Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
estrelas
5,755 classificações
1,298 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 1,285 Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por James O C

Apr 09, 2020

This course guides you step-by-step from the basics, so it is for everyone who wants to learn Excel without minimum skills. Moreover, the video and quizzes help to review the materials. Overall, the course is amazing and timely managed.

por Natalie G

Jun 23, 2017

This course was a good basic introduction to some useful tools in Excel. The most useful tool I learned was the VLOOKUP function and pivot tables. Will definitely be employable for any career requiring simple to complex data analysis.

por Suraj K

Oct 28, 2016

Superb learning experience.If there is an advanced course to this would definitely love to do it .

Very good faculty support staff and very enthusiastic fellow students whose guidance and thought process gives a different perspective.

por Karen S Z

Jul 21, 2018

Solid introduction to Excel. If you are brand new to Excel, you will likely need to practice a bit and/or refer to other resources for additional skills. Even though I've been using Excel for years, I still learned some new things.

por Joel F

Aug 01, 2017

Good for beginners, although a bit complicated to get around all the language barriers in Excel and without using the ToolPak which doesn't seem to work for my Excel. I'd recommend having google nearby throughout the course. Good

por Mita M

Feb 02, 2017

Very useful but not necessarily a course for beginners. Understanding the concepts isn't tough because they are explained very well but the exercises can be challenging for people who don't have a functional knowledge of excel.

por Ashu M

Mar 03, 2019

The course content is very good, the questions at the end of each week are also very testing, which gives the learner confidence to test his/her own learning. The instructor's way of teaching will be clear to a layman as well.

por Eunice J

Jun 27, 2020

The only thing I would like to add is to keep in mind that students may be using a Mac. Professor Sharad explained how to get the Data Analysis Icon from an HP, not a Mac. The class was informative and I enjoyed it.

Thank you!

por D P R

Sep 28, 2016

Exceptional course. Course load is a little less if you're familiar with Excel before, otherwise learning while doing is really easy. The assignments are very practical and interesting. Looking forward for the specialization.

por Kushal G

Jun 26, 2017

A perfectly framed course,has perfect synchronization with the topic and graded quiz.The best part of thr course was ofcourse Sharad SIr and also graded quiz,it was really smart and required evaluative thinking.Thank you!!!!

por Dipanshu M

Jan 07, 2017

Excellent course to learn the basics of Excel and how to use it for day to day problems of data analysis.

In short it is a complete package for learning excel to beginners as well as for those who know a little about excel.

por Kenneth N B A

Nov 18, 2019

This course is one of the best that I've taken so far. I've always had a hard time navigating and using Excel due to its complexity. The course gave me (some) the necessary skills that I needed for my studies as a student.

por Karthik

Sep 14, 2019

I wish I had received a training like this when I first started working as an analyst 7 years ago. Although I was familiar with the concepts discussed, it was still useful to have them laid out in such a structured manner.

por Adira R

Apr 04, 2019

I really like the pacing of this course and of each video segment. The pace made it easy to follow along with the professor. I also appreciate that he doesn't use many shortcuts, and the few he uses, are used consistently

por Alexandre d A A

Oct 11, 2018

I was think the course is more complicated. When I have experience in Excel, I didn't have difficult for completed the course in few hours. But I think the others courses of the specialization can be more useful for me.

por Federico L

Apr 25, 2020

One of the best Coursera courses I have ever taken. You really learn to master some tools from the foundations to the advanced topics. Excellent non-trivial quizzes at the end of each week help you improve your skills

por Konstantinos N

Apr 27, 2018

Complete approach of basic skills and tools. Capable educator. Suitable for users who already grasp

basic functions of excel and fundamental notions of mathematics and analytical thinking.

Thank you for the course!

por Cayla C

Jul 30, 2018

Perfect course! I really enjoyed the lectures. Some quizzes were very challenging, but rewatch the video - I followed along with him on excel and just listened while I followed his instructions the second time.

por SWARNAVO P

Jun 15, 2018

Dear sir,I audited this course but I must tell you that this course had helped me a lot to learn about excel.Thank you to teacher and of course to coursera for providing such a high level course to us.Cheers!

por harsh s

Jul 11, 2020

The course was exceptionally good and it gives a bird's eye view of the different important and basic concepts in excel. Would recommend this course to anyone who love data analytics and want to pursue it.

por Abhik M

Jun 03, 2020

Very satisfied with the instructor, but just one suggestion to the coursera team, please explain the graded quiz questions more properly, so that it can be easily understood by mediocre people like myself.

por Shady N S

Nov 26, 2018

This course is amazing. It's for beginners as well. It teaches you the basic of data analysis using Excel. While you will enjoy taking this course, I encourage you to take the whole specialization as well.

por Sodiq O

Jul 12, 2020

An awesome course that gives you valuable knowledge in data analysis using excel, it makes you explore some unique features on Microsoft excel i.e you get to exploit some of the potentials of the software

por Akshay A

Aug 02, 2017

First of all, thank you for such a wonderful course. The subject matter was explained in a perfect manner. Also the user interface on coursera is very good. In totality it was a great learning experience.

por edith

Mar 27, 2019

Instructor did an amazing job in making this course easy to follow, understand and retain. The excel spreadsheets needed for each lesson were provided and downloadable.

Will look for more of his courses