Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
948 classificações
327 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

AL

May 03, 2017

I would love to provide this course to the faculty and staff at the school district where I work. I felt that I had an understanding of transgender but I was wrong. I truly enjoyed this course.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Neslihan C

Sep 20, 2017

The course is very useful and efficient. Easy to understand for non-English speakers. I have learned a lot about gender spectrum.

por Renata C S

Jul 26, 2017

I recommend this course to everyone. It clarifies a lot many concepts, and may help people understand and respect more one another.

por Kalilah M

May 01, 2017

Solid, well-organized information and a great list of resources.

por Natalia H H

Jul 04, 2017

Controversial e interesante. Una buena guía para estar en una sociedad incluyente.

por Raquel M H

Jun 18, 2017

Great information a video material.

por Jessica G

Oct 10, 2017

A very thoughtful, informative, and moving course.

Many thanks, Jessica

por Jenny C

May 13, 2017

Very insightful and easy to understand with illustrations. Provides fantastic interviews and draws on the expertise of other healthcare professionals to provide a diverse view.

por Rev. D R

Jul 15, 2017

Was content-rich but cursory enough for someone at the surface level to understand the importance of gender diversity and competencies in the professional and personal level. Discourse was not time consuming and I believe was worth my time I will definitely recommend this course to others it was well-constructed they were no technical errors or glitches and I believe the personal stories mixed with the clinical interjections was the perfect mix.

por Redeemer G

Jul 13, 2017

A very informative short course who tackles several aspects in relation to the gender spectrum , health and social care. It provides a scientific feel and mostly a qualitative approach which gives a human aspect to the topic.

por Lhasa C

Sep 03, 2017

Thank you for providing a forum to learn founded in both scientific and experiential study.

por Colleen B

Mar 31, 2017

Every mental health professional and professional that works with children should take this course

por Ivona O

May 29, 2017

I am really happy that I found this course and participated there. I´ve gained totally new information about problematic of gendre spectrum. Since I work with people on daily basis, I meet very different people day by day and thanks to this course I know, that I will feel fine when meeting transgender people, because I will already know, who I face to and how to work with them, so that both sites will be satisfied and pleased. This course encourrage me to sing up also for other courses that discribe different kinds of people. I can recommend it for professionals as well as for others. Thank you.

por Andréa C

May 22, 2017

Very informative and thought-promoting! Will definitely recommend to friends and family that have difficulty with the concept of the gender spectrum.

por Val R

Nov 04, 2017

I am a Brazilian woman, studying Psychology and this is my first semester in University, even tough I am a 46y.o. My classmates are half of my age in general, and despite of that they were a little concerned and scared when I proposed we to discuss gender identity focusing on the transgender people as the basis of our interdisciplinary paper for the semester. This program was key to my research and to enrich my vocabulary, it strengthened our position to present the importance for the professionals of psychology, to question themselves how to serve this community. I feel grateful to the Stanford University, for the opportunity to listen to the testimonials of so many people in a variety of roles and stages on the coming out as a transgender process. I think =, as a psychologist to be that I can and will serve people with a more open heart and mind, and more equipped to fight the expectations created on myself based on stereotypes.

por Sharon G

Nov 10, 2017

A wonderful and thoughtful course

por Blake B

Nov 16, 2017

I took this course in effort to simply educate myself and got far more than excepted. I cried during every video in week one and was deeply touched by people's stories and outlooks.

por Fabián S

Jan 06, 2018

Un curso muy completo y didáctico que da las bases más relevantes para comprender y poner en práctica la educación transgénero desde un punto de vista que abarca todo el espectro de género.

por Archina D

Apr 03, 2017

Definite course for people to learn and obtain a tool kit to understand transgender!

por Marissa V

Oct 03, 2017

Excellent course. As someone with a Master's in social work and a close friend who is trans, this course presented a lot of information I was already familiar with, and was a great refresher as to what attitudes I should bring to my practice. I have recommended this course to my friends and family who may not have had experience thinking about and discussing gender and gender identity, and how to best support trans individuals.

por Cecilia R

Apr 12, 2017

This course is amazing, I will recommend it to all my friends.

por Bryn M

May 12, 2017

Excellent and relevant course. Broken up into very manageable pieces. Loved this experience.

por Richard M

Apr 21, 2017

So helpful! Really well done. The videos were GREAT and I want to come back and revisit them from time to time. I will also share these with my counselor friends and other educators so they can learn as well.

por Gianna P

Jun 12, 2017

A really great introduction

por Jada D

May 08, 2017

Great course! Very easy to follow along with. It was very eye-opening for me and will definitely be remembered in the future.

por Adela R

Oct 19, 2017

Great course, would highly recommend it to become better educated about the gender spectrum and have an overall better understanding as to what "transgender" really means, what transgender people go through, and how you can support them to the best of your ability.