Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
estrelas
990 classificações
333 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

AL

May 03, 2017

I would love to provide this course to the faculty and staff at the school district where I work. I felt that I had an understanding of transgender but I was wrong. I truly enjoyed this course.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Sooraj S B

Oct 30, 2017

This class is beyond words to describe. I have never had a class shift my way of thinking so much. I am left constantly speechless at the beauty described by these stories. So strong are the children who are spoken of and speak in these lessons. A must take class for anyone.

por Blanca I M R

May 24, 2017

Very unique course, and a very important topic to talk about. I really loved it. I think every person should know the things that we learned here if we expect to have a better society. I love the way she explain everything in all her courses Ive taken but specialy in th

por Yulia G

Apr 03, 2018

Easy to comprehend, very well-planned with fun video materials and short quizzes and most importantly, this course gives a precious understanding that is extremely important to our society, priceless knowledge that I as a parent and a teacher absolutely must possess.

por Adela R

Oct 19, 2017

Great course, would highly recommend it to become better educated about the gender spectrum and have an overall better understanding as to what "transgender" really means, what transgender people go through, and how you can support them to the best of your ability.

por August C

Jun 14, 2018

Very well written and the videos are great. Very in adequation with the reality. You won't learn a lot if you know already about transgender people but the interviews and stories are great and i love the fact that this course focuses on children and youth

por Phoenix K

Jul 18, 2017

This was a remarkably kind and compassionate course, and as a genderqueer parent of trans kids, with a trans spouse, I felt that this course is vital for our medical professionals to have as a basis for their understanding in how to best treat us.

por Adela b j

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent introduction to a gender expansive perspective, which eased my way into the right vocabulary and some mechanisms for acting around children (and adults!!). Thank you for a brilliant course, I've been recommending it to all my friends.

por Amanda D

Oct 17, 2017

I learned a lot from this class. Although I have always been accepting of Transgender friends and family members, I did not know much about the medical implications. I also learned more about what I can do to support Trans individuals.

por Sonya L

Jul 26, 2017

I think this course should be available to anyone and everyone. The videos are terrific and I would love to use them in my talks on diversity and inclusion. It'd help bring more awareness and also encourage people to take this course.

por Vicki W C

Apr 18, 2017

Great use of time. Great introduction to the Gender Spectrum. Provided a variety of tools to support a transgender child. Recommended for parents, teachers, educational administration and all health care providers serving children.

por Redeemer G

Jul 13, 2017

A very informative short course who tackles several aspects in relation to the gender spectrum , health and social care. It provides a scientific feel and mostly a qualitative approach which gives a human aspect to the topic.

por Saadiya Y

Jun 30, 2017

This was really insightful. This course should be thought in every school and more awareness should be done on this subject matter, in order to create a less discriminating society. I will do my best to make this known.

por José L C P

Sep 30, 2017

Soy médico con especialidad en pediatría, me ha interesado mucho este tema, pero no es fácil encontrar artículos serios y con rigor científico. Con la Dra. Maya Adam ya tome un curso sobre alimentación, es excelente.

por Ajaykumar K

Jun 10, 2017

The first time I have actually been able to complete an online course. Perhaps, the format was very tactful about a sensitive topic. I worried that it might be very theoretical; but am happy that basics are covered

por Emma C

Nov 13, 2017

Really enjoyed taking this course. I think it is such an important course for all people in general to undertake, but especially in the areas such as health and education, as identified in the learning materials.

por Robbie A

May 22, 2017

I have recommended this to so many people as an excellent primer to help people understand gender and how we can support people who are trans, nonbinary, or gender nonconforming to feel supported and cared for.

por Jackeline Q

Jan 10, 2019

I love this course so much. It makes me think from another perspective this topic. I learned a lot so far and I am looking forward to apply the knowledge from this course on my personal and professional life.

por Richard M

Apr 21, 2017

So helpful! Really well done. The videos were GREAT and I want to come back and revisit them from time to time. I will also share these with my counselor friends and other educators so they can learn as well.

por Laurie B

Sep 18, 2017

I found this very information coming from other families points of views. My youngest came out several years ago and told us they are transgender and this has been a learning experience in humility and love.

por Jeanette R

Apr 28, 2017

I found the videos and graphics to be very engaging and helpful in teaching me more about a concept that I find to be incredibly important yet I did not know enough about. I definitely recommend the course!

por Marcela D C

Aug 06, 2017

I loved this course. There is so much humanity in it. Of course it has an excellent academic level, but guess what... in this kind of topics that is not the most important thing. Thank you very very much!

por Veronique M

Nov 16, 2017

I really enjoyed the clear and well explained concepts connected to the transgender spectrum. i have no doubt I will be better prepared to support and understand people dealing with transgender issues.

por Natalie Z D

Apr 20, 2017

Excellent content delivered in a manner that is easy to listen to and view. Great personal stories that help the "student" see real people and hear their views and feelings. Excellent course, thank you.

por OM P S

Apr 14, 2017

Oh My God. What a superb course. What a superb teacher. Fantastic teaching methodology. The ultimate way to advise parents to know and respect their kids. Kudos you endeavour to create a better society.

por Patricia B

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!