Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.7
estrelas
4,015 classificações
977 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

17 de jul de 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK

23 de set de 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 978 Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por SUBHA

14 de jun de 2020

Clear study Stress- strain curve, Arrhenius law, Defects, fatigues, Dislocations, phase diagrams, Semiconductors are clearly & graphically explained. Thank you

por Raguraman K

22 de fev de 2019

A very concise course covering the essential concepts of materials science beautifully explained. I like the way Professor James negotiates through the topics.

por Hanan A

4 de jan de 2017

I loved this course, it was light and educational. The instructor makes complex ideas simple, interesting, and relevant. I highly recommend this to engineers

por Beatriz S

5 de jun de 2019

great course!!! the professor is very good explaining concepts and extrapolating this information into practical applications in the laboratory experiments

por Juan T

14 de nov de 2016

Exceptionally beneficial to the fundamental principles of engineering. I highly recommend taking this course as it is informative and simple to understand.

por Meet P

4 de abr de 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on material science.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of California,Davis and coursera.

por Lavanya S

6 de jun de 2020

The short lectures are very crisp yet give the complete picture of the concepts. This course stands as a "must take refresher" for Material Science area.

por Shantanu D

22 de out de 2019

It was best to learn from other professors and their teaching techniques are also best. Like to learn more. This was my first online course. Keep it up.

por Somanna B

23 de ago de 2020

A good introduction into the field of Material Science. I would like to thank Dr James Shackelford for being very articulate and making things simple.

por Prathamesh P K

25 de abr de 2020

The course was really good. Instructor James Shackelford ellaborated the course content really well. The videos were short, self-explanatory and nice.

por JACOB O O

8 de ago de 2018

This is one of the best course I have taken on Material Science! Down to earth explanatory, indeed every Engineer should know these basics. Thank you.

por mukku t

20 de out de 2021

Course is very good & very helpful and informative . Professor is very experimental explanation added plus to get attention of listening & thinking.

por Pamela F G L

4 de dez de 2020

Me pareció un curso muy chévere ya que nos exige mucho en el área de la segunda lengua y sobre todo lo bien explicado que dan cada una de las pautas

por Fabian P

5 de mar de 2018

Excellent introductory course! Full of interesting topics that would lead you to investigate further into this topic. Thanks Professor Shackelford!

por Musharraf R S

10 de mai de 2020

A very good course to take up there are many things to learn.

Most importantly remember:

"Structure leads to properties"

by our Great Professor James

por Luis N H G

1 de dez de 2018

Es un gran curso, con saberes teóricos prácticos, de gran contenido y fácil apreciación para las aspiraciones de un futuro ingeniero enhorabuena!

por Cyril J

19 de abr de 2020

Excellent course to remember the basic things that a engineer should remember especially mechanical engineers. Thank you for making this course.

por Narendra K

1 de jul de 2022

I​t was fantastic to get enrolled in such a beautiful course. The lab view and discussed experimental techniques and related plots were superb.

por Cliff J

21 de out de 2020

This course presented the most intuitive explanation of material properties that I have come across in fourteen years as a practicing engineer.

por AZAHAR P

11 de mai de 2020

It was wonderful and very well explained about each and every crux of material science. and got practical understanding of material engineering

por Swapnil N

22 de jun de 2020

Very good course and personally I am looking forward for more deeper metallurgy courses from same speaker..He is too good..Thank you Coursera.

por Yekambaram R

4 de fev de 2020

This gives all the information required for understanding material science course for mechanical engineers. Thank you for offering the course.

por Dean A A

22 de jun de 2017

Professor Shackelford has good and clear explanation about this course. Outstanding in presentation delivery. Please keep posting new course.

por Md. I M

16 de jun de 2020

Wonderful course ever for me including all over the engineering students to know these engineering materials to apply their future prospect.

por Harshit S

18 de mar de 2019

The course emphasizes on the basic principles of Material Sciences. Explains with great real-life examples which are very thought-provoking.