Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,854 classificações
583 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de 570 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Shandris T

10 de Mar de 2016

I thought this was a beautiful way of explaining these things.

por Rajagopalan S

31 de Dez de 2020

Very nice. Enjoyed the course and the content was satisfying

por Priyanka B

3 de Set de 2020

it was a great course very educational. i really enjoyed it.

por Elvira Z

19 de Jun de 2016

A most interesting form of a course presentation. Thank you!

por ROUSI V

2 de Abr de 2021

Such an incredible seminar about brain function and memory!

por DR R S

31 de Dez de 2019

Brilliant course learn a lot about memory and how it works.

por Imane f f

19 de Fev de 2018

very joyful and fun to learn, I loved every lesson so far.

por Heather S M

24 de Set de 2020

This course was informative and engaging. I recommend it.

por Nancy

29 de Jul de 2019

Loved this course!! I have recommended this course to many

por Usha V

29 de Out de 2017

To the point, well organized course. Thank you very much.

por SANDRA E

31 de Jul de 2017

Excellent content and worth reviewing! Great movies also.

por Donald G

22 de Jul de 2017

I loved this course. It was informative and entertaining.

por Simone E G

31 de Out de 2016

I loved the way the course was given, with film examples.

por 吴秀琛

27 de Abr de 2018

The course is informative and really good for beginner .

por Jessica

4 de Set de 2016

Such an interesting course, would definitely recommend.

por Romilly C

21 de Set de 2020

Fascinating and valuable material engagingly presented.

por Tània S

2 de Set de 2020

The best course I've ever taken. Thank you John Seamon.

por HuongMai

1 de Dez de 2019

It is new approach to learn about memory through films.

por ARPIT B

21 de Fev de 2019

The Concept of Learning with Movie Examples is Awesome.

por KEERTHI R

23 de Nov de 2016

An awesome experience with the team. A big THANK YOU!!!

por Rehab S

26 de Out de 2016

An informative class put together in a very interesting

por Corinne S

24 de Mar de 2016

Really interesting and informative. I highly recommend!

por Helene S

13 de Dez de 2020

An example of how much fun one can have while learning

por Paolo G

8 de Jul de 2020

Thank you so much for the learnings in this course! <3

por Eyram

20 de Jul de 2017

This was a very interesting way to learn about memory!