Chevron Left
Voltar para Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
503 classificações
97 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind", game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Over four weeks of lectures, this advanced course considers how to design interactions between agents in order to achieve good social outcomes. Three main topics are covered: social choice theory (i.e., collective decision making and voting systems), mechanism design, and auctions. In the first week we consider the problem of aggregating different agents' preferences, discussing voting rules and the challenges faced in collective decision making. We present some of the most important theoretical results in the area: notably, Arrow's Theorem, which proves that there is no "perfect" voting system, and also the Gibbard-Satterthwaite and Muller-Satterthwaite Theorems. We move on to consider the problem of making collective decisions when agents are self interested and can strategically misreport their preferences. We explain "mechanism design" -- a broad framework for designing interactions between self-interested agents -- and give some key theoretical results. Our third week focuses on the problem of designing mechanisms to maximize aggregate happiness across agents, and presents the powerful family of Vickrey-Clarke-Groves mechanisms. The course wraps up with a fourth week that considers the problem of allocating scarce resources among self-interested agents, and that provides an introduction to auction theory. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-II-Syllabus.html There is also a predecessor course to this one, for those who want to learn or remind themselves of the basic concepts of game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/game-theory-1 An intro video can be found here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Game-Theory-2-Intro.mp4...

Melhores avaliações

AV
16 de Jul de 2020

This was a wonderful and very mathematically intensive course, but completing all the quizzes gave a great sense of accomplishment and developed my understanding of game theory and its various facets.

LV
1 de Mai de 2017

Very interesting! One missing thing: please write explanations for correct/incorrect questions in quizzes. In the basic course, I found them very helpful in understanding why my reasoning was wrong.

Filtrar por:

76 — 97 de 97 Avaliações para o Teoria de Jogos II: Aplicações Avançadas

por Matthew W

5 de Nov de 2017

A lot of the important results were covered but sometimes results came out of nowhere (for example with optimal auctions and virtual valuations).

por R.Athindran

23 de Fev de 2017

Overall, the course was good. Somehow, the concepts were not as clear as the basic game theory course. Definitely more advanced.

por Ryan B

6 de Jul de 2017

A good class with a good formal description and examples of game theoretic concepts.

por Koa Y

3 de Jan de 2019

Great course, I was really overdue but am hoping to get a certificate if possible

por Affandi I

13 de Abr de 2017

Great course, but I think It could be more vivid like its predecessor

por Roland R

10 de Jan de 2018

Great Course, same parts are challenging but i learned a lot about

por Hushan J

30 de Out de 2017

it's better to give explanations of the quiz when it is passed.

por Daniel A M S

22 de Jun de 2017

It was nice to have a second part with more specific subjects.

por Arshia S

11 de Nov de 2020

This course gave me amazing insight into game theory.

por Muhua X

11 de Set de 2017

It is very challenging but also interesting

por carlo p

2 de Set de 2019

Excellent skills obtained

por Mufizul I

28 de Jan de 2017

Very nice

por Fred V

6 de Set de 2020

Auction theory is left to the last lecture, and the influence of voting systems on political mechanisms is barely addressed. 3 different people lecturing, with different communication skills and flaws (hesitations, over-notating, abuse of acronyms), make following the course more difficult than it needs to be. These being said, it is clear that the authors more than know their stuff (at least the theoretical part; we would like to see them perform when bargaining in a souk) and bring a lot into the course.

por Cigdem K

15 de Out de 2016

The exams did not explain why the wrong answers are wrong. Even after you succeed a test, I expect an explanation of the questions, and the correct answers. Even if I have a correct answer to a question, I don't know if my reasoning is correct..

por Telmo J P P

18 de Out de 2017

Interesting, but not as good as part I. Some parts of the syllabus were not explained well enough: a lot of results just come out of thin air, and not a lot of intuitions are given.

por Emil

1 de Dez de 2020

Diverse course, which covered various topics. For the election processes however one could some illegal practices, which also could lead to a win. A democratic win...

por Martín B

18 de Set de 2019

Should have much more real examples. Voting schemes was right, but mechanism design was completely abstract

por Carlos F S T

15 de Nov de 2017

No es tan bueno como el primero. Sin embargo, tomarlo como continuación es interesante.

por Jeppe v P

8 de Jun de 2017

Interesting material, but sometimes hard to follow the lectures.

por Edmund L

6 de Jun de 2020

The beginning of this course was interesting much like Game Theory I, but the latter half of the course went over my head. It would have been helpful if problem sets and exam are given explanations after submission similar to how it was done in Game Theory I. Sometimes I have no idea how particular answers are obtained.

por Prabhupad B

13 de Fev de 2021

No proper explanations were given for any of the assignment questions, and also, in the lectures, the examples were missing. The course needs a significant improvement in terms of the content

por Mohammad Z

9 de Set de 2018

poorly explained lectures. you're better off reading a textbook