Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel da instituição Universidade Rice

4.7
estrelas
5,927 classificações
1,335 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Melhores avaliações

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 1,325 Avaliações para o Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

por Sofia L

Jun 06, 2018

I'm using excel for a while but it's good this course refresh you knowledge to ensure you will successfully succeed and accomplish the whole specialization. Thumbs up Coursera.

por beata

Dec 30, 2016

Excellent introduction to Excel. I could revise my knowledge and I learned some new formulas. Videos are very helpful and explanation is clear. I strognly recommend this course!

por Victor I A

Mar 04, 2020

This course opened my eyes to the working of Excel as it concerns data analysis. I am glad I took this course and a big thank you to Dr Borle for making the course interesting.

por Sudhan B

Feb 07, 2020

Extremely beautiful course. I was pleased to get learned from the professor. The teaching was efficient. Detailed learning within a short period with excellent teaching method.

por Saurabh P

Dec 15, 2018

A great course! Would recommend this course to anyone who is willing to explore the field of Datascience or data analytics. All the topics in this course are covered very well.

por Nandana C

Jul 24, 2020

Course runs smoothly and slowly..clearly understandable..Practice assignments are also nicely framed to check if we have grasped the skills. Highly recommended for beginners.

por Justin B

Apr 28, 2020

An excellent introduction to Excel. In most workplaces having a basic grasp of Pivot Tables, V-Lookups, and IF commands is essential. This course will provide those skills.

por Zin W W H

Jan 01, 2020

Tutor can explain the lessons thoroughly to understand easily. So, I got high grades in all tutorials and got a high understanding of excel and data analysis. Thanks a lot.

por Lin Y

Jul 19, 2019

A very basic introductory course, however, arranged in a way that presents course content in a informative and interesting manner. Looking forward to the next few courses.

por Deepak N

Jan 31, 2019

I really learnt a lot in this course, I was a newbie with excel spreadsheets, now I feel comfortable handling data files and extracting valuable information from raw data.

por Nur S b M A

Jun 02, 2020

I have learnt a lot from this course. I thought I am already good at excel but this course helps me become more competent in using excel for business and other purposes.

por Aidalor B

Jul 30, 2020

the course is very helpful even if it took me sometime. the course needs to be performed in order to answer the quizzes and to be able to understand the topic discussed.

por Ajay S K

Apr 19, 2020

It is a well structured, practical & informative course who wants to understand the most important tool in any office. Great learning with interesting quizzes and tests.

por Pulkit B

May 24, 2018

A great course overall specially for those who haven't had much experience with MS Excel before. It was very insightful. A special thanks to the instructor Sharad Borle.

por Mohil J

Dec 04, 2018

This course us really helpful in learniong various excel analysis tools. I would recommend it to people who wanted to learn data analysis using excel.

Happy Learning !!!

por Noppol W

May 30, 2018

Very useful and easy to understand. Although I wish some of the content were more challenging, the quiz did a good job for soliciting good understanding of the material

por Rajat V

May 07, 2017

The step by step process that this course takes has helped me to completely understand what it offers. Also the evaluations has helped me to gain further understanding.

por JinHee L

Nov 28, 2016

Great pace, all very useful materials. Only thing is I wish the instructor gave the excel data files that he uses to demonstrate with so that students can follow along.

por Harsh K

Jun 20, 2020

Very informative and helpful course. Every single session is starting from very basics so it will be very helpful for all students who wants to learn from the scratch.

por Qiang T

Jul 22, 2020

very good course for me and it starts from very beginning of excel skill and finally i learnt lots of sorting and graphic skill. i think it's good for my future work.

por Arya

Sep 14, 2018

I just finished this lesson, and it's a really good resource for beginners even for every body start to work for a company. It can give you a fundamental about Excel.

por Gianina J C T

Jul 21, 2020

It's a practice course. I totally recommend it because in the classes the teacher use exercises and the evaluations are based on a Spreadsheet with data to analysis.

por Muhammad D S

Jul 17, 2020

Course has been designed in a very sequential manner. However, adding a bit more complexity to the graded and practice quizzes will make it more challenging and fun.

por Akash A M

Jun 03, 2020

Well, This course was very good. The instructor was clear at his point. Content was ultimate for every beginner. I got more that what I was expecting. Thank you sir!

por Swati S

Jun 01, 2020

This course is very helpful in understanding the basic excel interface. The quizzes of this course covers all part of the lectures and have a practical skill check.