Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução à música clássica

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução à música clássica da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
2,183 classificações
600 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Melhores avaliações

SL

Mar 07, 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

ER

Mar 08, 2016

This course has a lot of information. It is well organized, and so many music illustrations. I am really enjoying this course, and will freely recommend it to anyone interested in classical music.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introdução à música clássica

por Jonathan G

Feb 13, 2018

Interesting course but it had way too many quizzes and was extremely tedious. I would not recommend this course to anyone!

por Sherif M O

May 10, 2016

I'm a big fan of Classical music specially of the classical and romantic eras (I listen and practice on piano - my ultimate instrument - too) since many years ago, there were always questions rolling on my head regarding these eras and their most important composers but i never got the guts to search deeply for my answers among the scattered information every where, all this happened before i participated in this course.

On this introductory course, i gained a lot of information and my perceptions of the music generally is expanded hugely in a way i never expected :) :) :)

Before this course i was an ordinary listener, now i'm a much way better listener; and i'm sure this will have a positive effect on my piano practicing too.

Thank you very much Craig Wright, you really did a great job and efforts on simplifying a lot of information and display it in a very easy, organized, and pleasant way, and thank you very much Yale University and every one who participated, supported, and made available any information during the time of this course...you all really made a difference in my life.

por Lau H N

May 28, 2020

It is difficult to learn more about classical music without playing an instrument so this course is truly a gem! The course outlines and materials were well-crafted to help us see the different periods in relation to one another, other forms of art, the predominant movements in art and society, against the background of some technological and social changes. In other words, the multi-disciplinary approach helps in the visualisation and reinforcement of the learning. I truly appreciate all the visual aids given in the course to help visual learners like me learn about classical music. Professor Wright has a likeable demeanour and exudes passion in his teaching. The best way to do this course - I regret not following up - would be to listen to the examples in the playlist in detail each week to consolidate your learning.

por William L

Feb 18, 2017

Excellent intro course and well produced. The course discusses the various elements that make up the music from different periods. This understanding helps me appreciate the music more and articulate what I like or dislike about a particular piece of music. I was a bit sad after watching the last lecture as I would like this course to go on for longer as I really enjoyed it. It would be great if there could be other courses that goes more deeply analyzing the music of each period.

One comment about Coursera is that it is irritating that the quiz cannot be saved if you don't pay up front. I like to sample the course before deciding whether I want a certificate. By the time I decided I like the course I was too far along to want to go back and retake the quizzes.

por Harry M

May 11, 2020

This course was excellent! Dr. Wright's presentations were uniformly clear and interesting. I particularly appreciated the fact that he is not a 'classical music snob'! By that I mean, Dr. Wright was able to convey his love of the classical without being condescending towards the more 'popular' pop music. I learned or re-learned (and hopefully retained) a vast amount of information. I must say that I did not partake in discussion groups nor did I read the accompanying textbook or watch many of the suggested YouTube videos. I took this course during the COVID-19 pandemic and the course was an excellent way to focus on beautiful music during this rather dark period of the virus. Not a fan of some of what I thought were confusing quiz questions, but that's OK.

por Mingkai Y

Aug 08, 2019

Great course! I enjoyed a lot from the journey of western classical music from medieval till contemporary. The teaching style of Dr. Wright is engaging and accessible for beginners. I will come back to the lectures and the YouTube lists of full pieces of music even after the completion of the course. This course further develops my interests in music, and I started playing keyboard synthesizer during the course and am learning music theory. The only thing that maybe could improve is the quizzes. Currently, all the quizzes are multiple choice questions mainly on musical terminology. It would be even greater to have more listening exercises and different kind of assignment like peer reviewed writing.

por Tanya M

Nov 05, 2019

This course showed me amazing overview of Classical Music (as big picture) as well as many fascinating and memorable details about genres, composers and individual pieces. I've enjoyed the style of professor Wright and already miss his clever metaphors and funny jokes. I've spent many hours watching videos about and listening to music I've never really cared for, and enjoyed every minute of it. Meanwhile, I've found myself listening to Bach, Schubert, Mozart and Mahler just for pleasure — the thing I've never done before. And Air by Bach touched me so deeply that I've got back to my piano to train to perform it. The course is much beyond expectations! Many thanks to Professor Wright and the team!

por Zhe L

Oct 31, 2016

It took me a long time to finish all the videos and quizzes. Great lectures. I need to watch some videos twice or even more times to fully understand the content. And sometimes when I go back and watch a previous video again I can develop deeper understandings of the content in it. The professor gives great comments on music works that help students understand. I wish I could develop such insights sometime. Music theory is interleaved with music history which is great, with the only problem that sometimes too little training is provided (e.g. asking students to distinguish triads in the quiz can be difficult for those who learn the concepts for the first time and do not have training before).

por Stefania R

Apr 19, 2020

I am enthusiastic about this course! It is clear but rigorous and so engaging.

Prof Craig is a perfect teacher, friendly but inspiring! Every student can see immediately how much he loves his matter and loves teaching. The mix of talks, examples at the synthesizer, paintings or pictures and drawings, original performances and talks with experts is so lively and stimulating. I was really sad when I finished, I would have wanted to go ahead for ever.

I hope that Prof. Craig will teach other courses on music; I will register for sure to any proposal from him in the future.

Thanks so much for this experience and best wishes to Prof Craig and his team!

por Stéphanie L

Jan 16, 2017

Professor Craig Wright is a passionate teacher and music lover who makes information easily accessible to anyone regardless of previous musical knowledge. I can better appreciate music since I've taken this course, simply because I can understand it better. I can identify musical styles, periods, and even composers. Pr. Wright shares anecdotes on composers and events that make the history and theory easier to remember. I have to admit that I wasn't sure if I'd like his teaching style when I watched the first few videos, but I was quickly converted. Professor Wright is so endearing and funny! An expert, really. I absolutely loved this course.

por Ilze B

Oct 18, 2016

Absolutely lovely, wonderful and incredibly engaging course. I developed a habit to watch the lecture on my way to and from work and couple of times almost missed my stop to get out. :)

I used to listen to classical music before taking the course, because I simply liked the feel it created. This course has allowed me to listen to it more intelligently, to know and recognize more of what I actually hear, and in case of postmodern music, explained nicely what are the elements that over time have become reasons for me not really liking it.

Long story short, I use this course as an example to tell friends how amazing Coursera is.

por Jagannath S

Apr 04, 2018

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. My sincere thanks to Prof Craig White and his colleagues. Apart from his knowledge and skill, I am deeply impressed (and positively influenced) by Prof White's enthusiasm to teach the program and make it interesting to learners. I had zero exposure to any type of classical music before - but now i have developed a sincere appreciation of western classical music. I still struggle with identifying the scales and notes :( but that means i need to listen more. Overall, i loved the program. Thanks to Yale University for creating this.

por ADITYA J

Feb 25, 2020

Excellent course which I enjoyed through out its duration. The rare insights into the evolution of western classical music along with biographical details of the major exponents was really helpful. As a layman without much knowledge of classical music, I can now appreciate at least some of the technical details of the melody and harmony. The course has helped me immensely and my love for western classical music has grown stronger. Thank you Coursera for offering this course and thanks to Professor Wright and Yale University for putting it all together.

por Derfoufi

Jan 09, 2019

Bonjour, j'ai beaucoup appris à travers ce cours. En plus des objectifs cités dans la présentation, j'ai découvert les points marquants de chaque période de la musique classique, l'architecture qui va avec, l'interaction des musiciens avec les autres artistes et leur recherche ardue du savoir là où il est pour la plupart d'entre eux.

Je vous remercie vivement et je vous félicite professeur Wright pour le grand effort pédagogique que vous avez déployé. Je remercie aussi l'université Yale qui a mis à notre disposition ce magnifique cours.

Salutations

por Emma G

May 29, 2020

I'm not college age yet and am still in high school, but I felt that this was a very informational course that will help me to be prepared to enter the world of becoming a music educator in college. It was a sort of introduction to me of what college-level music classes might look like, and I just overall enjoyed the course. The instructor was great - very experienced, knowledgeable, and funny. I really enjoyed learning about the different styles, terminology, composers, and eras of classical music. Overall a wonderful course and would recommend!

por Barbara K

Apr 27, 2020

A wonderful course, constructed very well to teach and reinforce ideas, concepts and knowledge of music which prompts one to look further, read and listen more. Ties in with art, architecture, history, literature, dance, theatre, artisans, science, the human struggle, the world and the universe. The depth of knowledge that Professor Wright has on a lot of subjects, his sense of humour and gift of bringing the subject to life in an interesting way, has made this a most enjoyable course and way to spend some of my time in retirement. Thank You

por Pavel T

Dec 10, 2017

The one of the best courses I've ever had. I realized that before this course I knew about the classical music almost nothing although I was confident in the opposite. Craig is a great teacher and he showed me the classical music from a totally different angle. I discovered a lot of new names, especially Hildegard von Bingen - an absolute hit! Before starting this course I was afraid it would be boring and too "classic" but luckily I was a million percents wrong! Thanks for this wonderful journey through the classical music world!

por Christina

Jul 31, 2017

This is a terrific in-depth course introducing the history of classical music. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in music. It will provide a sound foundation from medieval through modern music periods. This multimedia course is based on the instructor's excellent textbook (which is helpful but not necessary if you audit the course) plus many years of tecahing undergraduates at Yale. The Office Hours portion of the course, which is optional, was terrific, too. I give course and instructor an A!

por Yining S

Mar 28, 2019

This is a truly wonderful course that surveys the history and development of Western music. The professor explains the details very clearly and makes the course interesting. The first two weeks were a little dry for me, because the course started with the many technicalities of music. After the first two or three weeks, it becomes much easier to follow. Now I can go to Baroque opera and Stravinsky concerts knowing what to pay attention too! I am very grateful that the professor has done such a wonderful job!

por Isabelle J

Apr 25, 2020

Un cours particulièrement clair, dont l'objectif: donner envie de découvrir, d'en savoir plus sur la musique classique, son histoire, ses différentes théories est atteint, dans mon cas en tout cas! Bien qu'à la portée du plus grand nombre, il reste d'une parfaite exigence intellectuelle. J'ai suivi ce cours avec un vrai plaisir: plaisir de redécouvrir un savoir parfois oublié, plaisir de s'enrichir à travers de nouvelles connaissances musicales. J'ai particulièrement profité des morceaux donnés en exemples.

por Jessica B

Dec 14, 2018

I so thoroughly enjoyed this course and have noticed that I appreciate classical music much more, it's so exciting when I can identify an era or composer just by listening and using my knowledge from this course! Professor Wright is a delight and also ties in other subjects and does a great job of creating an engaging course. I particularly enjoyed the brief opera reenactment. I just can't say enough great things about this course, I highly recommend it if you are remotely interested in classical music.

por Lisa M C

Mar 14, 2020

Dr. Wright is fabulous and the course is challenging and provides a comprehensive history of classical music, demonstrating, among other things, the classical roots of most modern popular music. I very much enjoyed learning about musical forms and structures, which has greatly enhanced my appreciation of all music. I was a classical music and opera fan before I started, but now I am inspired to continue my studies to learn to read music and play the piano. Thank you Dr. Wright!

por Max-F. S

May 24, 2020

Highly recommended course. This course has been the best introduction to classical music and its styles of music. I have actively listened to classical music for the last 25 years but haven't had a full picture or analytical skills to the level I gained after this course. Prof. Wright is an engaging, entertaining and experienced professor. One of (if not the) best ROTI (Return On Time Investment) in my life-long learning journey. Thank you very much to Prof. Wright and his team!

por Faris K

Nov 12, 2017

I absolutely loved this course beyond my expectations. It was so interesting, engaging, at times challenging and thoroughly enjoyable. I will miss dear Mr Craig Wright and his lectures though will revisit the videos again and again (as long as I can). This was and is a most excellent introduction to Classical Music (in fact, I think it went further than a mere introduction). I also feel very privileged to be able to do a course offered by Yale. Well done all!