Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.9
estrelas
1,887 classificações
618 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Melhores avaliações

JJ

Mar 22, 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 608 Avaliações para o Compreendendo Einstein: A Teoria Especial da Relatividade

por Mauritius X

Sep 14, 2017

Incredible. Now I can say to have learned the basics of relativity. A step by step approach with some math guided me through the field. Before the course I was simply aware of the major points of the theory accepting its conclusion bona fide. Now I got it. Thanks a lot professor. There is a reason why you teach at Stanford

por Joseph J

Jun 22, 2020

Such a great course with a superb instructor! The pacing of the course, in my opinion, was perfect. We certainly made haste, but we made haste slowly. Things were explained in a way, that the greater understanding of the math and "philosophy" behind it came together in a beautiful manner. So happy with taking this course!

por Cristian N

Jan 16, 2017

Excelente habilidad para la docencia mezclando el contexto histórico de uno de los más grandes avances de la ciencia moderna con las bases matemáticas y físicas necesarias para comprender la Teoría de la Relatividad Especial, de una manera didáctica y para todo público, no sólo para personas entendidas en física avanzada.

por Sam

May 13, 2017

Thank you Professor, your lecture is very interesting, and it is quite helpful to learn physics with a little history. I found that there are some mistakes in the subtitle, but it is not significant and I think I can understand it according to the context. Really impressive course, I hope I can see you in other courses.

por Heike S

Apr 26, 2018

“One should not pursue goals that are easily achieved. One must develop an instinct for what one can just barely achieve through one’s greatest efforts.”

― Albert Einstein

The course was varied and motivating in its structure. Professor Larry Lagerstrom is an outstanding personality. It was a very enriching experience.

por Steven G

Jun 22, 2018

Excellent course. I feel I gained some insight into the core concepts of special relativity. I took to heart the "festina lente" ethos exposed early in the course by the instructor. Larry Lagerstrom is a fantastic teacher, he has the ability to explain often complex material in a way to that makes it understandable.

por Felix S G

May 11, 2020

This course offers an excellent and intuitive entry to the special theory of relativity. In my eyes, it is suited for everyone being fascinated by space-time and the "weirdness" of our universe and at the same time wants to dig a little deeper into the physical and mathematical framework of special relativity.

por Gaurav B

Jul 04, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and it was informative and we'll presented. I think I will miss listening about time. For me its been much therapeutic. It challenges my brain to even visualize these concepts and hence I can spend as much time studying it. The presenter knows his stuff and like his simplicity.

por Daniel H d A C

Sep 05, 2017

An outstanding course, it was what I was looking for to get a good understanding of the topic.

Really good course progression, well explained concepts. I am definitely happy and "1000%" satisfied with this amazing course, Professor Lagerstrom is simply amazing and he definitely deserves a strong acclamation!!

por Solai S

Jun 24, 2017

It was incredibly interesting and enjoyable experience,the course instructor was fabulous and i could understand many mind baffling information with a surprising ease.I am looking forward for stanford university's course on the general theory of relativity and i hope that it is taught by the same professor.

por Randy G

Feb 14, 2018

Absolutely wonderful course. I am grateful to Mr. Lagerstrom for making haste slowly in his explanations during the lectures. Really helped to cement the concepts and the math into the mind. This course comes with my highest recommendation to anyone who is interested in learning about Special Relativity.

por Aman B

Oct 18, 2017

Excellent course which explores every concept of the theory deeply. It is a very interesting experience to see the theory build up little by little from scratch.

The discussions forums are great with active mentors.

I highly recommend it to anyone interested in science and willing to take some time out!

por Deleted A

Feb 05, 2017

This is one of best courses I have ever taken. Professor Lagerstrom did an outstanding job in this clear,consistent and careful introduction to what is arguably one of the most revolutionary theories of all time. I am taking the 5 stars and multiplying by a lorentz factor of 1.2 to achieve 6 stars!!

por Harjit B

Jan 08, 2019

Dr. Lagerstrom has done a beautiful job in giving an in depth view of the matter in a very accessible fashion. A complex phenomenon is explained in all its detail in a very nice blend of geometry and elementary algebra, The problem sets and the quizzes make you think. I fully recommend this course.

por Vijayatha V

Feb 03, 2018

This course is amazing!! Even a person without physics and mathematics background can understand it. Its also very help for physics undergrad students like myself. The professor explains every concept patiently and refreshes the concept before going to the next one. Every one must try this course!!

por Nitin G

May 21, 2020

I had been trying to understand this concept from a long time and could never understood it.

This is the best course i had done and the Instructor Sir in awesome, just awesome.

I will let my daughter also take this course.

Would require a signed photo autograph of Larry Randles Lagerstrom , Please.

por Felizitas R

Dec 28, 2018

Dieser Kurs war für mich als Neueinsteigerin genau richtig. Es wurde sehr verständliches Englisch gesprochen und die Begleitmaterialien waren ausführlich und hilfreich. Im Forum wurde auf Fragen immer sofort ausführlich geantwortet. Mir hat der Kurs sehr gefallen und ich habe viel gelernt.

por Mohammed M

Nov 04, 2018

This is the most interesting topic I've ever learned in my life.Tons*C2 of thanks to professor Lagerstrom who explained everything clearly and patiently and thanks to Stanford university too. I would so recommend this course to my fellow science enthusiasts and thanks to you too coursera.

por Shashank D

May 27, 2018

Very well designed course with good content and information. Also takes a methodical approach to teaching and is easy to follow and get a good understanding of the underlying concepts behind special theory of relativity with context around how it was conceived and developed by Einstein.

por Tristan

Mar 31, 2017

Great class. The professor is very careful, clear, and methodical. If you know basic algebra then you'll be able to understand everything that goes on in this course. The progression is nice and slow so that when you get to the "weird stuff" it all makes perfect sense. Highly recommend.

por Shubham J

Sep 19, 2017

We made haste slowly. :)

And, it helped absorb some concepts which I've read multiple times over and over but could never accept.

Despite having completed the course once, I keep revisiting the videos every now and then. It helps me further get the concepts as a part of my intuition.

por Victoria P

Jun 03, 2020

Es un curso espectacular para los curiosos que estén dispuestos a hacer el esfuerzo que se requiere para entender. El profesor es claro y preciso y el curso es llevado de manera que se va acelerando suavemente hasta llegar al núcleo de la teoría. Muchas gracias! Lo disfruté mucho.

por Olga G

Jun 26, 2018

Very well built and easy to digest course, even for somebody who is very far from maths and physics in day-to-day reality. Special thank you for refresh on school maths needed for the course - very helpful. The course takes some time and thinking, but worth it. Absolutely recommend!

por Liviu A

Dec 12, 2017

Great, approachable course of the high summits of the human mind. I am grateful that I had the chance to understand this (for now) - or merely to be in the position of asking educated questions - during my lifetime. Thank you, professor Lagerstrom, Stanford University and Coursera!

por Gustavo P

Oct 21, 2017

An excellent course! The professor's explanations are brilliant! And the exercises are well chosen and fit perfectly well the contents of the course. I cannot be happier with this course. Now I really feel I have a sound grasp of the Special Theory of Relativity and Einstein's life!