Chevron Left
Voltar para International Cyber Conflicts

Comentários e feedback de alunos de International Cyber Conflicts da instituição Universidade Estadual de Nova York

4.4
estrelas
685 classificações
153 avaliações

Sobre o curso

By nature, cyber conflicts are an international issue that span across nation-state borders. By the end of the course, you will be able to apply the knowledge gained for analysis and management of international cyber incidents and conflicts including for activities such as development of policy related to cybercrime and cyberwarfare. Management of cyber incidents and conflicts requires an interdisciplinary perspective including an understanding of: 1) characteristics of the cyber threats and conflicts themselves, 2) international efforts to reduce and improve cyber security, and 3) psychological and sociopolitical factors. The course is designed to reach an international audience and will encourage discussion on relevant current events among participants to enrich the experience with various personal and cultural perspectives on cutting-edge issues. In addition, assignments and other assessments will supplement video lectures and selected readings to ensure application of the material. After taking this course you will be able to: • Identify different types of actors involved in cyber threats (individuals, organizations & nation-states) • Distinguish between different types of threats and issues in cyber security including, data theft, political espionage, critical infrastructure protection, and propaganda • Detail the basic characteristics of the Internet infrastructure and international efforts to address Internet governance • List several international efforts to address cyber crime and espionage • Evaluate how principals that govern international conflicts might be applied in context of cyber security • Apply different psychological theories of human motivation and cooperation and communication and political theories in analysis of different international issues related to cyber security including censorship, media operations and role of social technologies. Grading: Your grade is assessed based on discussion posts and quizzes. Individual taking this course for credit (i.e. students at the University at Albany y will be required to engage in additional activities communicated to them directly). Recommended Background: No background knowledge or skills are necessary, but an understanding and familiarity of cyber security, Internet infrastructure and international law would be advantageous for anyone who participates in the course. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS Ersin Dincelli and Nic DePaula were the instructional designers for the course who assisted in the recording of the videos, reviewing material, creating slides, assessments and some of the content. Without their tremendous effort this would not have been possible. We also acknowledge the financial support for the recordings from the University at Albany as well as the support from Media and Marketing. Finally, thanks to Lisa Stephens who is the SUNY liaison to Coursera for being a strong supporter of the MOOC....

Melhores avaliações

OF

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent overview of existing state of play. Also very interesting coverage of psychology underpinning cyber behaviours. Thank you for this enlightening course!

BK

Jul 20, 2017

I wish there should be a more detailed and broadened bulletins of particular and concrete cases about cyber conflicts throughout the whole world.

Filtrar por:

126 — 147 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o International Cyber Conflicts

por Paul A

Jan 26, 2018

Could make use of more real world examples. Hacktivism and individual actors receive more attention than they deserve given their extremely limited capabilities. Over all a good class though.

por Celeste H

May 24, 2018

While informative and interesting, I believe the course hadn't been updated in a few years and some of the links to further readings didn't work. I really enjoyed what I studied.

por Christian P

Mar 25, 2017

I like the comparisons between past physical wars and current cyberwar. However, the course take the long way to explain very basic elements of nations interactions and trust.

por Richard F R

May 20, 2018

Cyber topic speaker needs more speaking practice: too wooden, h. Need to include downloadable files of lecture slides.

por Ivan G

Jun 23, 2019

Informative, however Indian dude's pronunciation is awful, luckily they have subtitles.

por Navneet H

Apr 29, 2017

It's Ok, nothing much to gain iin terms of knowledge realted to cyber conflict.

por Oleksandr K

Aug 15, 2017

Way too basic: about everything and nothing at the same time.

por Thomas C

Jun 23, 2016

Wished the course was a deeper dive into this area.

por Athena A

Mar 17, 2018

Was ok, got a little boring after week 2

por Ionut M C

May 05, 2019

Not very challenging.

por Lydianne

Jan 27, 2019

Not very in depth.

por Yaki M

Feb 25, 2019

I think the course was OK, though not much more than that.

I was rather disappointed from the way professor Sanjay Goel carried his part: It was very dry. Not interesting. It was clear that he was reading from his papers rather then telling/ sharing something with us. It's almost better to just read the text- only that then one misses the pop-up questions.

Professor Williams lectures were much better to my opinion. He is far more engaged. I found his part more interesting and easier to follow.

Having said that, I'd like to thank them both for creating this course and putting an effort.

por Arjan K

Sep 13, 2017

For me this course lacks substance. It is just high level and a quick insight. I feel it should be developed much further, broader and deeper before it should be on this platform. It might be good if you are completely unaware of the topic, but working in IT this brings nothing new.

por Jeffrey B

May 22, 2018

Too much emphasis on the psychology of conflict. The last lecture references future lectures, but none exist. Doesn't seem to be well-organized.

por T T

Nov 08, 2018

Very basic, some of the points made are based too much in theory and don't relate to the reality of the cyber environment.

por Nathan R

Aug 08, 2016

Professors accent very hard to understand. Week 5's lesson should be reviewed as may have no place in class

por Aleksandar T

Jun 13, 2016

I'm sorry that I'm going to sound harsh, but this course is useless.

It touches so many different topics without going deeply into any of them. All you get is a basic knowledge about All Things Cyber™.

The recommended readings are all over the place, the video captions look like they're just a basic speech recognition and like nobody actually proof read them. They're full of errors. Lecturers say one word, captions show a completely different word. Plus, they're full of spelling errors. (Kadafi regime in Libya!? Really!?)

You can get the same amount of knowledge by reading two or three Wikipedia pages. Don't waste your time on this course.

por Niwech H

Sep 18, 2016

The lectures are very well-organized. The topics are also cover in this field. However, the lectures are very dry and boring. The main professor were reading the scripts on the monitor. From my perspective, with his knowledge in this field as being described on his personal web site, he should be able to talk comfortably by looking at the topic on the slide then discuss about it in detail. I would suggest to change the environment to be at the wide open space, like coffee shop, to make this course more attractive. I'm sorry, it is not what I expected.

por Matthew G

Jun 17, 2016

The same information was covered in multiple lessons. It was a very conceptual look at cyber conflicts that you could get if you paid attention to the news over the last five years.

por Bert v V

Aug 26, 2017

The title of this course does not reflect its contents.

Modes of presentation were not very appealing (images, examples, visuals).

Lecturer needs to work on his presentation skills.

por Maja H

Dec 09, 2016

Course material was interesting but very rudimentary, the courses biggest challenge was understanding its spoken English. I do not recommend this course.

por Zee

Dec 31, 2019

obvious contents