Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
887 classificações
263 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Melhores avaliações

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

CZ

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course- highly recommended. I liked how it tied into other courses in the series as well. I took many notes, and plan on revisiting the course during my writings to refresh some ideas.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por Aprielle T

Aug 30, 2018

Great class. Very informative!

por Camille B

Jun 21, 2019

Informative, helpful and fun.

por Ajay C

Nov 07, 2017

Very helpful and interesting.

por magdalena

Mar 21, 2016

Excelente e inspirador.

por Renan A S L C

Nov 12, 2018

Favourite one so far!

por Paola G C

Dec 18, 2018

I loved this course!

por Julian M

Aug 05, 2017

Loved these classes

por xiaoqiang

Jan 29, 2019

aworesome course !

por Hemant R J

Oct 02, 2017

Excellent course!

por Ruben C

May 31, 2020

Wonderful course

por Tim J

May 26, 2017

Excellent class!

por Farid H

Sep 10, 2016

excellent course

por Elizabeth G

Aug 06, 2017

I learned a lot

por Michael J J

Sep 30, 2016

Great course!

por JOHN Q

Jun 25, 2016

Great Course!

por AMIR R A

Mar 28, 2019

very helpful

por josé c l h

Nov 06, 2019

EXCEPTIONEL

por Iris R

Jun 29, 2016

Thank you.

por Ana C O G

May 30, 2018

Loved it!

por Rachel M

Aug 07, 2017

excellent

por Patricia R

May 16, 2017

Very good

por Sophie S

Aug 06, 2018

I didn't love the videos in this course very much – they just weren't very helpful. They had some interesting thoughts, but for the most part they felt repetitive and for someone who hasn't written much creative writing.

However, I really liked the assignments and peer editing. This course challenged me to think about descriptions I wouldn't have otherwise, and made me think more about how the heart of a story is really in the description and setting. I got a lot more out of challenging myself with the assignments and getting surprising feedback than watching the videos.

por Casey

Mar 18, 2016

I joined late, much too late to participate in many of the assignments with my busy schedule, but I took notes and read all the required reading. From this course I will take into my writing new, helpful skills. My favorite lesson was setting and description where I learned that the environment should not be described frivolously, but through the emotions and opinions of the character(s) who observe them. Thank you very much for your lessons, Amity Gaige, I'm now not as terrible as I was when I first started.

por Sasha M

Aug 02, 2016

The course was inspiring and made me focus on the small details in the environments I create. I think that the professor leans too hard on the quotes and the work of other authors as a core part of the curriculum. It would have been useful to have a breakdown in charts or a checklist to help push our descriptions along. Having said that, the professor seems to care a great deal for her students and that came through clearly.

por Coco

Apr 10, 2019

I liked this course and I learned much. The reason I gave 4 stars is that often it is not clearly explained what exactly was requested in an assignment. I saw that its not only me but many other students had a problem to find out the exact assignment. This problem has obviously existed for the last 3 years and was never corrected. I encourage the students to find their answers - at least partly - in the discussion forums.