Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
estrelas
1,350 classificações
470 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB
10 de Mai de 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM
17 de Mai de 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

Filtrar por:

426 — 450 de 465 Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Jack E

25 de Nov de 2019

Not very in depth. It's no complex sociology class, but all in all it's a thought provoking, sensitivity building course that I enjoyed.

por Sheila R

17 de Nov de 2019

I felt I was able to learn more from this course since it offered first hand thoughts and feelings from transgender people.

por Denise I

29 de Abr de 2017

Well presented and easy to understand. It would be good to see more information relevant to high school aged children.

por ALEXA F G

17 de Abr de 2017

this course is very complete in the aspect to learn different things to orientation in our lifes

por Jasmine J

16 de Mar de 2018

Really good course to take for individuals that work with youth. This course was very helpful!

por Sairah M S

11 de Nov de 2020

would have been nice to get a certificate of completion after, other wise course was great.

por Emma K

29 de Out de 2020

A good introduction course into gender identification and how to create an inclusive space.

por Evelyn J

26 de Mai de 2020

The content is great and very inspiring. However, it only covers very basic information.

por Prashanthi K

10 de Jun de 2020

I enjoyed the course. Assignments helped to recollect and reflect on the learning.

por Emil

16 de Jun de 2020

The course is very actual. I think, there is some policy behind this course.

por JENY C N C

2 de Mai de 2020

THERE IS AN OPTION ONCE THE COURSE IS OVER, YOU CAN PAY TO GET THE DIPLOMA.

por Vasundhara A

10 de Jul de 2017

The course is highly informational and the stories are very touching.

por Aditya G

17 de Abr de 2017

Useful primer on applying inclusive principles across spaces

por Akhil T

12 de Ago de 2020

Please send my certificate of completion of this course

por Spyros T

19 de Mai de 2017

In my opinion, the course is a good intro to the topic.

por Thiemo M

11 de Ago de 2017

I never gave gender much thought, it is an eye opener

por Sebastiaan v J

29 de Mar de 2017

Takes your ideals one step further.

por Mark J R

3 de Out de 2017

Great course, very informative.

por Bishal P

17 de Set de 2020

Learning & acknowledgement

por Priya S

4 de Out de 2017

Very good course.

por Raine M

25 de Nov de 2017

This course is great if you want a really basic beginners understanding of transgender and nonbinary people. My biggest issue with this course is separating sex and gender from each other and calling trans people, "biologically a girl, but view themselves as a boy" (and things along those lines). That just creates a way for transphobic people to further misgender and hurt trans people; they see that as a loop-hole to be disrespectful. Another issue I had was the lack of discussions about nonbinary people; I wish we were more included because we have unique problems that do align with trans people (and a lot of us identify as both transgender AND nonbinary), so it's a big disservice to have is practically excluded from the discussion. I also had a problem with a lot of the professionals who were speaking; most were cisgender people and I wished we could hear our own voices and expertise on this subject rather than having cis people teaching all about it. I also think there was too much focus on parents' perspectives on things, which were almost always transphobic ("I had a boy but now they're a girl and I miss that boy" or something along those lines). It takes away from the message that you're here for trans people when you have parents speaking in this way. Again, this is a good class if you want to generally understand trans and nonbinary people, but don't use it as your sole source of information.

por Bianca L B

2 de Nov de 2017

At one point, I felt like the subject was very broad or that we were going over the same subject again and again. The course was more about Health Across Gender Transitioning than Gender Spectrum. We did not truly cover the many differences (except at the beginning of the course) of noxnbinary individuals and how they fit into the spectrum, or gender dictionaries describing the many terms (lesbian, homosexual, bisexual, transexual, zen, binary, etc) that are recognized throughout the gender spectrum. Overall, the course needs to cover more specific issues.

por Aleister M

6 de Ago de 2017

Speaking as a trans person, this is was a very informative class with a lot of clarity and true information. Speaking as a trans non-binary person, this course erases my identity quite a bit. Although there are attempts to explain gender outside of the binary, this course is lacking in being inclusive to ALL trans people and not just transgender folks who identify within the binary. Additionally, it doesn't give enough validity to the real issue surrounding the murders/deaths/health issues for transwomen-especially transwomen of color.

por June S

26 de Set de 2018

It was an interesting introduction to what trandgender means but I think it covered less than it could have. I think all that have been said could havebeen taught during the first week and then, it would have been interested to go deeper into the psychological and medical details that are/can be involved.

However, for people who do not know exactly what transgender means, it gives them a good overview.

por Deirdre A H

3 de Mai de 2017

The quizes and tests had trivial answers, almost all could have been answered without watching the videos. More additional resources and a block on adult transgender persons, rather than just a couple of token transgender adults who are Stanford professors, would be nice. The videos were good, especially the ones involving children. The videos with professors were decent but could have been better.