Chevron Left
Voltar para Primeiros passos na escrita de artigos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Primeiros passos na escrita de artigos da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Irvine

4.7
estrelas
2,984 classificações
807 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Melhores avaliações

TR

26 de out de 2021

It is actually quite a simple course, easy to attend as it does not require a long time each week. However it did improve my writing skills, I'm considering to attend the next advanced writing course.

BD

16 de nov de 2015

Thank you for teaching me how to write basic essays. This has been one of my most important goals for years. I've tried several other ways of learning but your method worked for me. Thank you so much.

Filtrar por:

626 — 650 de 807 Avaliações para o Primeiros passos na escrita de artigos

por Jeon J

13 de jun de 2017

good

por Modestman

6 de jan de 2017

good

por vo n q m

28 de mar de 2016

good

por sandra

26 de out de 2015

:D

por DatTQSE150059

2 de abr de 2022

.

por Junho S

27 de jan de 2018

?

por Mery S

22 de jan de 2016

s

por Sheryl H

26 de mar de 2017

If you are looking to just take a class here or there, yes you can, but if you want the 5th course open to you you must complete the 4 courses before. Had I known this I would have started that way, instead I took 3 and tried to take 5, it does not work that way. If you are looking at cost, be sure to review the those options. While I didn't think I needed the other courses, I found it helpful to refresh my memory and it also helped understand the direction of the course material and assignments in detail. Even though it may look simple, always take notes during the lecture videos because by the time you get to the quizzes you might find your self stumped and the notes are great reminders on the outline principles of the subject. No, taking notes will not give you the answer, its not designed that way.

por Meryl C

21 de set de 2020

This course is alright. I like how the instructor's explanation (clear and precise) and her examples (very helpful)too. The only thing I am not really liking in MOOCs are those learners who keep plagiarizing. Cmon, there are instructions for each homework but I think I only reviewed one person who followed the instruction. Most of them submit a different topic from the 3 given topics and a lot just plagiarize. The first video of this course is about ACADEMIC INTEGRITY but some really don't care about it and it's unfortunate.

por Lenka " P

16 de abr de 2016

It is a good course in overall, it gave me an opportunity to practice writing and refresh some useful informations about how to write an argument. Minuses of the course: there is no indication of how long it might take for assignments to be graded, some of the students rush through their assignments so it is waste of time to review them instead of an opportunity to learn from others as it should be. Perhaps the non-granded assignments could be more though through to help the learning process?

por Yvonne O

29 de abr de 2016

I learnt a lot in this course that surprised me. I went from being terrified of essays to managing to write one a few pages long. Thank you. My biggest issue and why I didn't give it 5 stars if the grading is via peer review and this meant a long wait and lots of begging PLUS getting only one word reviews such as great. Not very helpful. I would like a person who is experienced in essay writing to do a review, but I do understand that, by sheer numbers of students, this would be non viable.

por Sreeletha N

29 de jun de 2021

I enjoyed doing this course; the structural steps provided for progression, peer assessment strategy and some of the video tutorials have been great experiences. Although peer assessment was an integral part, sometimes, there occurred an unexpected delay in getting your work reviewed and this provoked late submission warnings, which I think, can be disengaging for prospective learners. Overall, it’s a good course for high school learners who have a passion for writing.

por Jennifer T

18 de jan de 2016

Easy to understand introduction to essay writing. In future versions of the course, would be advisable if people were trained in how to give constructive feedback and there were measures implemented to ensure that people provided feedback. Sometimes I received gibberish as feedback such as "erg" or "uyt."

Training in feedback could include a sample list of common types of errors that people make or ways to give positive feedback that is specific.

por 俞倩

17 de jan de 2020

All the study materials are very nice, and the explanation videos are helpful. But I have a little suggestion. It would be better if this course lists some pre-requirements about what software we need to install or use before enrolling to this class. For example, essay assignments need to complete in Words document with specific format, and grades are based on formatting as well. However, I am using Macbook and do not have Microsoft Word.

por Alex B

14 de jul de 2020

Great course! Very hands-on and great videos and exercises. The problem lies in some of the people taking this course, who are not serious enough and tend to plagiarise and to provide you with limited and useless feedback. I also feel some of them do not even pay attention to the marking criteria. I think that an instructor should provide reviews on the essays, not other students.

por Karim M

20 de out de 2016

The course wonderful and just suffer from some shortcomings. First, it assess by the peers, sometime people just say "great", "wonderful". It surely don't help students who come here to improve themselves. Next, sometimes it is take too much time for assessments. There is no forum or somewhere that you can discuss about the course. There in one to ask about your ambiguity.

por Christian R B C

12 de jun de 2020

I like this course; I learned a lot of new things to improve my writing skills. I recommend it to you completely. However, this course has 2 negative points that it could improve: 1) evaluation system of essays (I think that it is not very good because it doesn't evaluate the essay structure); and 2) I hate that all the exercises needed Mozilla.

por Ishari M

8 de set de 2020

Thank you for giving this opportunity. I would like to add some points regarding this course. It is better if there's a way to grade our assignments by the experts rather than by peers since most of us are non native speakers. and when grading assignments, it is better if the course can focus on the content of our essays. Thank you!

por Kaushik G

31 de mar de 2017

It is great course for beginners who wish to learn how to write the essay. This course will build your foundation and their idea of peer review and topic practice will help you to make this foundation solid. I have greatly effected with this course and now i am able to write a 5 paragraph essay in a well manner.

Thanks

por Agim Z

12 de dez de 2016

All I wanted was to understand what a basic thesis question was, and what was considered an acceptable, basic, entry-level academic essay. I think this course delivered well enough. I only audited it, and I have thought since that I should have paid the money so I could have gotten more feedback on the assignments.

por Susan B

21 de out de 2020

"Getting Started with Essay Writing" is an interesting and informative course. I found the video lectures to be easy to understand, and the exercises helpful. I learned a great deal about the format for building an essay, and about different types of essays, and how and when to use each kind. Highly recommend.

por Abdul-Jabbar B

8 de fev de 2016

The course itself is exceptional. Instructor elaborates everything perfectly, but it takes really longer time to receive peer-reviews to pass the course. Also course doesn't have any forums where students can post that they need peer-reviews (which can be helpful to finish the course in timely manner).

por TOYAMA S

23 de fev de 2022

Especially it taught me how to write an argment essay effectively. I'd like to suggest that cross review of this course should have more criteria about the contents themselves. The criteria is only about the format. I think cross review and detail review criteria is the key!!

por Star

21 de mai de 2016

It was a fun course, and throughout the course I learnt the fundamental basics of essay writing. Only thing that could be improved on is to put some example essays for students to read as an assignment, and go through it afterwards. Also to talk a little faster.

por ElSayed M

4 de abr de 2016

Getting Started with Essay Writing helps me improve my writing, and changes my point of view toward essays.

But we need a feedback on the assignment essays from the instructor or any specialist, the peers review is not enough.

Thank you!