Chevron Left
Voltar para História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança

Comentários e feedback de alunos de História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
2,246 classificações
597 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

Melhores avaliações

TR
11 de Ago de 2020

This course was awesome. A combination of the history, sociology and practical architectural / implementation elements of modern digital and internet technology. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks Chuck!

SB
6 de Jan de 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 586 Avaliações para o História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança

por Sey C

24 de Out de 2016

The title says it all. Great overview of the history, technology, and security of internet. From the title and the nature of these lecture type courses I was worried it would be boring, but not with Dr. Chuck :) He brings all of the concepts down to earth and help us understand them thoroughly at the same time. Highly recommended for everyone, especially non CS majors jumping into programming!

por Geoffrey P

15 de Nov de 2015

This was my first course that I completed with Coursera. The highlight was the lecturer Chuck Severance whose relaxed style and sense of humour made it that much more worthwhile. My only regret was that he had the Office Hours in London on the day of The World Cup Rugby final-now imagine that in the States!!- for American Football. All in all an excellent course- more of Prof Severance please!

por Max

25 de Abr de 2018

Outstanding course with an incredible professor. You can clearly see that he's passionate about what he's talking about and really conveys the vibe that was around to build the internet. Makes you want to know more, dive deeper and build stuff. Exactly what education and learning should be like. An the information is presented excellent as well. Cant imagine a way to make it better.

por Vamsee

24 de Out de 2015

This course is a must for anyone who wants to understand the fundamentals of how the internet works. The content, videos, and the teachings of Dr. Charles severance are just great, very precise and to the point with real life examples and interviews. It has been much more than what I had imagined and expected. Thanks very much Dr. Charles Severance and Coursera for a great course.

por Pete

26 de Jan de 2016

I found this to be more a 'have fun' improve your general knowledge course than something a bit more focused like learning to program in a particular language.

Having said that this is probably the single course on Coursera in which I have had the most genuine fun. The topic if just fantastic and the videos from so many of the key players is just incredibly interesting.

por Rob P

11 de Mai de 2017

Very good, organised, well thought out and presented history of the internet. Excellent interviews with people that shaped network computing technology to gain in first hand perspective. The material is easy to understand and would be an excellent MOOC for the first time user as I was. I am looking forward to more MOOC learning as a hobbiest of education.

por Tewboo

24 de Abr de 2017

Dr.Chuck is really a good teacher and a good mentor, the first lesson I learned from him was Python, and this(IHTS) is the second one, really want to say thank you face to face with Dr.Chuck and really want to join the office hours, but whatever I want to say thanks again to Dr.Chuck and Coursera, for all knowledges you gave me, thanks!

por Erik I

9 de Ago de 2016

Excellent course on the history of computers, computer networks, world wide web and a brief introduction into PKI. The interviews with the different "founding fathers" of previous topic is marvelous. To hear how the "Old School Heroes" brought us the technology and products of the technology is actually quite mesmerizing. Super Course!

por Shahzaib A Q

16 de Ago de 2015

This course about the creation of the 1/0 communication world. I learn internet Basic, History, Evolution and University of Michigan Involvement. I experienced experts view about internet development and its development issues.Specially I select University of Michigan Courses because My honorable respected Teacher Sir Charles Severs.

por Kody K

8 de Dez de 2015

Excellent overview on the history of the Internet, the technology that it consists of and how security measures started and are currently being utilized. The professor, Dr. Chuck Severance, is excellent in his ability to teach and show passion for the subject. Overall, a great course to take for beginners and professionals alike.

por Luka Č

25 de Ago de 2017

A great introduction to how the Internet came to be. The course shows how and why the internet was created, it shows the architecture of the internet (which we take for granted a lot more than we should), and lastly, it shows how cryptography makes everything we do online safe and secure against unwanted eavesdroppers.

por Cristina M

17 de Mai de 2020

Dear Professor Chuck,

I really enjoyed your class. It was very interesting and it taught me a lot about the internet. I had to be very focused on your classes as the subjects (Bletchey Park bit a part as I love history) were very hard to me to understand (I;m zero technical), but I had a great time! Thank you!

Cristina

por Alexandrine W

25 de Jun de 2017

Really great course! Dr Chuck's explanations are clear and makes the material very approachable. Another great thing about the course is that there are several interviews with the inventors and innovators in the Internet world. I highly recommend taking this course, even if it just for the sake of curiosity!

por kateryna k

20 de Ago de 2015

It's an excellent introduction to this Internet stuff.

Decryption tasks are by far my favourite. Using Excel made it easier.

Interviews with all these people are incredible.

And of course Dr. Chuck's lectures, explanations and analogies are really helpful even for non-native English speakers like me.

Thank you

por Jean-Sebastien A

31 de Ago de 2015

I loved this course that was my very first to follow in 2013 (and one of the first best courses available). Charles Severance brings us into the deep, fascinating and complex history of a tool that we so commonly use nowadays.

Really a must-study to understand better our world and how all that thing works.

por Helal a

26 de Abr de 2020

Feeling successful is wonderful when you challenge yourself to learn something new and get tired to get that success..Thank you very much, I learned something new for me..It was fun and very useful and I am very proud of what I learned with you. You are wonderful and deserve all appreciation..Thank you

por Shashidhara G

28 de Set de 2015

This course gave me great insights into the evolution of the internet, computer networks. Interview videos of people behind all the magic is an excellent collection and it is really informative to comprehend the big picture. I am very happy that I enrolled into this course and I am enjoying it.

por Aman k

10 de Jun de 2020

wow I am very very happy this course is amazing and also instructor

Dr. Chuck is a amazing person and his teaching style is very very nice

Thankyou very much Dr Chuck this hard and difficult subject you make very easy and amazing way of study I understand everything

And also thank you Coursera

por Jose L F F C B

5 de Mar de 2019

Very good course. Great instructor. Highly recommended.

It is truly beginner level, so as one that have already studied Internet protocols (in the early 90's) I feel that I didn't learn many new things, but it was fantastic as a recap.

The interviews with Internet pioneers were very insightful.

por Bart U

21 de Set de 2015

Excellent course! This with content brought by the tech Giants themselves. All of which is clearly explained and elaborated upon by Dr. Chuck. Ever wondered who invented JavaScript? How and why? You'll find out here and many more.

This all brought in the right flexible and mobile format for me

por Oana R

21 de Set de 2015

This course was great! It was also my first MOOC! It cleared up a lot of the things that were blurry before. I especially enjoyed the Security part, which I deal with tangentially at work and I could never quite grasp the concepts, but now I do.

Thank you very much, Dr. Chuck and the team!

por Deepa G

10 de Set de 2015

Wonderful course, delivered in a very fun way by Dr. Chuck. Enjoyed it, although it got slightly dry in places. Really loved how this course incorporated interviews with famous minds of the technology world so we can understand how they thought and what problems they were trying to solve.

por Camila C

17 de Mai de 2020

Muy buen curso para comenzar con la historia del Internet. Para principiantes absolutos como yo es , quizás, necesario complementarlo con algunos vídeos explicativo de otras fuentes (Youtube fue una salvación para mi) pero te da muy buena guía de los caminos a recorrer. Recomendable!

por Juan D G

24 de Ago de 2015

Aunque es el primer MOOC que termino, no es el primer MOOC en el que me he inscrito. Si he terminado este, es por que su contenido, así como el profesor (Dr. Charles Severance) es bastante bueno. Muy recomendado para todo aquel interesado en entender un poco más lo que es Internet.

por Sarvjeet S

20 de Jun de 2020

Another Outstanding course from Dr Chuck, I think He is an amazingly self explained teacher and also an interesting person(graduation ceremony was truly motivating :) ). So the course was great and interesting, content was really well managed. I loved it and highly recommend it.