Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
946 classificações
327 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

AL

May 03, 2017

I would love to provide this course to the faculty and staff at the school district where I work. I felt that I had an understanding of transgender but I was wrong. I truly enjoyed this course.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Pamela M

Sep 15, 2018

This was excellent and I will be suggesting this course to all of my friends and colleagues who are interested in supporting children and youth.

por Clavero v s

Sep 19, 2018

Excellent course!!!!

por Jose M G S

Sep 23, 2018

Excellent!!!

por Gabriel H

Sep 11, 2018

A great overview of the key concepts - supported by some very informative and eye-opening individuals sharing their own experiences. Great stuff!

por LAURA E H E

Sep 24, 2018

I loved this course, I am a professor in a private university and I would like to help my transgender students with the tools I acquired at the end of this instructive course. In order to be able to be of help for the students I need a certificate of completion of the course "Health Across of Gender Spectrum" to deliver it to the Directorate of the School of Architecture where I work and to start a program of support against discrimination of gender. Thank you very much!

por Uzoma O N

Oct 02, 2018

Very informative and engaging. Thank you.

por David J H

Mar 28, 2017

Excellent introductory course. Well worth the effort and valuable for parents, family, teachers, healthcare workers and others.

por Tintu M

Sep 18, 2017

I loved the course. Very enlightening and interesting.

por Sarah S

Feb 14, 2018

I really enjoyed this short course, and found the personal stories and animations to be helpful in really understanding the journey of transgender kids and their parents. I think this would be ideal to share with those not familiar at all with gender studies, as it is an easy and supportive introduction. Great for teachers as well as parents and healthcare professionals to understand some basics. Thank you!

por Rafael d l C G

May 10, 2017

An incredibly personal and touching way of making us understand the complexities and depth of these experiences that transgender people go through.

I consider this a great way to educate us all, those related to a transgender student or adult, or not, about the humane aspect of this process, the importance of activism and more than anything, about the love, the empathy and the understanding without judging so needed in our societies and in our interpersonal relations.

I don't feel I am a better person after this course, I feel though, that I am a more sensitive person, a less judgmental individual and a more loving and caring member of my community. I feel empowered to stand for what I believe.

por Rubina H

Sep 13, 2017

I want to translate this course in my language, Just to develop understanding in my culture.

por jay w

Aug 24, 2017

This is amazingly accurate and it really lets the kids speak for themselves. It's very gently introduced and is good for all audiences.

por Victoria R S

Apr 11, 2017

This was a very interesting and mind-opening course. I have to admit that I did not give much thought to transgender, and I am very glad that this course was suggested by Maya Adam, MD in another course. I hope this information spreads around the world and we all become more inclusive and caring.

por Simon M

Aug 26, 2017

I found this short course informative and easy to understand. It contains useful, practical help for people working with transgender individuals, honest and open testimony from transgender individuals and their parents.. and great examples for transgender people to show the respect and acceptance that everybody should receive.

por Kristen C

Apr 15, 2017

This course should be required learning for everyone. Accepting people for who they are is the greatest gift we can give people.

por Alexandra

Jul 03, 2017

a must for every parent and every specialist working with children worldwide

por Jeanette C

Jun 09, 2017

Very inclusive and comprehensive material on the subject matter.

por Veronika B

Feb 07, 2018

Excellent course! It really show multiple perspectives about respecting the human thinking and feelings, starting with kids and evolving in to adults.

por Nolan R

Apr 12, 2017

Everyone should engage in this course

por Maria F d O V

May 08, 2017

The best of all was hearing the children speaking for themselves and telling how they felt. Heart warming!

por Heather K

Jan 03, 2018

This is a great introductory course to supporting gender identities.

por Nancy Q P

Apr 13, 2017

I really enjoyed the class. Opened up my eyes to a new level. Being a mom i feel i am more aware and listen to what the little ones say. Honor and respect their view. Thank you!

por Noël L

Oct 11, 2017

I loved this course. I am genderfluid myself, and took this course to ensure I am up-to-date on my current research knowledge as I'm pursuing a certification as a lactation consultant. Very few LCs have experience with lactation transmen, and while I don't either (yet!), I want to be able to serve ALL of my populations effectively and with as few screw-ups as possible. I feel like this course has been a great help and refresher, and will be recommending it to some of my personal and professional colleagues.

por Jeane A

Apr 15, 2017

I took this amazing course and found myself crying through the first 3 videos. I never knew what the child and parents experienc. My state is planning to pass a "bathroom bill' and I now know the full horrors of that. Being transgender is not a religious issue or a female privacy issue, but rather reaching out to children who need acceptane, support, and understanding. A wonderful course taught in a beautiful manner. A must for all teachers, parents, and healthcare providers! Thank you!