Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
890 classificações
255 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS
18 de Abr de 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR
17 de Dez de 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 249 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Maria R

21 de Nov de 2020

Loved absolutely everything about this course. I find the way the material is conveyed by Prof. Scibona to be ideal. It is a complete picture of a writer and writing professor, from personal experiences to short exercises which illustrate key points of editing, reading recommendations and great dialogue. Thank you. If you are interested in writing, there is no doubt this course will benefit you.

por Victoria F S

14 de Dez de 2018

This is the course I had been looking for, but didn't know it! I enjoyed the professor and the exercises, which were about putting pen to paper, so to speak. Just what I needed and wanted. I feel very much myself as a writer after doing these assignments, reviewing the work of other writers, and receiving insightful peer reviews. Thank you for offering this course and specialization!

por Sara H J

30 de Jun de 2020

If the previous courses helped me gaining more knowledge on the craft of plot, character, and especially, description and setting, this course opened my eyes to the importance of using the right style by searching for it through my own voice and the usage of the appropriate words in every scene. Finding your style isn't that easy, but instructor Scibona did a fine work in refining mine!

por Jenny J G L

6 de Abr de 2018

Salvatore Scibona is an excellent teacher. I learned a lot from this course. My only complain is that for this particular module in the specialisation as it's about language and language style, the staff should apply a language (English) level requirement, because some students' writings are so painful to read--full of error spellings, jumbled sentences and wrong use of words.

por Roy N

25 de Jan de 2018

I started this course rolling my eyes. It just felt like it was going to be a lot of flowery language amounting to not much. I was so wrong! Describing intangible ideas in a way one can digest and then apply isn't easy, but the professor does it well. I left with some models that I will definitely use in my writing. This course is packed with a ton of value!

por Patricia H V R

22 de Ago de 2020

Este es un buen curso para principiantes. Aporta muchos elementos para encaminar el proceso creativo y la investigación en pro del avance en la carrera como escritor. A nivel de estructura enseña muchas estrategias útiles y las prácticas contribuyen a afinar la destreza narrativa y aplicar técnicas para construir mejores historias.

por Zsuzsanna J

16 de Mai de 2016

It is a very interesting course, but I think it is difficult to understand if somebody is not English speaker. However, I recommend this course to everybody who likes writing and wants to know more about style and text editing. The teacher is excellent, his explanations are clear. The exercises are funny and I could learn from them.

por Kalin Z S

24 de Set de 2020

Really good course. Salvatore used just the right amount of theory to show us how to write more convincing and pleasing prose. I am super happy with the overall specialization so far. Also for some reason in this one I got lucky and most of the feedback was more elaborate and constructive from my peers which was definitely a plus.

por Meeta

13 de Jun de 2020

This course is ideal for someone looking to up their narrative writing skills. I am marketer and brand writing is an essential part of my day job. Through this course I have picked up many helpful tics on writing comprehensive and compelling storylines that deliver impact - a quality that underscores good brand writing.

por Naomi C R L

4 de Set de 2016

One of the best classes in Coursera.

I heard about style but I never really knew what it meant. I am glad to have taken this course. I learnt a lot and I am very excited to apply these in my writing. "Not ideas but in things" was most challenging but it was worth the try. Thank you very much for sharing.

por Jaime E

21 de Jun de 2020

Salvatore is AMAZING! He really knows what he is talking about. This course was such a great stepping stone for me when it comes to perfecting my craft and hopefully a career change in the future. I will use what I learned in this course for the rest of my writing career! Thank you!

por Lori B C

18 de Jan de 2017

This was an incredible class with a passionate, dedicated professor. Salvatore makes you want to write your heart out. The exercises were thought provoking and I was fortunate enough to get some good feedback, which helped boost my confidence. A wonderful experience! Thank you!

por Alfred K

27 de Nov de 2018

I did not know what this meant when I started. I thought you just right once you get the flow. now I can write and review my work checking my style of writing and learnt a lot form the interviews from visiting professors.

teacher is cool and sometime I loved your way of teaching.

por Phoenix S P

3 de Set de 2018

The Craft of Style is an amazing course. Professor Salvatore is an engaging lecturer who gives comprehensive explanations and shows how the techniques he is teaching have been used by award winning authors. The assignments are clearly explained, engaging, and challenging.

por Miza K

5 de Abr de 2020

I like the way this course has taught me how to edit and how to accentuate when writing and to be creative and thoughtful with the words to use to bring about the right message. Including the way of talking about a subject without actually naming what I'm writing about.

por Jane D

27 de Ago de 2019

I enjoyed the course immensely, the lecturer is very skilled and to the point. I really understood the importance of staying clear in my narration and painting vivid pictures the readers could appreciate and relate to, as well as meet me in the middle of my storytelling.

por Catherine B

31 de Ago de 2016

I thought this class was incredibly useful. It has a lot of good information, as well as good ideas on further reading a student can do to further their own knowledge after the course is completed. I found this to be one of the more useful classes in this specialization.

por Shalini . S

14 de Nov de 2018

This was a particularly difficult course among the others. Expectations were higher, assignments were tougher, but it helped me immensely in writing better. Polishing my writing and editing. My writing has become crisp, and specific. I am more confident as a writer now.

por Joe M

14 de Mar de 2019

Course 4 of 5 for me in this specialization.

All of these have been fantastic and this one was another example of how great and informative these courses are. Once again I was made to think very critically of my own writing and start thinking about how I want to write.

por Ole D J

19 de Mar de 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

por Tania M

13 de Nov de 2020

Este curso me sirvió para mejorar significativamente mis técnicas de planificación y escritura de novelas de ficción. Enfocado el fortalecimiento del estilo propio del escritor, el tema es tratado de una forma precisa pero pertinente con el tema. Lo recomiendo.

por Aditya R

20 de Jul de 2020

A very brilliant and thorough course. Salvatore introduces us to various aspects of Style and how to use language effectively, moving away the focus from only rich vocabulary. I highly recommend this course who is searching for that X-factor in their writing.

por Orjuwan M A J A

29 de Mai de 2020

I just want to thank professor Salvatore Sccibona for such a wonderful course , he has a great technique in teaching , I am so happy that I have joined his class , thank you all for such a wonderful experience

God bless you and be safe

best regards from Iraq

por Egill P

27 de Dez de 2019

I find all the writing courses in this specialization to be very rewarding, especially for people who want to further themselves on any level of writing. Be it a better email, essay or short-story the teachers here a really great a big thumbs up to them.

por Jennifer L C

4 de Jul de 2017

The Craft of Style and the course on plot are the two strongest offerings in this specialization. I really enjoyed the exercises, and I stretched my creative muscles, all with assignments that were clear and well explained. This is an excellent course.