Chevron Left
Voltar para Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management da instituição Universidade da Cidade do Cabo

4.8
estrelas
254 classificações
84 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Focusing on the Large Marine Ecosystems (LMEs) of the world, this course will introduce the concept and practice of ecosystem-based management. LMEs occupy areas of coastal ocean at least 200 000 km² or greater in size. These coastal waters produce 12.6 trillion USD in ecosystem goods and services annually and are vitally important for billions of people around the globe. Because LMEs are bounded by ocean features and are globally linked, management of human activities needs to occur in an integrated fashion across political boundaries and economic sectors (e.g. fishing, shipping, energy, tourism, and mining.) This represents a new type of management approached - shifting from single sector-based to multi-sector assessment and management within the spatial domain of the world's 66 Large Marine Ecosystems. There is global high-level support for this new approach and in this course, we will introduce the concepts and tools for assessing and managing LMEs. Together, leaders and experts in a global movement to recover and sustain the goods and services of LMEs will introduce you to the mechanisms used for assessment (Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis), planning and implementation (Strategic Action Programme). Based on recent activities in implementation and practice of the LME approach in 22 projects around the globe, we will showcase examples of effective management at this scale, and highlight the challenges and issues. By the end of the online course, we hope you will be able to actively use this knowledge to advance sustainable development of the world’s oceans. The course was created with the support and input of: the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), UNESCO-IOC and IW:LEARN....

Melhores avaliações

SM

20 de jun de 2020

Not only was this an incredibly informative course but it gives me hope about the future of our oceans. It's exciting to hear about all of the collaborative work going on within and between nations.

TC

16 de jan de 2019

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 85 Avaliações para o Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management

por Karla G

26 de jun de 2018

This course is amazing and so needed nowadays. Fully recommended!

por Virginie w

27 de jun de 2019

Very informative and well designed course, I learned a lot!

por Tim B

5 de jan de 2022

Informative for future of our planet and species.

por Daniel B

30 de mai de 2021

Great work! Excelent teachers and good contents

por Alora M

17 de jul de 2019

The volume is quite low on most of the videos.

por francisca N

11 de mai de 2020

The research papers were very informative

por Karola G

8 de mar de 2022

Very interesting course, good lectures!

por Jesna J

3 de jul de 2020

I am finding this course really helpful

por Mihaela N

13 de abr de 2019

I enjoyed every lesson in this course!

por Maribel E

3 de mai de 2020

Is a great course! Highly recommended

por Lydia J

13 de abr de 2021

Great course! Really recommend

por Masoud J A

31 de mai de 2019

how can I get my certificate ?

por emmanuel m

18 de set de 2021

The course is insightful!!!!

por EIRINI S

12 de fev de 2021

Really interesting course!!

por Winston A W

28 de dez de 2020

Excellent, thank you.

por WINSTON R

13 de fev de 2019

The best so far!

por AYESHA N

20 de out de 2019

good good good

por ABU H M Y

22 de out de 2020

Outstanding

por Hernán O

26 de dez de 2018

Excelent!

por Karen P S

30 de mai de 2020

Really loved this course! My work delves deeply into coastal management so it was refreshing to see a whole new perspective about things, especially on how we can improve management at a transboundary scale. What's even more commendable is how the information was broken down into clear, disgestable chunks. Also love how there's a synthesis every step of the way to help with memory retention. Also love the readings. I think they're a good representation of all the existing literature there is on large marine ecosystems. Everyone should give this course a try.

por Nqobile

2 de dez de 2019

This was my first engagement with an online course and I found it super easy to engage with the course material as instructions were clear. I found this particular course to be very insightful with regards to the various Large Marine Ecosystems existing across the world and I'm excited to see the evolution in approaches on managing resources and the likes, particularly the use of Ecosystem-based management within the spatial domain of LMEs.

por Nina B

20 de mai de 2021

The quizes were simple enough to not be overwhelmed completely. I redid my quizes quite a few times which aided me in working through content. The last assignment was quite daunting as I found information harvesting was difficult due to the very large documents one had to go through to find simple answers. Peer reviewing was very pleasant as this allowed me to see what the standard of my answers should be.

por Lauren F

12 de mar de 2019

I really enjoyed going more into depth on large marine ecosystems, after seeing the term mentioned in a paper I read for my Honours thesis. I feel that the holistic approach to managing shared marine resources is a winning strategy, and I'm glad that I now have foundational knowledge of a topic which is at the cutting edge of marine resource management.

por Sonia R

16 de ago de 2020

An excellent introduction to the prevailing approach to managing ocean ecosystems. Strong focus on the concept of Large Marine Ecosystems and how countries collaborate to protect shared marine ecosystems using United Nations resources and funding from the Global Environmental Fund.