Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to GIS Mapping

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to GIS Mapping da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.9
estrelas
1,732 classificações
564 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Melhores avaliações

AF

16 de abr de 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

KS

1 de ago de 2021

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 566 Avaliações para o Introduction to GIS Mapping

por K M J R

28 de set de 2020

Great introduction to GIS and ArcGIS. I look forward to taking the other courses in this specialization. Amazing instructor!

por Saeedeh g

16 de ago de 2020

It was more than perfect! A thorough and complete explanation of fundamentals. Thank you for giving me the chance to learn.

por CHIRANTHA D

7 de ago de 2020

was worth it.the course is much interesting and fun t follow.i highly recommend this and other three courses following this.

por Royal B

12 de jul de 2020

The course was taught with great enthusiasm from the teacher. He is one of the best online teachers I have ever come across.

por Suraj D U

22 de ago de 2020

This course has covered all key concepts of GIS and its software ArcGIS and Professor Don Boyles has taught it excellently.

por Jennifer L B D

30 de jul de 2020

Excellent course. The professor explains everything with clarity and using useful examples. everything is so understandable

por Rodolfo

5 de jun de 2020

Great pace, very good contents for people studying for the first time GIS. Videos are sometimes long. I enjoyed the course!

por AS-AD U N

25 de mai de 2020

Dr. Don Boyes did great!! He made the GIS more easier to the learners. Thanks to Coursera and of course to Dr. Don Boyes!!

por Joham A A S

21 de out de 2020

An excellent course, with very good contextualization and explanation of the topics. Very happy to have taken this course.

por Ashiqur R

13 de jun de 2020

It was a great course.It helped me to get the fundamental knowledge of GIS. I am very happy to participate in this course.

por Juan A G

14 de out de 2019

Excellent. Maybe a little tricky in the scale and projection areas, but I think all the fine for the first course. Thanks!

por Michelle L

29 de abr de 2020

Great course for beginners! The professor passes the content naturally and shows the application of the theory in Arcmap!

por Jared A D

22 de set de 2021

Como curso introductorio es muy bueno, ayuda a entender en porqué de las cosas antes de adentrarnos como tal en ArcGis.

por Camilo A S A

4 de ago de 2021

V​ery good introduction to GIS, the explanations are very clear and the examples are helpful to understand the concepts

por César A V L

24 de mai de 2021

It is a very good course and with an extremely good teacher, with criteria and a broad knowledge of the subject matter.

por Luis R C S E

21 de fev de 2021

It is a very light and easy to understand course, they explain things about software, online services and their theory

por Mubarak G

26 de ago de 2020

This course had explicitly opened my eyes to ArcGIS and how to use it.

Wonderful lecture and easily understand.

Thanks.

por Prayush J

27 de jun de 2020

Very good course for beginners. Mr Don Boyes is the best for this job. Explains about the basic terms in full detail.

por Ruth M P C

5 de ago de 2020

The information it provides is excellent, thanks for this wonderful experience and I will continue with more courses

por Kironmoy P S

5 de ago de 2020

it's a great journey with Prof. Don Boyes. For beginners in GIS, this course is so helpful to understand the basics.

por UPENDRA R S

27 de jun de 2020

this course is very informative, but software need to make for free use to complete the task & trial also.

thank you

por Raul F

11 de nov de 2021

Great introduction to the topic and explanation of the fundamentals behind map making. Don is pleasant to follow.

por G K M N

17 de mai de 2020

Course is really good . Course Coordinator helped a lot through this course journey. Overall a good experience.

por RAUL M M

28 de fev de 2020

Very well thought of format and delivery of the course. Kudos to everyone involved in making this course. Thanks.

por Rizki D

24 de jul de 2021

Prof. Don Boyes, as a Lecturer of this Course, was such an understandable person for non-native learners like me