Chevron Left
Voltar para Industrial Biotechnology

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Industrial Biotechnology da instituição Universidade de Manchester

4.7
estrelas
2,459 classificações
579 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Melhores avaliações

MK

5 de mar de 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

28 de abr de 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 583 Avaliações para o Industrial Biotechnology

por Michael N

8 de mar de 2019

it was pretty good. I learned a lot. Im from Dominican Republic and i didnt know how wonderful and widely is this area of industrial biotechnology. it makes me wanna know more about all of this

por Lahiru P H

26 de set de 2021

The course was super awesome... Thank you for offering me a financial aid and for issuing the certificate without any discrimination.... Thanks a lot COURSERA and THE UNIVERSTY of MANCHESTER... I love its content and I'm sure that one won't regret to spare time on this !!!

por Datta D G

21 de nov de 2021

The course is not in-depth, it will give you a good idea about the actual practice used in the field of industrial biotechnology but you will not learn to apply those practices. The course is like a solid overview upon industrial biotechnology without practical application. I would not blame anyone for this since its online course and having practical hand on skills like genome editing, DNA editing, process scale up is quite impossible. In the end I felt like the course in more oriented towards the pharmaceutical sector instead I was hoping to learn more about biofuels. Anyways, I am happy I did this course. I got to learn so many new things. Hope so I don't have any issue with certifications.

por Wael G E

28 de jan de 2020

a very nice course for a beginner like me to start understanding the wonderful world of biotechnology in industry. I would like to improve in this course is to offer a certificate of achievement.

por Atul B

12 de out de 2021

Some of the concepts were probably much more suited to an experienced practitioner as opposed to someone seeking introduction to principles of biotechnology

por Anas M s s y I

30 de abr de 2020

the first week was so of point but the other weeks are grate

and the other star for not having a certificate :(

por Shivani N L

15 de abr de 2020

It could've been more interactive and the notes in the ppt's more short and sweet .

por BEATRIZ L P

6 de abr de 2020

Great course, however you must offer a certificate

por Muthu 9

15 de dez de 2019

This was a very interesting course. It showcased a variety of techniques that are currently being applied in the field of biotechnology. This course provided a wide variety of industrial applications of biotechnology being applied in various sectors.

por Aura A T G

10 de mai de 2021

Es un curso muy completo que te introduce a diversas áreas emocionantes de la biotecnología. Da ejemplos concretos y complementa bien tu conocimiento si estudias una carrera relacionada a estos temas. Definitivamente lo recomiendo :D

por Moiz K

6 de mar de 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

por Shivaji B M

13 de jul de 2020

such a excellent platform, educators are so well they explained each and every concept in very simplified way.I am very happy to gain a lots of knowledge abot actual industrial biotechnology

por Heidy X F G

16 de abr de 2021

Me gustó bastante la temática que trataron en el curso, algo bastante interesante y aplicable para mi profesión.

por Amal A

8 de out de 2021

Very informative. Got to learn a lot as a high school student, but I had to do some extra research and reading on the respective topics for better understanding.

por Deepak Y

12 de abr de 2020

Helpfull

por Sherif A K E G

15 de dez de 2021

it is hard to grasp the material, the instructors are very fast and not emphasizing the important key points.

por Sebastian S

1 de abr de 2020

Usable as a very general overview, detailed insight lacking.

por Wong K H

16 de mai de 2018

Highly useful. But I wish there was an explanation for terms

por Vedika N

2 de fev de 2020

i really like the course and it was quite informative

por Sonali k

16 de mai de 2020

This course was very helpful and provide lot of information

por Debankita D

11 de set de 2021

Did not receive any certificate at the end, which was quite unexpected..After taking the assignments, there must be a recognition at least.

por Angelo R

8 de mai de 2021

The course certificate needs to fix, instead of Manchester it says Man and the rest is missing.

por Maily S G A

13 de set de 2020

Certificate problems. The university logo does not fully load on the certifcate.

por Patricia M N

15 de jul de 2020

Thanks to all professors of the Industrial Biotechnology course. The course syllabus was very well designed with every topic being taught in depth; which allowed me to learn a lot and enjoy each topic. My only complaint is that given the advanced level of the course there was not certificate available. I would like that in the future the University of Manchester offers in Coursera a specialization degree in Industrial Biotechnology and later a master and doctorate degree in the same field.

Besides, I would like that, given the depth experience of University of Manchester in this field, also offer courses in Molecular Tools for microorganism identification in soils and water and Microbial inoculant formulation for environmental and agriculture uses.

Thanks again for this wonderful course,

Patricia Martinez

Best Regards,

Patricia Martinez

Mostrar mensaje original

por Leidy J G G

15 de ago de 2020

It really was a course that contributed a lot to me, I am a student of engineering in agro-industrial processes and complement my knowledge about: -The enzymes, how they work, how they are manufactured, their classification etc. -Synthetic biology which is an evolving field, designing a genome,production of useful molecules, the central dogma, directed metabolomics -Biochemical and bioprocess engineering, the subject of material balance was really captivating for me, I managed to understand the subject with the everyday examples it describes. I could go on to describe all the knowledge that this course offers, but in reality I can only recommend this course. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!