Chevron Left
Voltar para Primeiros passos na escrita de artigos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Primeiros passos na escrita de artigos da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Irvine

4.7
estrelas
3,011 classificações

Sobre o curso

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Melhores avaliações

EB

4 de dez de 2015

I am only on the second week an have done my essay and feel very powerful. English is not my first language but the instructor made it easy for me by detailing every aspect of essay writing. Thank you

TR

26 de out de 2021

It is actually quite a simple course, easy to attend as it does not require a long time each week. However it did improve my writing skills, I'm considering to attend the next advanced writing course.

Filtrar por:

776 — 800 de 819 Avaliações para o Primeiros passos na escrita de artigos

por Caitlin C

11 de mar de 2019

I feel it was good for the basics but it needs to be made more clear that this is really JUST getting started. It has no reference to how to write essays under a time limit and I would say it is quite unhelpful for UK students (I don't know about elsewhere out of the US). I don't really like the peer review system as people were unfair and then gave rude comments or just untrue/ unhelpful advice.

por Tim Z

26 de jul de 2018

Perhaps comparing to have writing classes offline, writing course online is not so beneficial for me, because all the feedback come from other students, but they are not as professional as teachers are. So the effect of this course only have me practice three essays but lack of modifications and improvement.

por Federico R

7 de fev de 2016

There is a problem with the peer reviewing of the assignment. Even you finished all tasks, you need to wait for receiving your grade. For example, I am still waiting for the grade of my assignments, specially I am waiting for more than two weeks for the grading of my assignment in week 2.

por Erin M

7 de fev de 2016

I didn't like this course as much. Mostly because the peer reviews were strict and unforgiving and as an experienced, essay writer, I didn't feel I needed the rigid, boring academic structure required for this assignment. However, I made it through with a decent mark so I'm grateful for it.

por Lavender W

5 de jul de 2020

It is not very difficult for me because I have a lot of knowledge about grammar and so on, so maybe it varies from person to person. I think it better make a test before we learned and give us suggestions to learn which part.

por Chieko T

6 de mai de 2019

It's a very useful course; however, peer graded system doesn't work well because we have few peers. On the other hand, Edx has a staff graded system which works very well. Coursera should reconsidered the peer graded system

por Catherine

16 de jan de 2017

The ONLY reason I rated low is because I paid this course and am receiving NO feedback from other students on essays. Very frustrating when you have tried to do your best but get no peer reviews.

por Trishant R

27 de jul de 2020

Good course for learning about essay writing. The course is very repetitive after Week 3 since the instructions for other essay types are the same. Overall, the course is easy to complete.

por Momin U

28 de ago de 2020

The learning experience was brilliant; however, in peer review, some fellow students give 0 marks without any definite reason. Fellow students need to take peer-reviewing seriously.

por Jose A V

30 de abr de 2020

The content is good but I wish there was more support from instructors. For example, giving a detail review of essays in order to learn a lot more would be ideal for students.

por Divya A

2 de set de 2020

It is not for all. Most profitable for school going pupil or college students. But lots to learn. Just not suitable for me.

por Maksim O

15 de nov de 2015

Much better than the first course in the specialization.

Too many dependencies on non-standard data formats, like MS Word.

por Jingfei Z

9 de jan de 2017

It is a good course, but if you want to hand on the assignments, you have to pay. So I am a little disappointed.

por Supantha R

7 de ago de 2020

The course was OK,but it could be better. They could provide us with more information.

por Portia A

16 de nov de 2015

Its ok, I didn't learn a little and I didn't learn a lot.

por 罗詹妮

29 de dez de 2015

Too easy. The example showed is not very academic

por Anwar R

27 de mar de 2019

Don't charge for the quizzes please. :D

por Karen R T

20 de set de 2020

It was a good course! Well organized!

por Luana B

16 de mar de 2016

The course was great and interesting.

por 匡翔宇

27 de mar de 2017

还行吧。当然只能带入门,学一点理论。要想学会论文写作远非这门课能做到的。

por Mohamad A T

21 de dez de 2019

Good learning opportunity

por Derrick G

17 de jul de 2019

looks good !!!!!!!!!!!!

por harpa ó

1 de dez de 2015

It was okay.

por Patricia

26 de fev de 2016

I took the first class in this specialization. I liked that enough to enroll in the second class, however I did not realize that it was being taught by the same teacher. Nothing against her, she certainly taught the class and met the objectives, she just speaks too slow/articulates too precisely for me. Also, I was not aware that Coursera changed the auditing policy. As an auditor, I am no longer able to participate in the assignments or quizzes in this class. Without the ability to do the assignments and receive peer feedback, it seems pointless to continue the class. Furthermore, there was a problem with the practice exercises... You need to download an app to do the practice, which I did several times, but the lessons or assignments never worked. I sent notes to coursera about this with no reply. The low rating is primarily based on the fact that I could not do the practice assignments and that coursera took away the ability to complete assignments and take quizes.

por Miriam R

9 de mar de 2017

The video lectures were good, the tests were almost a give away and the essays were an opportunity to practice what I learned from the lectures. My only BIGGEST disappointment is that the essays were evaluated by students like me. I received evaluations that doesn't tell me much or evaluations that doesn't make sense. If I only knew that this course was not an instructor supervised course, I would have been willing to pay extra money just to get a professional to assess my essay and provide me with feedback. At this point, I am disappointed that I decided to just watch the videos but skip the peer-reviewed essays and make the most of what I paid for.