Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,770 classificações
553 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Melhores avaliações

RD
31 de Jul de 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
2 de Jun de 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 539 Avaliações para o Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

por Radhika

30 de Jul de 2017

One of the best courses on Coursera! One is bound to have great fun completing this course.

por ARUN K N

3 de Jul de 2020

Such a wonderful course, .Very useful for media and psychology related students. Thankyou.

por Akshaya.v

1 de Jul de 2020

I totally enjoyed this memory of psychology course and add more interesting contents also.

por LUIZ A S S

30 de Jul de 2020

Excelente curso, foi muito bom aprender sobre memória de maneira criativa e aproveitosa.

por Marco A d l M H

17 de Abr de 2020

Excellent course, very well explained and pragmatic with the movies. Thank you very much

por Luisa G P P

20 de Fev de 2017

ES UN CURSO EXCELENTE, EL PROFESOR ES SIMPLEMENTE MARAVILLOSO, ES MUY DIDÁCTICO! GRACIAS

por Ксения К

25 de Set de 2019

Very very very interesting movie - gave me much more knowledge, than I expected to get!

por DR.SANTOSH K P

11 de Jul de 2017

its unique course .i m fan of professor. thank you sir for so nicely explaining memory.

por Anna G

15 de Jun de 2017

Fun course to take for general knowledge. Alse found out about great movies to watch :)

por kai k

21 de Mai de 2016

well put together

made me cry and laugh

just a great time taking this course--thank you!

por Zeinab D

5 de Jun de 2018

I find it very very helpful and interesting to learn.

Thank you Professor and all crew

por Beckie T H F

20 de Set de 2017

i love how each concept is tied to movie stories. it's definitely easier to remember!

por Shenlu W

12 de Jun de 2017

Great in providing helpful general understanding of those concepts regarding memory.

por Jing Y

7 de Abr de 2016

Very interestingly designed with theories about memory and films with related topics.

por Marina A

11 de Jul de 2020

that's the best online course i had so long during the lock-down, highly recommended

por Aliucha R

25 de Jun de 2017

Great content transmitted in a fun way that makes it easy to pay attention and learn

por Peter F

29 de Mar de 2017

Interesting on the study of how we remember and when our memories play tricks on us.

por María T A C

22 de Dez de 2016

Increíble y entretenido curso para aprender lo que implica recordad y tener memoria.

por Shaina K R

11 de Out de 2020

I really loved this course! I enjoyed learning and the movies were all exceptional!

por Linda C

29 de Ago de 2020

Fantastic overview of memory nicely illustrated through films. I really enjoyed it!

por Pritika G

3 de Mar de 2017

excellent course, the topics are taught in a creative and memorable way. Thank you!

por Ave K

21 de Jun de 2020

The concepts of memory were easy to learn thanks to the examples of great movies.

por 許家安

25 de Fev de 2018

Excellent course with interesting materials to cover some ground about memories.

por ΣΑΚΚΕΤΟΣ Δ

6 de Jan de 2021

A great lesson from a very good teacher. I am very pleased to have watched it!!

por Maria - I M

16 de Out de 2017

Even though i knew about memory, it made me comprehend it better!! Thank you!!!