Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,929 classificações
607 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
6 de Fev de 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 596 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por ALEXI G M C

21 de Ago de 2020

BUENA EXPLICACION, LOS TEMAS SON GENIALES Y AYUDAN MUCHA A ENTENDER MEJOR LOS FUNDAMENTOS EN CIERTOS TEMAS

por Sara S X

13 de Jun de 2020

Learnt a lot, especially with the visual aids and good explanations of the movie. Thank you for your time!

por K. J R

16 de Mai de 2020

Excellent engaging presentation. Memory explained scientifically and interestingly. Thanks to Prof.Seamon.

por Malathi J

30 de Ago de 2017

An engaging, gentle course on a fascinating subject. Loved the treatment and the approach of Prof. Seamon.

por Angela K

22 de Out de 2020

It was a really great way to incorporate my learning in AP Psychology with this course! I learned a lot!

por chalchitrart

1 de Ago de 2020

I loves this course. And I would recommend people to buy this book as well. It will definitely help you.

por Isabella F L

24 de Ago de 2020

Curso incrível! Muito conteúdo interessante dado de forma leve. Prendeu minha atenção do início ao fim.

por Susan W

4 de Dez de 2020

I loved this course! Such an experiential way to teach about memory. This professor is outstanding.

por Lydia V P

21 de Abr de 2020

A very engaging course . You will watch movies with a more educated eye, after finishing this course.

por savithri i

23 de Jul de 2018

Excellent content and great learning experience. The delivery by Professor Seamon was the best so far

por Likhitha B

30 de Jul de 2017

Prof. John Seamon makes this course an absolute joy! Do not forgo the pleasure of taking this course!

por Vijay R

30 de Jan de 2018

Extremely engaging and entertaining course that adds to my vocabulary and curiosity of human memory.

por Rachelle W

21 de Ago de 2021

Terrific course! Well-structured, interesting, and informative. Enthusiastic applause for the prof!

por Anuradha D R

26 de Jun de 2021

very informative at one level and interestingly put together, i personally benefitted a lot. thanks

por Donna M J

12 de Abr de 2018

I enjoyed learning about Memory through movies. It was a fun and intesting way to learn. Thank you!

por Kravchenko O

2 de Out de 2020

Absolutely amazing course! Thank you, Professor for an amazing journey into the realm of Memory :)

por Καλλιόπη Κ

5 de Jan de 2021

I loved the way professor presented the course. I made me to be curious to explore more about it.

por Дина

2 de Dez de 2017

Very useful course in which you can learn a lot about your memory watching your favourite movies!

por Igor K

30 de Abr de 2021

Excellent course. The teacher explain material in good interesting form. Provide many examples.

por Fran E

8 de Jan de 2021

Great course! Like watching a movie review and and learning about memory. What could be better.

por A. E H

19 de Abr de 2018

Really entertaining way to learn about memory, I really enjoyed this course. Thank you so much.

por Tran T H L

11 de Set de 2017

Very informative, entertaining and useful course for your own interest and personal development

por Lilly G

7 de Mai de 2020

I'm a high schooler taking this course, and it is absolutely amazing and easy to understand.

por Eddah K

18 de Jun de 2016

It was an eye opener. I learnt a lot about memory. I also discovered a number of new movies.

por Radhika

30 de Jul de 2017

One of the best courses on Coursera! One is bound to have great fun completing this course.