Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
946 classificações
327 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

FS

Apr 27, 2019

I would like to know more about LGBTs and as I am leaving in an Islamic country , I hope to help these high risk groups to be more accepted by others and be more healthy, sexually and mentally.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Isabel M G M

Apr 25, 2018

Inspiring

por Vijaya M

Apr 11, 2017

This was a great course, I learnt a lot !!

por eugenia c

Aug 08, 2017

excellent course

por Bart S

Aug 20, 2017

Excellent, please repeat this class

por Frances W

May 14, 2017

I never understood what transgender meant. I was given a very clear definition. But more than that it helped me understand how transgender children feel and how their parents feel. It made transgender real to me. I don't know anyone who is transgender but I know that after taking this course if I do meet someone I will be very aware of their feelings. I will accept who they are and be able to support them.

por Ajaykumar K

Jun 10, 2017

The first time I have actually been able to complete an online course. Perhaps, the format was very tactful about a sensitive topic. I worried that it might be very theoretical; but am happy that basics are covered

por Andrej M

Aug 11, 2017

Amazing course

por JUAN M L M

Apr 26, 2018

this course was great! very clear, helpful and dynamic.

por Jeyana M

Oct 03, 2017

This course is great! Thank you! The concept of gender spectrum was a revelation to me. I feel so happy and releaved now. And I want to become one of the voices, which are building a better, safer world. Thanks for the list of resources - as soon as I feel confident enough in this topic, I'll start telling about it to everyone who's interested. And now I'll definetely recommmend this course to people I know.

por Christine C G

Apr 17, 2017

A very timely and worthwhile course. I love how it is about learning and teaching important subject matter rather than being onerous and difficult. The videos are incredibly effective. Maya models the attributes of inclusivity and compassion that are necessary for this course.

por Jennifer A S

Apr 11, 2017

good class for learning about how to be inclusive and health for everyone on the gender spectrum

por Angela L

May 04, 2017

It very important information! this course have to be passed by every mom and dad.

por Nathalie M

Apr 19, 2017

Thank you for this course! The people, their stories and the illustrations are heart-warming and give me hope for a better world.

por Blanca I M R

May 24, 2017

Very unique course, and a very important topic to talk about. I really loved it. I think every person should know the things that we learned here if we expect to have a better society. I love the way she explain everything in all her courses Ive taken but specialy in th

por Marcela D C

Aug 06, 2017

I loved this course. There is so much humanity in it. Of course it has an excellent academic level, but guess what... in this kind of topics that is not the most important thing. Thank you very very much!

por Thomas A

Jun 06, 2017

I think the course is very well presented. Unfortunately, I was not convinced, however, by the material that all children/adolescents should have their ideas about trans be accepted so readily, especially for very young children. The course does not really describe the extensive interdisciplinary evaluation that accompanies each child and family, and the length of time and complexity of issues that are associated with each decision. Why not present some cases/material in which children returned to their sex and the reasons for their return. The scenario as presented is too simplistic (rosy) and too one way.

por Gretchen O

Apr 17, 2017

So appreciate this course and Dr Adam for creating it! It has been so helpful to understand what is happening to our children and to learn how we, as parents, adults, communities, and society can help encourage!

por Amalia C

Apr 15, 2017

This is a course all education teachers, parents and social workers should take.

por Marianela V V

Feb 02, 2018

Excellent course. I recommend it to all people regardless of their background. It is basic knowledge in order to have a better world.

por Oksana O

Aug 05, 2017

i'm glad i took this course and learned things everybody should be aware of

por JOHN Q

May 10, 2017

great course and timely as well

por Bárbara K R S

May 15, 2017

Very descriptive and clear vocabulary. You talk about, family, school and medical services.

por Ljubica A

Apr 21, 2017

The course allowed me to thoroughly understand the topic of gender spectrum. I have learned how I, as and individual, could help transgender people and their surroundings to strengthen their understanding, acceptance and relationship. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested to learn about the diversity which life has to offer to us.

por Geoffrey L L

May 17, 2017

Great caring course. I highly recommend it to all.

por Elisa C

Nov 03, 2017

I found the course very inspiring and helpful: it made me disclose a wide world i was not that acknowledged about. Thank you very much for this opportunity! I really hope people mentality could widen and be receptive and sensible to such delicate themes.

I feel a better person now.