Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of GIS

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of GIS da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.8
estrelas
3,145 classificações
887 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Melhores avaliações

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JS

Feb 21, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. The emphasis is on learning how to use the software so you can start working quickly. I highly recommend doing all the optional assignments in the textbook.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of GIS

por Ben J T

Sep 30, 2016

A really great course! I would recommend this to people who wants to know or master the basics of GIS. Thank you for this course!

por Yash D

Feb 13, 2018

great material, nice teaching style and supporting documents and 1 year Arc Gis subscription are the great things of this course

por ALFREDO J D L H S

Nov 17, 2017

Excellent course, provides very good bases for those who start with GIS in addition to a great practical experience with ArcGIS.

por Elizabeth P

Mar 23, 2016

This course is great! Make sure you try and do the assignments without the step by step directions and the end will be a breeze!

por mohamed e e

Jul 08, 2018

very good and useful but try to finish it fast as u can cause at the final week u have to get review a task by 2 in the course.

por Goran P

Nov 06, 2017

A very good introduction to GIS and I really mastered basic knowledge of ArcMap in a very short time.

I certainly recommend it.

por Evan R

Jul 25, 2017

This course is exactly what a beginner needs to know! Very well explained the basic ideas and great hands on materials as well.

por Md. A S

Oct 27, 2018

This course is just awesome. All course materials and teaching methods are so interesting. I have learned a lot as a beginner.

por Ashley C

Oct 22, 2016

Great course! I took a GIS class a couple of years ago, but have not used the software since then. It was a great refresher!

por Long P

Jul 17, 2016

A very useful course! I am now working with the GIS, and this course really helps me to solve a plenty of problems. Thank you.

por Purav

Mar 04, 2019

Course which teaches you the fundamentals at an easy pace and provides additional help for assessments and advanced learning

por María F P E

Sep 05, 2017

It's an excellent course. I really enjoyed it even though I had never had any ArcGIS experience before. It's well explained!

por Pramesh R

Feb 27, 2017

This is a great course for anyone who seeks to understand and use GIS for educational purpose as well as professional level.

por Sourav B

Mar 21, 2016

Excellent course. Learned a lot of things about fundamentals of GIS. Thanks to Nick Santos, UC Davis and Coursera Community.

por Edgar V

Dec 05, 2017

Excellent course. Nick's explanations are very clear; the assignments are great practice. It is a very well planned course.

por Jasper S

Jun 09, 2017

Well organized and structured. Gives you basic knowledge of GIS to be able to view projects or to build upon in the future.

por Mauro d T

Jan 03, 2017

Nick Santos is the greatest instructor! I came from not ever having opened ArcGIS to making simple maps in the second week.

por Leane H

Sep 06, 2017

Very good course! Easy to understand tutorials and the assignments are practical. Looking forward to the next GIS course.

por Juan E S M G

Aug 09, 2016

An amazing course an excelent material and an excelent teacher. I would like in my country the education was as Coursera.

por Mark G

Feb 01, 2019

Nick Santos lectures were clear, assignment instructions also helpful. The project was a tremendous learning experience.

por sayed s E

Sep 24, 2018

Thank you for this interesting first course in the field of GIS as a beginning in this field

I wish you further progress

por Mo'men S M

Dec 03, 2019

a great course to know the basics of GIS science and how to work on arcgis to make labeled maps and processing the data

por Mani N

Oct 22, 2017

Really more useful for basic learner ...and its very help for me...the way of teaching and practical works are amazing

por Inaqui L

Dec 03, 2019

A great introduction to using the software and the many accessible materials are available for download for use later.

por Jorge M S

Oct 02, 2019

It's been a great way to learn about GIS software, and the teacher is great, you can really see how he loves teaching!