon, for making the coursework so captivating and memorable.

por Ananya C

29 de Mai de 2016

Its an amazing course. I am studying psychology in my high school and memory and learning are the topics which made psychology really interesting. The way everything is explained is really interesting and understandable.

por Helena K

3 de Fev de 2019

Extremely interesting course, perfect way to understand memory thru film. Also, makes you learn and think about things and ideas that you wouldn't think that could come up in this kind of course. Very much enjoyed!

por Gary M

15 de Fev de 2021

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to follow, interesting and the way movie clips were used to demonstrate the reality or false impressions of memory - related cases was great and quite moving actually.

por Damián L

24 de Mai de 2016

Excellent course, excellent lecturer and test material. I will likely buy his book as the topic initially interested me, and interests me even more after this engaging and educational course. Highly recommended.

por Lewis R

16 de Fev de 2016

This was an outstanding course. I am a qualified psychologist and lawyer but enjoyed the unique take on this topic. I was particularly fascinated by the warm, engaging lectures. Thank you for a great programme.

por Ermanno G

15 de Mai de 2016

Very interesting and intriguing way to show, by movies, how much our memory ability means in our everyday life. Thanks to have share it. For me is first of all a stimulating way to train my english fluency

por Sreya v s

1 de Ago de 2020

I loved this class. The way of teaching is appreciable. By attending this class some misconceptions about memory-related disorders get cleared. It was very informative. Thank you for this amazing course.

por AKSHITA S

14 de Jul de 2020

The professor was amazing and explained things with ease. It was a course filled with fun and knowledge. I love to know a thing and love watching movies so, this course was some sort of a blessing to me.

por reine r r

10 de Dez de 2017

professor seamon is a remarkable teacher,. linking memory function to movies is a brilliant idea because it allows us to relate the technical to what we can easily apprehend : popular culture. thank you.

por Ana L F C

13 de Dez de 2017

El curso me encantó. Se me hace excelente la manera en que se describen los conceptos relacionados con la memoria desde una perspectiva teórica y éstos se ejemplifican con películas e historias de vida.

por Swapnil S

30 de Abr de 2020

One of the best courses I have completed so far. The best thing about this course is to use the movie clip so nicely that it fits with the content of the lecture. This really helps to digest the topic.

por Victor G d O S

9 de Set de 2016

Very good course. It complete its purpose and manage to teach a lot of things in a simple and fast way, wich is the objetive of Coursera. Also, the forum is full of discussions, wich is interesting.

por Maluwegedara D A S

7 de Fev de 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

por Bárbara M

10 de Mar de 2018

It is an interesting course, it allowed me to practice my knowledge in reading and understanding the English language and learning about memory in a didactic and entertaining way. Thanks so much

por Yuyun X

15 de Dez de 2017

Really wonderful, enjoyable, worthy course, I learned bot just about the memory things, also the storytelling way to share knowledge, and the passion to do things. Thanks a lot for this course.

por Suraksha V

21 de Ago de 2020

This course wonderfully explains the different aspects of memory through the movies which is one of a kind. And also talks efficiently about ways to decline memory problems. In-depth overview.

por urmila g

8 de Jul de 2018

I enjoyed learning in this course. The understanding of the subject was easy because of movies. You have covered important aspects about memory. Thanks to John Seamon from Weslesya University.